We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchie

Frenchie
5-6, rue du Nil, 75002 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)
0140399619
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Frenchie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #709 of 13,308 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Opera / Bourse
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I tried to make reservations for Frenchie, but could not get in, so one night we tried our luck at the wine bar. We waited a bit for a table, but it was so worth it! We had a glass of wine while we were waiting, and once we were seated, the food came pretty quick. We had a table overlooking the kitchen, and it was interesting to watch the chefs prepare the dishes. We ordered the Rueben, rabbit ragu pappardelle, and the trout. All three dishes were amazing! The atmosphere is fun and friendly. Would love to go again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    113
    57
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food & service, annoying neighbors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had an incredible meal at Frenchie yesterday. The food was incredible, the service was excellent. The setup of the room is nice and we were on the banquette right next to the kitchen so close to the action! The wine we ordered by the glass was cheap yet delicious. The only drawback was a table of two american women sitting next to us who were being difficult and rude to the waitress that was trying really hard to be patient with them. There are definitely a lot of americans on the first seating. We would return but try to get into the second seating! Wine bar accross the street seemed really lively as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We went to Frenchie, not knowing what to expect (and praying the place wouldn't be filled with tourists as it's been making the food bloggers' "circuit"). Instead, we were pleasantly surprised all around: the food (artfully prepared with fresh ingredients), the ambiance and the service - Highly recommended. It's small and lovely and we will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Heaven on plates, oh yeah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked our table in January for our reservation first week of April. It was worth waiting for, I'm telling you! Absolutely fantastic nature wines, the bread was to die for and I haven't even started on the food…! My beginner was smoked salmon on apple/celery bed. Fish I had as main came in perfectly cooked with lovely baked artichokes, broccoli and clams. Flavours just exploded in my mouth and married each other in both dishes, mmmmm..!

The highlight of the evening came with the dessert, though.. Salted olive oil ice cream! Together with a chocolate cake and caramel I almost felt like crying, that's how good it was. Couldn't possibly have imagined that when I read it on the menu. Best dessert I've ever tried, no doubt.

Portion sizes were perfect, as were the service. Price range was very affordable, considering how good quality you get for your money!

The only thing I could possibly ask for was more time at the table. We booked the 7 pm seating, and had to leave before 9.30 pm. I could happily have spent an extra hour or two trying some more wines. Time schedule is understandable of course, they need to get more people in.

When in Paris again, we will definitely visit Frenchie again, think we also might try the wine bar across the street then. It also looked amazing. I definitely recommend this place to everyone! Trés, trés bon!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolute heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We greatly enjoyed dinner at this restaurant not long ago. It's lovely and small, and our server was helpful in every way. Both the apple crisp with vanilla ice cream and "riz au lait" are highly recommended come dessert time. Other than the salad, which lacked luster and was bland and uninteresting, it was absolute heaven.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchie also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Frenchie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.