We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exotic food in a lounge atmosphere - 5min from the Champs Elysées!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makassar

Makassar
39, avenue de Wagram | 17ieme, Paris, France
+33 800 90 83 33
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 40% *
Makassar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,976 of 13,459 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $17 - $78
Cuisines: French, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This Asian restaurant can be found in the 17th arrondissement of Paris and offers a very Zen like decor yet at the same time is traditionally oriental. The menu features an exotic cuisine with Indonesian accents and specialities from Makassar such as Gedabg Mekuah (fish soups with squid, mussels and a mix of spices) or Bebek Lawar (a salad of green beans and Balinese marinated duck) will transport you to far away places. Prices are more than reasonable for this part of Paris where you can enjoy watching the chefs work their magic from the open kitchen.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Exotic food in a lounge atmosphere - 5min from the Champs Elysées!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A trendy bar-restaurant in a hotel, 5min away from the Champs Elysées and Arc de Triomphe. Lounge-type music (but not too loud), and a choice of western or Asian-fusion food. I chose Thai noodles with pork -tasty and spicy. And for desert, chocolate and pear fried rolls. Probably not recommended as part of a diet, but delicious nonetheless!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    61
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Expenive but exotic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We enjoyed Makassar! We ended up there just because we were staying in the hotel and were too tired on the evening of our arrival to wander too far. We were glad we stayed put! I chose the lumpia and the lemongrass shrimp with noodles ( the menu serves the shrimp with rice but I asked for noodles instead and they were happy to accommodate my request) and my husabnd chose beef from the traditional Frech side of the menu. Both were great choices. Presented well on the plate and tasty. I would advise skipping the lumpia starter--good but nothing special and 14€, I believe. The atmosphere is a bit exotic too and gets noisy since it shares space with the bar. Service was good, everyone spoke English so those who don't speak French will be fine. As usual in France, it's a challenge to get water at a restaurant. They'll deliver it if you insist but it will be room temperature and no ice unless you ask. At Makassar, we did ask for ice and they were happy to bring some-- not all places will even bring it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Modern design restaurant, but with uneven quality of food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Very nice lounge and restaurant in a great location in Paris, but with a very uneven quality of food.
Since November 2010, several times I dined at the restaurant for special occasions Makassar. The first time was so perfect that my family and I were in love: great dining, excellent service, very original and refined dishes.
Since then such a quality has never been equaled. Depending on the Chef in the kitchen, dishes can vary from excellent to totally tasteless.
The wine list was excellent in 2010, but since it was updated, it became more expensive and not necessarily better ...
My last meal was a lunch on Wed 7 March 2012: a deep disappointment. The service was very slow (although the formula business lunch should be 30 min), with ok food, but the gourmet coffee was just too expensive and really disappointing ( with 3 tiny pastries).
I will not go back anymore. It's a shame because the setting is elegant, refined, valet parking is ultra convenient, but if the food and service are not the height, it is not worth it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“I really wish it lived up to expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Staying at the Renaissance Hotel where this restaurant is located, we decided at the last minute to dine here. Despite the numerous available tables, the manager made us feel like second class citizens for not having a reservation, then proceeded to seat us. Our service was very slow, and the selections limited. My wife's chicken dish arrived partially cooked! While the manager wrote that dish off, his attitude was unbearable and we finally had words. We won't return!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Brunch place, well located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 via mobile

The atmosphere is great with a nice deck. Really convenient and quiet outside. the buffet goes from very good to uninteresting and misses consistency. the service is nice but value could be slightly better for 39 € per guest.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makassar also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.