We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, Love, Love!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin

Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin
Save
You added Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin to your Saves list
8, place Saint Augustin, Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,061 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel/location was perfect for our family. We stayed in a 2-bdrm apt., so plenty of room for our 2 teenagers. Proximity was great to several metro stations, which made it easy to get anywhere in Paris. Nice neighborhood with lots of shops and restaurants. The beds were comfortable. The bldg is very old and had lots of charm. If the rooms are indeed refurbished later this year, then even better! I loved the French furniture and deco! Restaurant (breakfast/dinner) and bar were very good and much cheaper than the restaurants around the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2-bdrm apt. on the 5th floor. It was in the corner and we had a fabulous balcony to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
22
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This French Services hotel is in an excellent location with super views from the 5th floor but noisy from the street below. Rooms are comfortable if a little tired but the staff are most helpful even when 40 welsh rugby supporters requested champagne to celebrate our win over the French Team. The rates are very reasonable especially with a location just off Housmann!

Room Tip: 5th floor facing the Eiffel Tower are best but a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

As has already been stated in earlier reviews: this is a hotel run for Officers in the French Armed Forces. It is comparable to the Union Jack Club or the Victory Services Club in London.

The accommodation was comfortable, if a little dated and frayed around the edges. (Hence a refurbishment later this year). As for the food, although I only ate le petit déjeuner, it was excellent. The service throughout was also efficient and friendly. For me, the key selling point of this hotel is its location – the centre of Paris with easy access to all the sites and the metro. Overall: good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a few times while visiting Paris with my family. Each time the service has been very friendly, the rooms very comfortable - if a bit small - and we have enjoyed our stay. We have always been street front with lovely views of the cathedral that is right outside your window which is nice. The walking distance to all the main attractions is very convenient and makes for a nice stay any time of the year. The Grand restaurant that is inside is phenomenal. We always enjoy an amazing multi course meal there when we go, with apertifs and post dinner cognacs in the bar area. Decorations are simply stunning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is run by the French Armed Forces for service personnel and I made my booking under a reciprocal arrangement. It is very close to the centre of Paris and the prices are reasonable.

We stayed over the New Year with some friends having booked months ago and having asked for rooms on the 5th or 6th floors at the front. On arrival, we were offered a room on the third floor at the back which was so small, it would have been better listed as a single. The second room, also on the third floor was a little larger but reeked of drains. It was also dowdy, poorly lit, lacking in any storage space and noisy.

The staff were pleasant and helpful but unable to improve the quality of our stay. It was clearly a busy time for them and they did their best. The breakfast was fine.

We were informed that the hotel will close in July 2013 for refurbishment. Not before time.

Room Tip: Insist on rooms on the 5th or 6th floors and at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The shower was a hand wand only, no bar on wall to hold it.
My 1st shower had no hot water- so it was a quick one.

The hotel claimed that irons were a safety hazard, and thus there were no irons in the room.
Nor coffee :(

Location was great, but other than that it was bare bones.
I would NOT stay there again.

Breakfast buffet was included, and was actually very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I visited here for the fourth time and was again happy with the stay. I did have a room on the fifth floor street front and enjoyed the view. (An earlier comment denegrated the interior rooms and I cannot comment as I have always been street front.) The location for the price is the main selling point for me. A close second is the multi lingual and very helpful staff. They have arranged reservations, transportation, given excellent directions and generally been most helpful.
As also previously stated there are numerous small and very reasonable cafes nearby. Of particular note is the department store Monoprix directly across from the hotel which has a food store and deli counter. Good inexpensive eats as well as clothing and necessities. Check this out for food to go or an inexpensive breakfast.
Finally, if you are travelling on to the Normandy area the St Lazare train station is a few blocks away. Walking distance if you are traveling light and can roll your bag(s).

Room Tip: As stated above and by others, ask for a street front room above the 4th floor. You will hear some t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin

Address: 8, place Saint Augustin, Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,061 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Cercle National Des Armees Saint-Augustin Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.