We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Relais Madeleine

Save Saved
You added Le Relais Madeleine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Relais Madeleine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 bis, rue Godot de Mauroy, 75009 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #281 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cute Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My Husband and I enjoyed staying here in Spring 2012. Very nice staff, and easy and convenient walking distance to the Metro. There were no great restaurants near-by, just he usual Parisian cafes. Easy to also catch the Bus to the Airport!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    58
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
62
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location, clean classy rooms and superb service. Great call out for the reception. Super friendly, professional and efficient.

Close to shopping and great sites/musea. Easy access to metro.

A lot of food options in the neighborhood.

Rooms are clean, nice, a bit tidy. Modern style.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The hotel staff was very friendly, and accommodating to all our needs. Rooms are clean and large (for Paris). We had a room facing the inner court on the fifth floor and slept with the window wide open and no noise from the streets audible. We didn't use the breakfast of the hotel, the breakfast room is in the basement of the hotel, nicely decorated but without daylight and there are plenty nice bakeries surrounding the hotel. Trie the one next to the Starbucks around the corner.
Only one drawback is the fact that the website of the hotel led us believe that the hotel has parking facilities. This, however, is not the case. A parking garage is in the neighbourhood, but off course this is not for free!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Paris is not known for big rooms so this hotel is notable on that basis alone. Great location near opera and breakfast was reasonable too. Would return but ask for room on back as noisy at night due to club up the room.

Room Tip: Room on back and high up due to street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel several times and we were never disappointed. The rooms are good size, very clean, not noisy. The hotel is in an excellent location, 2 min from metro. The service is great. We made it our Paris hotel! It is a great value for money especially in Paris where hotels tend to get expensive and of bad quality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We chose this hotel for its location, and weren't disappointed. As others have said it's close to the Metro at La Madeleine and museums, parks, department stores, cafes, bars and restaurants are all within easy walking distance. It's also very convenient for the Roissybus stop near L'Opera.

We stayed two nights and our superior room and bathroom (with a separate toilet) were extremely clean and pretty spacious for central Paris. Comfortable and tastefully furnished in a traditional style, there were two dining chairs at the desk, allowing for breakfast in the room if required, together with an armchair. Decent sized wardrobe space, a safe, slippers and TV were very welcome and the heated wall mirror in the bathroom was great - no steaming up caused by showering and there were nice big bath towels and a heated towel rail. The beds were really comfortable, with very nice linen and extra pillows in the wardrobe. The free Wifi worked well. All in all it felt as though our every need had been considered and catered for. We didn't breakfast at the hotel but went around the corner to Fauchon in Place Madeleine where two of us had coffee and croissant for about 12 euros.

We would stay at the hotel again but I'd request a quieter room. Ours overlooked the street and, since we had a window open, it was very noisy from quite early in the mornings - not helped by the lack of shutters which would cut out some of the noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I've traveled to Paris many times on business and normally stick to the same hotel. When the rates more than doubled for unknown reasons, I found this reasonable hotel. The location is quite central (near AUBER train station) and the street is very quiet at night.

I will rate this hotel on Comfort and Value:

I stayed in a Superior Room (large bed and nice size bathroom). The room was clean and inviting. The bathroom was also clean and well proportioned. I normally look at what the hotel has done to make my stay extra nice. In this room I found terry cloth disposable slippers, a safe (excellent!), a mini-bar (never used it, but a nice to have), free wifi (++) and enough hangers for my week stay. The one thing missing that I like to use is an electric coffee/tea maker. I drink tea and it would be nice to have some boiled water late at night in the comfort of my room...but I survived.

I was able to use an iron - upon request and kept in the lobby. The reception staff were very hospitable and pleasant to deal with.

Breakfast was not included in my room rate and was 13 Euros p/day. If you have time to grab breakfast elsewhere, do so. However, I found the breakfast to be a decent value and relaxing. The ladies that serve you breakfast were extra nice and accommodating. They had the usual bread varieties, cheese, cereal, fruit, yogurt, along with fresh squeezed OJ (my fav!), coffee/ tea....and boiled eggs. For me it was convenient before my rush to the office, but after 5 days you do run out of variety. Scrambled eggs would have been the icing on the cake (hint, hint).

As for value, my rate was about 170 Euros a night which was a bit more than my usual range of about 139-150 Euros. If you book with the hotel directly you will find better rates on their website which I may do next time (last I checked it was about 153 euros p/night).

I found the location to be very central to the big department stores (Primtemp, Galleria Lafayette) and many small boutiques. Monoprix is also nearby where you can find a quick bite and even toiletries. I like to buy chocolates there for little gifts to bring back home.

One restaurant that was recommended to me at the hotel was Le Persil Fleur at 8 Rue Boudre, which was excellent! It's a 2 minute walk and has a fabulous menu with fresh food and great selections. A 3 course a la carte meal was about 40 euros, with a glass of wine and a small bottle of water.

Another good choice is Terminus Cafe at the Hotel Concorde next to the Saint Lazare Train Terminal. There is also a nice Starbucks next to the Hotel Concorde which is another option for a snack.

Overall the hotel was a good choice and I would stay there again if the rate doesn't skyrocket.

Room Tip: Superior room was slightly more money but a good value with the extra room in the bathroom and bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Relais Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Madeleine

Address: 11 bis, rue Godot de Mauroy, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#261 Business Hotel in Paris
#308 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#385 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Madeleine 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Relais Madeleine offers 23 rooms (including one Suite). Charm, elegance, refinement and harmony are words that can define the “ambiance” you will find in this house. A few paces away from the Madeleine Church, the Opera and the place de la Concorde, the hotel occupies a charming XIXth century building on the rue Godot de Mauroy that links the place de la Madeleine with the Department Stores. Very near by: the fashion boutiques of the rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, the Museums (Pinacothèque, Louvre, Orsay, Orangerie) the Theatres (Edouard VI, Mathurins, Michel, The Olympia) and Gastronomic Paris with its numerous and tempting restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, AvailPro, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Le Relais Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Madeleine Hotel Paris
Le Relais Madeleine Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Relais Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.