We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location.. friendly people.. a little worn out..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais Madeleine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Relais Madeleine to your Saves list
Le Relais Madeleine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 bis, rue Godot de Mauroy, 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #280 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Singapore
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Excellent location.. friendly people.. a little worn out..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel is in an ideal location, very close to metro stop. There are 2 supermarkets about 300 meters on either side of the hotel. Great shopping all around. Fauchon, Hediard, Maille just at your door step.. almost. Loads of restaurants around the hotel, including 2 sex shops!

Receptionists are generally helpful and friendly and will arrange for airport transfer - private transfer was 55 euros one way, per car, net price. Elevator is tiny. So if you have huge bags you may need to make 2/3/4 trips. Our room was a superior double, 101, on the first floor - just above the stairs with double doors - huge, with bath (TV in the bath), walk in wardrobe, slippers. Faces the courtyard. Generally clean.

Cons: the room was a tad stuffy. When you open the window to air the room, more than once there were cigarette smoke coming from the courtyard below. If you are non-smoker, you may prefer to pick a room on a higher floor. The bathroom was a bit worn - some edges had black stuff in it - we didn't bother to find out if it was mold. Curtains in the toilet were also a bit transparent. Some stains on the carpet.

We were told there's a double room, small about 15 sq meters, that has its own patio on the third floor. It's a basic comfort room with shower only. May be interesting if you like to have a glass of wine out on the patio.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor (if you don't have much luggage).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    64
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
66
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

this hotel is really great. I booked it for three nights and everything was great...mist important thing fir me was clean and nice staff and good breakfast buffet..it was expensive but u didn't regret booking it..totally recommend it..

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Situated in a quiet street it is a perfect location for visiting the major sites in Paris. The airport bus at Operas is 5 minutes’ walk, so makes the journey to and from the airport very easy without negotiating the steps at the train or the metro stations.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the court yard as it is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have recommended staying here to many of our friends. This hotel is quaint and friendly. The front desk staff went out of their way to give us directions and advice. They spoke English and were happy to help. The location is close to the metro station which takes you anywhere. Near the metro station is the famous Fauchons where we went to buy macarons. The woman who served us could not speak English and was extremely rude to us when we attempted to speak to her in French. You hear about people being rude in Paris, and for the most part, they were polite except for this encounter with this woman. We were a quick walk to the river and the Louvre. There is a handy small grocery store just a few doors down. We bought supplies for snacks and lunch and were glad we had a mini- fridge to store them in. The rooms were a good size for Paris and we felt the prices were below average.

Room Tip: We faced the street and enjoyed sitting by the open windows with a glass of wine. It was noisy at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

With just a short walk to the concorde, opera, eglise de Madeleine, Arc de Triomphe / Champs Elysee, Louvre and a little further to Notre Dame and a very close-by metro station. This place is incredibly well located with great value rooms (booked via expedia) and really friendly and helpful staff. The roads were quiet at night and very clean with enough space. The only problem was the wifi not working in our room but in the reception / corridor it was absolutely fine! Would highly recommend to friends

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Small hotel, no fuss, good sized rooms, well decorated and very clean. Comfy bed, nice bathroom, helpful, very smiley staff. Close to metro, great shops, lots of small places to eat. Loved it.

Didn't sample food, but there was a very well stocked mini bar....

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed pre Xmas for 5 nights - our warm welcome at reception each morning made our stay very personal. We had a large room with a separate wardrobe, large separate bathroom and separate loo - all beautifully clean and loved the interior design. Our room opened into an inner courtyard so no noise issues that others may have experienced and we also had a double door as entry for soundproofing... would return in a flash. Wifi in the room was excellent and the bonus of a lovely desk to sit at was a luxury.

Room Tip: We had room 101 just at the top of the first flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Relais Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Madeleine

Address: 11 bis, rue Godot de Mauroy, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Business Hotel in Paris
#334 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#430 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Madeleine 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Relais Madeleine offers 23 rooms (including one Suite). Charm, elegance, refinement and harmony are words that can define the “ambiance” you will find in this house. A few paces away from the Madeleine Church, the Opera and the place de la Concorde, the hotel occupies a charming XIXth century building on the rue Godot de Mauroy that links the place de la Madeleine with the Department Stores. Very near by: the fashion boutiques of the rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, the Museums (Pinacothèque, Louvre, Orsay, Orangerie) the Theatres (Edouard VI, Mathurins, Michel, The Olympia) and Gastronomic Paris with its numerous and tempting restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, AvailPro, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Relais Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Madeleine Hotel Paris
Le Relais Madeleine Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relais Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.