We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin

Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin
Save Saved
You added Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin to your Saves list
8, place Saint Augustin, Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,103 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
High Wycombe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We visited this hotel recently to celebrate my husband's birthday. The service and friendliness overall at reception and in the restaurants was very good. Cleanliness superb and we cannot wait to visit again. This is our third visit. Free wifi too. The only point I would like to mention is beware of the taxi service from the hotel. We were called a taxi from the hotel back to the Gare du Nord. Very unfriendly man, not to be trusted and demanded double the fare! Best to flag one down in the street.

Room Tip: Depending when you book for the best room. I booked 6 months in advance and asked for a balcony. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
20
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Highly recommended provided you get a room at the front of the bldg on the 5th or 6th floor, would not book any other room as they will be very small and look out on an alley and won't have a balcony. Location is ideal near the Gare lazare and M9 lines so it is very easy to get about the city. View out the front is of the large St Augustin intersection and the Eiffel tower. Did not opt for the breakfast nor dined in the hotel as there are plenty of options, especially for breakfast in the area. Front desk was helpful and the rates are of course great. Note, traffic noise was not a problem as the windows are double pane glass with good seals.

Room Tip: 502-506 are the best rooms on the 5th, don't know about the sixth floor but try and get a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Simply this was a great stay for our family on our first trip to Paris. The hotel is in a great location especially for the trains and metro. Good selection of restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We used the train to go out to Normandy. Easy up and back trip in one day. The rooms may make you think twice because some of the other reviews but this uses to be a 5 star hotel and it still retains that quality and feel. The rooms are comfortable and who can not like a marble tile bathroom. I did not care about not having a shower curtain. A hot bath felt great. In closing, if you can stay at this hotel, stay here. It's cheaper than anything else you will find and with a view of the Eiffel Tower and the church of St. Augustine rigt next door, the views couldn't get much better!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Surprisingly the people who run this place think it's special. We had a tiny room with back alley view- one double bed that filled up the entire room-one small desk with one straight backed chair- no closet-a small armoire to hold about 6 clothing items-no drawers in room, terrible lighting, no shower-not very clean bathtub, a tiny flat screen tv. -motel 6 would be a big improvement- inedible omelet for lunch in hotel restaurant. Manager and waiter could not have cared less. Do not stay here! Thankfully we only have 2 nights here. This is enough to make you hate Paris!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Hotel Sainte Genevieve site can be accessed through Circle de Armes site cnaparis.com. It is located at 17, Rue Decartes in the 5h Arrondisement - one block to Pantheon. The rooms are no frills but large by Paris standards at the Ste. G. As a retired Navy officer, my husband had to provide his membership card to the Marine Memorial Club as a reciprocal member. The reception area at the St. G is minimalist but has 24-hour reception. The hotel is very clean. We booked a junior suite but it was just a pocket door to a small room with twin bed and 2 chairs which we never used. A standard room for our purposes would have been just fine.
We thought the location was wonderful in the 5th Arr., a block from the Pantheon, a comfortable walk to Notre Dame and lots of fabulous restaurants along the way. Although the price was very good and the staff very helpful, it is unlikely we would stay here again. We like a bit more in the way of amenities and are willing to pay more but this was a quick 3 day French Open trip and we decided to give St. G a try. If you go, ask for the off street room. The revelers over the weekend with the Sorbonne two blocks away were excruciating throughout the night. The trash truck arrives at 7 am on Sat. & Sun and does not move out quickly. No a/c so we had to leave the windows open. Under no circumstances would we consider a revisit in July or August.
There are no toiletries so better have your own shampoo. Soap provided. One hair dryer for the entire 40 room hotel. I would collect it at night and return it in the am. We paid $100.30 Euros per night. A real deal in Paris for a very clean room and great location. Although we did not do Petit de Jeunier, it is only 6.7 Euro. FREE Wifi in room.

There is no name on the outside of the hotel. You ring the buzzer and enter a courtyard at the building street number "17". Lots of restaurants close. We are 65 and 74 and walking is no issue for us. We made our way on foot one day to the Dorsay, Branly Museum and Eiffel Tower, dinner at Bistro St. Dominique and back to St. G. You miss lots when travelling the subway.

Although we took the RER "B" from airport to city center, you might want to consider the 18 Euro shuttle back to the airport and book it early. We did not and could not get on so we took the 5 min. walk to the Luxembourg station and took the RER to Charles de Gaulle - very easy if you don't mind taking the airport underground shuttle from Terminal 2 to Terminal 1 for US bound destinations. Everything is well marked. We travel light so it is not a problem. The taxi is approx. 60 Euros to the airport from St. Genevieve.

Room Tip: Require room at rear of building. Do not stay here if you want to sleep if they cannot promise room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here to be near to the Champs Elysee area. It provided reasonable quality accommodation with basic, but functional rooms. Really close to metro stop to get around the city and within walking distance of many of the key sights. Our room had a great view of the Eiffel Tower too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Hotel lobby was really nice, very grand. Room was small and hot, very cramped, but we were only wanting the room to sleep in. It was very overpriced and the bathroom was really grotty, but the location was really good, and we were able to walk everywhere from where we were.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin

Address: 8, place Saint Augustin, Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Élysées
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,103 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Cercle National Des Armees Saint-Augustin Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cercle National des Armees Saint-Augustin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.