We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin

Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin
8, place Saint Augustin, Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,078 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This French Services hotel is in an excellent location with super views from the 5th floor but noisy from the street below. Rooms are comfortable if a little tired but the staff are most helpful even when 40 welsh rugby supporters requested champagne to celebrate our win over the French Team. The rates are very reasonable especially with a location just off Housmann!

Room Tip: 5th floor facing the Eiffel Tower are best but a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
20
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

As has already been stated in earlier reviews: this is a hotel run for Officers in the French Armed Forces. It is comparable to the Union Jack Club or the Victory Services Club in London.

The accommodation was comfortable, if a little dated and frayed around the edges. (Hence a refurbishment later this year). As for the food, although I only ate le petit déjeuner, it was excellent. The service throughout was also efficient and friendly. For me, the key selling point of this hotel is its location – the centre of Paris with easy access to all the sites and the metro. Overall: good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel a few times while visiting Paris with my family. Each time the service has been very friendly, the rooms very comfortable - if a bit small - and we have enjoyed our stay. We have always been street front with lovely views of the cathedral that is right outside your window which is nice. The walking distance to all the main attractions is very convenient and makes for a nice stay any time of the year. The Grand restaurant that is inside is phenomenal. We always enjoy an amazing multi course meal there when we go, with apertifs and post dinner cognacs in the bar area. Decorations are simply stunning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is run by the French Armed Forces for service personnel and I made my booking under a reciprocal arrangement. It is very close to the centre of Paris and the prices are reasonable.

We stayed over the New Year with some friends having booked months ago and having asked for rooms on the 5th or 6th floors at the front. On arrival, we were offered a room on the third floor at the back which was so small, it would have been better listed as a single. The second room, also on the third floor was a little larger but reeked of drains. It was also dowdy, poorly lit, lacking in any storage space and noisy.

The staff were pleasant and helpful but unable to improve the quality of our stay. It was clearly a busy time for them and they did their best. The breakfast was fine.

We were informed that the hotel will close in July 2013 for refurbishment. Not before time.

Room Tip: Insist on rooms on the 5th or 6th floors and at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The shower was a hand wand only, no bar on wall to hold it.
My 1st shower had no hot water- so it was a quick one.

The hotel claimed that irons were a safety hazard, and thus there were no irons in the room.
Nor coffee :(

Location was great, but other than that it was bare bones.
I would NOT stay there again.

Breakfast buffet was included, and was actually very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I visited here for the fourth time and was again happy with the stay. I did have a room on the fifth floor street front and enjoyed the view. (An earlier comment denegrated the interior rooms and I cannot comment as I have always been street front.) The location for the price is the main selling point for me. A close second is the multi lingual and very helpful staff. They have arranged reservations, transportation, given excellent directions and generally been most helpful.
As also previously stated there are numerous small and very reasonable cafes nearby. Of particular note is the department store Monoprix directly across from the hotel which has a food store and deli counter. Good inexpensive eats as well as clothing and necessities. Check this out for food to go or an inexpensive breakfast.
Finally, if you are travelling on to the Normandy area the St Lazare train station is a few blocks away. Walking distance if you are traveling light and can roll your bag(s).

Room Tip: As stated above and by others, ask for a street front room above the 4th floor. You will hear some t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

As it was my first trip to Paris I found this hotel with an excellent location, it's a walking distance to Gallerie Laffayette, the Opera, Madaleine Chapelle and not so far from the Louvre and the Invalides.
I found that location very interesting, with many nice cafes in the neighbourhood.
The staff is very nice, and all of them speak English very well. They gave us directions to the attractions and dinner, were all very helpfull.
The rooms are very clean and I got one with the view to the Eiffel Tower, that was wonderful!
The only negative point is that they don't have a minibar.
The building is very beautitfull.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Tower view. Really tiny lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin

Address: 8, place Saint Augustin, Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,078 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Also Known As:
Cercle National Des Armees Saint-Augustin Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin to your Saves list