We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice budget option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Liberty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Liberty to your Saves list
Hotel Liberty
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16, rue de Nancy, 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,389 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice budget option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The hotel is very basic but clean, rooms are very small but ok and are cleaned everyday. The breakfast offered for EUR 5,50 is very decent - fresh bagettes, croissants, caffee/tea/cocoa, jam, butter, orange juice.
Location is really convenient - two metro stops are within 2 min walk, both major ralilway stations are also nearby. About 20 min walk to Notre Dame. The hotel seems to be located in the centre of the African neighbourhood but I never had a problem walking to the hotel even late at night. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    47
    60
    25
    20
See reviews for
22
76
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed there from august 12-19 2010 and was very pleased. Had free high speed internet, conveniently located near Chateau d'eu metro station and a 15 min walk from Gare du Nord. The room fixtures were old and worn, but it was cleaned once a day. I was in a single with a sink. I will stay again if given the chance. Be sure not to stay here if you need a lift, as you need to walk up winding stairs to get to the room.

oh and I kid you not, I looked into hundreds of different hotels, and this one was by far the best value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

My boyfriend and me were very happy about this hotel:
- very cheap
- attentive and kind staff at the reception
- close to metro station, and also close to terrific bakery “Du Pain et des Idées” , very cool wine bar “Le Verre Volé” and Canal St. Martin which is a nice area to go out at night.

We had a double room on the top floor (5th floor, no lift) which I guess was not very different – except for the TV - from those rented by impoverished bohemian artists in the early ‘800… but its shabbiness and the view on Parisian roofs charmed us.

I just can complain about the tiny bed but maybe in Paris – for beds and restaurant tables alike – tiny is the norm.
I’d definitely book this hotel again but next time I’ll ask for a twin bedroom or a king size bed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Easy to book on their website, prompt reply for any enquiries by e-mail in english, 24 hr reception, quick check in and out, great location - close to latin quarter, easy walk to river seine esp to notre dame, close to metro station jacques bonsergeant, gare de l'est and gare du nord. Easy access to supermarket & restaurants / eateries, safe & very quiet. Very big room, clean, ensuite with flat screen tv (satelite subs), towels...so cheap at euro79 (triple) for paris standard. Will def go back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Recommendable hotel? Of course!!
I will review this hotel taking in consideration its category and price.
I decided to stay in this hotel during 5 nights because of the excelent recommendations here in Tripadvisor. I took the right decision.
This hotel was very cheap. The service was excelent. All the staff spoken in English and this was very good for me because I don't speak French. They were very friendly and always answered my questions very kindly.
The build inside was nice and very comfortable and it was very clean.
The hotel offered a nice breakfast. It had coffee or tea, milk, bread, croissant, juice, butter, jam. I'm from Argentina and our breakfast is similar to this but maybe it is not suitable for people from UK or USA where they eat other type of food.
The size of the room was ok and it was a nice and comfortable room.
Concerning the location, the hotel is not very close to the most famous attractions, but it is few blocks (2 or 3) from Gare de l'Est station. Every time that I wanted to visit some place in Paris, I only had to go to the station and choose the right subway line. It was very convenient.
In addition, there are cheap but good restaurants in the zone too.
Finally, concerning the security of the hotel and the neighbourhood, I was a woman travelling alone and I walked alone from the train station to the hotel after 9 pm many times. I never feel unsafe.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

staff: friendly.
Location: terrible. There is police office next to the hotel. they take arrested people 24 hours. so noisy.
Plus, if it is in summer, very hot. It's stuffy in this room.
Toilet: it is not working. I requested to fix, and then it is fixed, but not working again. it bothered a lot me.
Shower room: now room, very narrow space.
It was my fault to choose this due to reasonable price. I never ever come back here. I prefer more comfortable with more charge.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Nice placde to stay in central Paris. Around a 10 to 15 minute walk to Notre Dame. Really safe, as above a Police station. Also 5 minutes from the hotel is Republic Square which has every type of resturant you can imagine.

Also the breakfast of French bread, crossients and jam was really nice.

Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Liberty

Address: 16, rue de Nancy, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,389 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Liberty 1*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Budget Places, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Liberty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.