We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Alchimistes

Les Alchimistes
16 Rue Favart, 75002 Paris, France (Opéra)
+33 1 42 96 69 86
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 40%
Les Alchimistes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5,723 of 12,460 restaurants in Paris
Price range: $48 - $82
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Opéra
Description: toptable Dining Awards 2009 - Runner Up: Best International VenueLes Alchimistes restaurant in the heart of Paris is a warm and trendy spot across from the Opera Comique and close to some great shopping, so it’s a perfect place for a shopping lunch, pre-theatre meal or evening out. The chic décor is a combination of modern mirrors, sleek seating and splashes of colourful lighting with original moulding and details. Upstairs there’s a bar and VIP lounge. Chef Stephane Ewangelista favours a menu rooted in tradition and flavoured with the tastes of the south of France, in beautifully-presented dishes. The wine list features some superb ones by the glass.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

From the moment we walked though the door until we left it was a wonderful time. The food
was excellent. The wine was wonderful and the service was most attentive. This is a great find on a side street not far from the Opera. All I can say is it was a joy to be there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    10
    20
    3
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

i am surprised to read the bad reviews on here as i have not one complaint about this place. we came across it as it was near our hotel and were seated right away. i had delicious foie gras and tried a bit of everyone elses plates and everything was delicious! would definitely recommend!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Possibly the worst service in Paris”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Went there as part of a large group of colleagues. We arrived and were a little concerned as there was a rather unpleasant smell in the restaurant. Maybe a problem with the drains? Not a good start. Should've taken that as a sign. We didn't, and were ushered upstairs to be seated at a big table, and then left...for at least 10 minutes. Eventually one of us went looking for somebody to attend to us. Along came a rather rude waiter, who straight away left again, to get a pen and paper. He comes back and eventually gets round to taking our drinks order. He is gone for another 10 minutes. We haven't even seen a menu yet. He comes back with a tray of drinks, missing 2 of the order. We say nothing as it would mean another 10 minutes and we were hungry. He goes away again. Comes back to talk through the menu. We have 2 vegetarians in our party. The waiter then tells them they are not real vegetarians as they eat egg, and that he could do a plate of vegetables for them as a meal. The vegetarians obviously less than impressed, decided they would like to go elsewhere. Everyone else wanted to leave also.
We then told our useless rude waiter we would like to settle the drinks bill, and leave. ANOTHER 10 minutes. Then another waiter comes up and asks us if he can help. No, too late I'm afraid. He disappears, and eventually we all went downstairs and paid at the counter.
I can't comment on the food, as the service was so appalling we left before ordering.
The place had a bad smell, the water glasses at the table were dirty, and the service was beyond awful.
Do not go here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can I please have an hour of my life back??????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I have to say this is the worst restaurant I have had the misfortune to dine at. We were put upstairs as there were 10 of us... We were forgotten about or ignored for nearly half an hour. ( With no apology!) The room smelt like a well used urinal that had not been cleaned in a while, with a shower curtain covering the shower toilet where the smell was emanating from. Finally our insulting, rude, anglophobic waiter arrived to totally MESS up our drinks order. He then took an age to return and take our food order preceding to insult the vegetarians in our party by telling them they were not real vegetarians because they ate eggs!! They were offered a plate of ' Ahhh vegetables with arrrrhhhh mushrooms.' This was the final straw we asked for the bill then quickly left... in hindsight it good idea as the smell seemed to worsened! I would like to ask Les Alchimistes management for an hour of my life back...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing - Pain perdu should have stayed lost”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Tried this brasserie with my wife after reading some very positive reviews online...

The menu was reasonably priced, and our steak entree was very tasty. (7/10)

However our desserts were awful...easily the worst we've ever had in Paris.
Mine was tough to cut through and almost painfully chewy, but at least it was burnt black underneath like my wife's was. (3/10).

Avoid this place...you'd get better at any number of local chains...for the same priced menu I'd recommend Bistro Romain, which also gave us a half bottle of wine each for just an extra €5.
Bistro Romain

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Alchimistes also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Les Alchimistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Alchimistes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.