We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Lunch at Les Ministeres” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Ministeres - CLOSED

Les Ministeres
30 rue du Bac, 75007 Paris, France
01 42 61 22 37
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $34 - $56
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Les Ministères restaurants is just a stone's throw from the Louvre and the Orsay museum. There has been a restaurant here since 1919 and the table layout with booths and banquettes dates from 1977. The food is always based on what is available in the markets: plates of oysters, fish and green bean tajine, steak tartar made to order... The chef changes the menu according to his mood and current fashions!
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lunch at Les Ministeres”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were walking down Rue Du Bac and saw Les Ministeres. If we had read the reviews we might of walked on. However, they had a sign advertising fresh oysters. We had a satisfying experience. I had nine fresh oysters and the poisson soup. Both were excellent. My wife had the duck pate and roast lamb shank. We shared a 50 cl carafe of the nice, drinkable house chablis that went well with the oysters. The pate was average, but the lamb and soup were very good. The waiter spoke some English and with my poor French we had a pleasant experience. The lunch crowd seemed to be mostly French including several military officers. If we are in the neighborhood again looking for lunch, I would return. Total bill was 72 euros.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    29
    20
    13
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis, mn
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Unusually spacious seating, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The amount of space between table is what really set this restaurant apart in Paris! Our dinner was quite good: we had a seafood bisque, which was quite rich, cod and lamb "plats." The waiter had little English, but provided English menus and was pleasant and accommodating.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't go here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We arrived at 8:15 and there were about 10 people in this restaurant. We had a meal that was not bad but the reception was totally nonexistent and not a smile on the faces of either of the bored looking waitstaff who were hanging around Looking at us but not attempting re to serve us. I would never go here again. I actually went to this restaurant four years ago and had a very similar not good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Few ups, lot of downs. Almost a tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I would not recommend. Friendly but sloppy service, less than average food (my wife's fish was dry, my conft de canard was reasonable, although the potatoes that garnished the dish were absolutely blunt).
It is clearly on a decadence aver elegance mode. Yes, it is reasonable. No, I won't come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Chared meat / good wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

One of few resturants open on a sunday. Ok starter, terrine du canard, menu in english, Nice staff who speaks english. Good wine recomendations from the waiter. Sadly the beef was overcooked and the sauce bearniase tasted like mustard.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Ministeres also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Ministeres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.