We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like living in your own apartment in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Pelican

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Pelican to your Saves list
Residence Pelican
7 rue du Pelican, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just like living in your own apartment in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here over the weekend. Location is brilliant: closest Metro is Palais Royal - Musée du Louvre; Louvre is literally 2 minutes’ walk (if that). We found several excellent restaurants and cafés in the immediate vicinity. The people who run the place are very friendly and customer focused. Way more space than a hotel room at an equivalent cost. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Penthouse on the top two floors which was very spacious and had its own kitchen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    3
    2
    9
See reviews for
29
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Came here with my family. The rooms at first glance would come out to be rather small for the price. However they are very comfortable and clean. The Kitchen is well equipped. The apartment got cleaned everyday. We stayed on the fourth floor and the building has no lift. We did not have an issue with that.

The staff is very friendly and the manager Shihab is an excellent chap. He helps a lot.
The hotel is located close to 4 metro station so reaching it is not an issue.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms in the hotel (one on each floor). room on floor 1 & 2 & 5 are bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I am happy we picked this apartment style for our lodging arrangement. When we first checked in we weren't sure if things would be up to par. Coming from America the look of the establishment was different. However we were quite amazed with the apartment. They had a coded entry and owner was extremely nice. The showers were amazing, and the bedrooms were comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. We were close to the Louvre and only a $12 cab ride from the Eiffel Tower. Many restaurants and small shops close.

We stayed in the penthouse.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

10 Reasons NOT to stay:

1) no fire escapes
2) over priced dump
3) dirty,dirty,dirty
4) leaking fire place when rains
5) bed collapse in middle of night
6) scruffy paint work
7) patio doors Brocken and taped up
8) bathroom tiles broken
9) stinks of cigarettes
10) room not ready on arrival

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Please do not stay here, the photos on whatever website you are looking are do not represent this dump.

Where to start? Room not ready upon arrival was the least of our worries, the room was disgusting, so old and tired and broken.

We had the Penthouse $500 a night, which was in the eaves but his meant that we had leaking windows, and a leaking roof that meant that there was a pealing mouldy wall that is probably against health regulations.

The pop up bed that my sister and brother in law where sleeping on collapsed in the night, and the roof was leaking above them so there was no sleep for them. We (downstairs) didn't get any sleep as we listened to rats/mice in the ceiling space scurrying.

They advertised a lovely balcony with plants and prettiness, what we found was a patio door tapped up with warning tape as it was smashed, and the most depressing, unkempt, miserable plantless place that you would neve sit out on.

Then there is the general appearance, unpainted repair jobs, cracks in walls, curtain rail hanging off, scuffed walls, the kitchen sink had sunk into the work top and was cracked and unhygienic.

Oh and don't expect to watch tv downstairs as there is no remote and no satellite.

But most of all DO NOT STAY HERE, it will ruin your holiday.

They know it is awful, as once approached by Booking.com (who are brilliant) they agreed to pay me back in full, this does not make up for the fact that our weekend in Paris was ruined.

Did I mention that you should not stay here?

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed here one night. We found our room clean and staff very helpful. We arrived prior to check-in, staff kept our luggage and even delivered bags to our room. The next day they allowed us to store our bags until we were ready to catch our train. Again the staff brought down our bags. This was very helpful as there is no elevator and the stairs are steep.

I would stay here again, you can't beat the price or location. It can be hard to find, fortunately a previous reviewer posted a picture of the front. With that it wasn't too hard to find. There is a grocery store around the corner and a nice cafe on the corner.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassari
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Pelican Residence is located close to Louvre Museum, I suggest these studios for the position, the confort and the good quality/price rate. Staff very friendly and available to help you. Daily cleaning. Unfortunately there is no free parking!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Pelican

Address: 7 rue du Pelican, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Pelican Paris 1er Appartements is an exclusive Paris apartment complex, literally a few steps from Paris’ Louvre museum, in the heart of the French capital. Paris’ main tourist attractions including the Jardins des Tuilleries, Place de la Concorde, Palais Royal and Champs Elysées are all within easy reach. The ideal central Paris location, with everything you need nearby, including Paris brasseries, cafes, theatres, cinemas and bakeries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Residence Pelican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Pelican Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Pelican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.