We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel- cheap, clean and basic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfa Hotel Nation

Save Saved
You added Alfa Hotel Nation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alfa Hotel Nation
12 Rue Guenot, 75011 Paris, France (République)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #641 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good hotel- cheap, clean and basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in April. We were doing a 1 month trip through Europe and wanted to book a cheap hotel in each city so that we would have more money for shopping and sightseeing. I have always wanted to shop in Paris so didn't mind staying in a budget hotel in order to do that. We had a really good stay and I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean and cheap room. We seriously would leave around 9-10am and not come back until 9pm so just needed a place to sleep and so this was perfect for us.

Negative points:

-bathroom is small. Like REALLY small. It is the size of the bathroom on a plane. There is a sink but no counter space, no plug ins and the smallest shower I have ever seen right beside the toilet. It was ok though, my husband didn't care and i got used to it. But if you are claustrophobic or need a lot of counter space for your make up, you wouldn't like this bathroom
-our room was right beside the elevator which is pretty loud so we would be woken up at 7am everyday by our neighbours

Positive Points:

-hotel has an elevator which was great for heavy luggage
-free wifi in the lobby
-really comfortable and big beds
-friendly, helpful staff
-great location. Close to the metro stop Nation, about 10 minute walk from the hotel and on the same metro line as all major attractions
-lots of cafes, restaurants, supermarket and bakery all nearby

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator- it is quite loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    143
    50
    11
    8
See reviews for
18
172
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rovaniemi, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I just spent 3 nights in Alfa hotel and I was very pleased. Friendly staff, helpfull and kind. Clean, simple rooms. Easy access to RER and metro station. Close to small supermarket and great cafès. I highly recommand for a great value.

Room Tip: Cheap, clean and well situated. If you don't want to waste too much money in accommodation being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

You are unlikely to find a lower cost place to stay in Paris. It is a room with a bath, but offers all you need with no frills, though the bed and pillow are marginal. There was a faint sewer odor coming from the bathroom drain, but it is less of a problem if you keep the bathroom door shut. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The location near the metro hub at Nation station gives you access to the central tourist attractions in 20-25 minutes without changing trains. The desk manager directed us to a great restaurant just fifty yards from the hotel at the intersection with Blvd Voltaire; it was the best food we ever had, even at our own table, and the wines available are reasonable and great. We became friends with the restaurant manager, Hamed, and have invited him to come and visit us in the USA. There are bakeries and grocery stores very close on Blvd Voltaire. We would stay there again because of the affordable rate and proximity to our favorite restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We opted for a no breakfast getaway on a £250 budget for 5 days in Paris, and with easyjet flights booked I was sceptical of such cheap accommodation. In fact, despite its looks from the outside which were a little bleak, this is a great value hotel in Nation with comfy beds in a central location, quick access to shops and the underground. There is an ensuite similar to a caravan but the place is very clean and the staff were honest and friendly. I firmly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Generally speaking this hotel is good value for money. Location is good, lots of restaurants and cafes nearby and close to public transport. Staff didn't go out of their way to be helpful but they were friendly and polite.

Like other reviewers I found a slightly odd odour, didn't lose sleep over it though.

The big let down here was that I came away covered in bites of some sort so if you do stay here make sure you check the bed and if you're not happy go and see the staff. If it wasn't for that then I would stay here again, but once bitten, twice shy, as they say =)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We just stay one night, it was small, but it was clean and comfortable. For that price it was all we are looking for. The guy in the reception even speak spanish!! If you just want to have a cheap night in Paris it is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I choose this very cheap hotel after reading many good reviews on tripadvisor. Wasn't disappointed, as the hotel was excellent. Ofcourse, I'm taking into account quality for money, and imo this is as much as you may get for the money. We had room 14, streetside, on the 2nd floor. quite a bluish interior, and a 1,5 by 1 meter bathroom, though everything was there. Since we didn't spend much time in the hotel, it was more than ok. Friendly staff who did their best speaking english, as we did ours speaking french. There was free wifi (good in our room), 2 pc's in the reception area, and fresh towels and bed preparing every day. We hadn't breakfast included, since I knew there were some boulangeries nearby (we went to the one at the opposite side of place de nation (huge roundabout, with metro and train station), next to a supermarket..
For the money, this definitely is a good budget hotel. Would do it again!
one con: there was construction work going on at the other side of the street, so early wake ups in the morning were part of our holidays.. as were earplugs, they helped.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the east side (non street side), since there might be (still) construction work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alfa Hotel Nation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfa Hotel Nation

Address: 12 Rue Guenot, 75011 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #641 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your Alfa Hotel Nation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfa Hotel Nation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.