We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service! Trust these guys!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Special Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Special Apartments
Save
You added Special Apartments to your Saves list
51 Rue de Turbigo | 75003, Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service! Trust these guys!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

When renting an apartment in Paris, you have to wonder sometimes about the authenticity of whom you are renting from. It is always better to go through an agency and this was the first year we booked through Special Apartments. Although there were problems with the first place (rue Chapon) we stayed in, Régis and John saw to our every need and arranged for us to get into a different apartment, going out of their way to see that we were happy. This was not easy since it was Easter weekend, but they did it!
Trust this organization to make your stay in Paris comfortable!

Room Tip: Don't book apts thru Craigslist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    48
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
60
85
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Thanks to our gracious host, Regis Maurin, and his efficient assistant Geraldine, for a lovely, extended weekend in Paris on the Ile St. Louis. This was my 9th trip to Paris, and the third for my wife and one of our two adult daughters. Although we have stayed in lovely three and four star hotels dotting the City of Light, we have never experienced such a "tres ancienne, authentique Paris," at least not quite like this, We felt at home, almost like living in a room at the home of Gaston Lachaille from the film, "Gigi" (which by the way, you can see at the Musee Jacquesmart Andre where many interior scenes, and a few exterior shots, were filmed. And try the chocolat chaud in the museum's tea room...it's divine.) Special Apartment #30, Rue St. Louis en l'Ile, is tucked away in a neat courtyard, one and a half flights up, in a quiet, peaceful enclave. The neighborhood outside is like walking into an Utrillo Parisienne painting. Boulangeries, charcuteries, the original Bertillon Glaces et Sorbet, a few superb restaurants like Tastevin and l'Orangerie, sidewalk cafes, all awaited within a three or four minute stroll of our charming apartment. The 19th Century decor and antique fixtures and furnishings exceeded our expectations created by a phalanx of website photos, which alone are "tres formidable." An original parquet floor, marble fireplace and crystal chandelier, original wood paneling, an easy to operate high def TV, a power shower and washing machine, a great loft overlooking the foyer, dining area and properly equipped kitchen,,,well, again simply look at the photos!! I enthusiatically recommend this experience to those of you who dream of a civilized, quaint and sometimes elusive Paris. For those romantic souls seeking perfection, do not miss it.

This review is the best way I know of properly saying "thank you" to the staff at Special Apartments for their memorable gift to my family.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

My sister and I stayed in apartment 8 which is right off the rue Montorgueil. The apartment overlooks a courtyard and was very quiet and comfortable. We also appreciated that it had two separate beds (1 in the bedroom, the other in a sleeping loft over the dining area) rather than a fold-out sofa. The best part was the location; being able to walk down the street to rue Montorgueil and take advantage of the boulangeries, cheese shops, fruit and vegetable markets, cafes and restaurants. What a treat! We received excellent customer service from Regis and the other Special Apartments staff. I would definitely book accommodations with them again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Booked this through VRBO with very prompt responses from the agent. Picked up at CDG as arranged with Xavier there to meet us and show us the apartment. On a relatively quiet street 1/2 block off rue Montorgueil, and a short walk from Les Halles, the Pompidou, and the Louvre. Great cheese shops, bakeries and restaurants within a very short walk.

The apartment is on the 3rd floor (4th to those from the Americas) and there is a (tiny) elevator. The apartment itself is very clean and well appointed, and the bed was comfortable.

And then there's the 'but'. It turns out that the Metro runs right under the building with the result that you hear each and every train from the start of service at 5 AM until it stops at 1 AM. It doesn't quite rattle the windows but it's close. Bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Booking an unseen apartment for the extended family seemed at first to be a daunting task. However the staff at "Special Apartments" were prompt & helpful & all fell into place well. Apartment #037 was comfortably furnished for six people, the beds were warm & comfortable & the welcome basket of goodies was appreciated. The stairs are not for the infirm but the two of us over 70 enjoyed the exercise - the others needed it! I loved gazing out the bedroom window over the chimney pots of Paris to the floodlit Notre Dame. With her gentle flurries of snow, Paris was beautiful. Our apartment was so central we walked everywhere, even though the metro was close. There were numerous small restaurants, a bakery & produce shops & stalls very close by. Unfortunately no special icecream in December! We would definitely use Special Apartments again if we are lucky enough to return to Paris and have already recommended these apartments to friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed in another special apartment on Ile st louis in October 2010. This one was a little more up market than the one we used last year, but it was well worth the little extra expense. Spacious and comfortable with the best location in Paris. Special apartments are ideal for independent travelers who want to enjoy the city from a comfortable base. The staff are available if necessary but do not interfere at all. Free telephone and internet really appreciated. This is our second stay with Special Apartments and hopefully not our last.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Rue Saint Louis Apartment is ok, if you are a student type or on a small budget. It's a great apartment if you want to lose weight and get fit. As there is no lift you must trek the stairs to the 4th floor (in fairness that is mentioned on the website and it replaces the gym workout you’re missing while away from home). The bathroom is a shower curtain over a tiny, tiny wet room (a shower with a very small vanity basin) and has the dimmest lighting imaginable and no mirror. The bedroom has a curtain for a door so sound from anyone up in the living area makes it difficult when sleeping. If someone is using the sofa bed that takes off half the living area which is already overrun by suitcases as you can’t store them in the closet. Metal closets in the bedroom create a din when doors that aren't jammed shut are opened. You have to lean around a jammed-shut door to access the washing machine and there is no light so it is difficult to read the dials to operate it properly. There is no automatic, electric clothes dryer, just a fold out drying rack which you have to place in front of a wall radiator. The ironing board needs a new padded cover and the iron needs an extension cable as it is about 2 feet long. Lighting is dim, very dim, you'll look like a drag queen after putting on makeup because you couldn't see when applying kind of dim. The kitchen area is basic: a bar fridge, a 2 burner induction stove top, a portable toaster type oven which is stacked up high as there is no bench space so difficult to use anyway, a microwave, a drying rack for dishes wired onto a plywood tray which has to be tipped into the sink to pour away water that collects. There are extension powerpoints off one wall point everywhere. Be prepared to buy coffee filters, toilet paper, dish cloths (the one that was there when we arrived looked like it had been used on a floor), facial tissues, salt/pepper (if you eat in), garbage bags, dish liquid, laundry powder. There is no safe. The wifi is really useless. There was an error that another computer had the ip address in use all the time which meant internet access was out. The apartment is well placed for sightseeing. The island is quaint and historic. But I think the expectations set by the lovely photos on the special apartment website do not get matched by the actual apartment (gotta love the wide angle lense). I have ticked I would recommend this place to a friend but you have to be aware of the cons I mentioned.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Special Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Special Apartments

Address: 51 Rue de Turbigo | 75003, Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Special Apartments Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Special Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.