We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical restaurant parisian in st germain des prés” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mondrian

Le Mondrian
148 Boulevard St Germain, 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)
0143262406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,230 of 13,870 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: French, Hamburgers, Delicatessen, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Typical restaurant parisian in st germain des prés”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I ve been to this place two weeks ago with a girlfriend, we stopped and i had a really a nice glass of "Pinot Noir" my friend as a cosmo cocktail. Both were really great and tasty, the atmosphere and the music were jazzy and relax. The waiter was really fast and smiling.
We had a really nice time and we spent twos hours sitting on the warm terrace looking at parisian people walking on boulevard saint germain des prés!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    42
    14
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Chili's in Paris with a View”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I guess if you want some quick, basic food, this might work for you. I did not try the food, however, only the wine since we just wanted a quick break while strolling. The wine was really bad. Like, really bad. The view was great! It's situated on a busy, well trafficked boulevard in Saint Germain.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horquetas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“overpriced, really bad wine and other bad things”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Dinner on December 1, 2012 -- The item we wanted from the board outside was unavailable. The wine we ordered, supposedly a Bordeaux, was so bad that we had to send it back. They replaced it with a Lussac, which was barely drinkable, and for which they charged 13 euros a glass! To top it off, my credit card was rejected. When I called my bank, they told me that it was because they have had so many fraudulent transactions from that restaurant that they automatically block all their transactions.

The food was mediocre, and the service weak. On the whole, it made for a rather unpleasant evening,

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Be very careful when ordering here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I visited Le Mondrian on 9th November with a friend.

On the menu there was a section called "Sur le pouce". In this section there was a choice of Croque monsieur, Omlettes, Hot Dog, and, separated by dots, three types of Tartine. Below this (in the same section) was printed "Nos assiettes sont accompagnees de frites et/ou de salade."

We both chose omlettes, one accompanied with the frites, and one with the salade. We also ordered a 50cl carafe of wine.

The waiter was charming.

After the meal we ordered the bill, on which we were horrified to see that the frites and the salade had both been charged separately at 6 euros each. This meant that the 10 euro omelette now cost 16 euros, and the 12.50 euro omelette now cost 18.50 euros.

When we complained to the waiter, he became aggressive and said that the phrase "Nos assiettes sont accompagnees de frites et/ou de salade." only referred to the tartines and not anything above the dots, despite the omlettes being in the same section of the menu. He continued: " This is Paris. I have worked in many restaurants. It is always like this"...etc etc. We could not argue more, so we paid the bill, whereupon he ran off with the money and the bill. We had to insist that he brought the bill back to us.

To sum up. Be very careful, when ordering at this restaurant, that you ask precisely what is included in each dish so that you will not be ripped off as we were.

Total bill for the two omelettes and carafe of wine: 48.50 euros. Very poor value. We will not return.

You have been warned.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A quick tasty lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stopped here for a quick lunch on our last day in Paris, we had a charismatic and friendly waiter and both of us had omelettes which were wonderful! Light, fluffy and so very tasty. We were sat in the window next to the patio, with both chairs facing the outside so its actually quite romantic as well as allowing you to be warm yet still people watch.

Highly recommend their omelettes and the service was efficient, friendly and just right!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mondrian also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Mondrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mondrian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.