We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balladins Paris 19

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Balladins Paris 19 to your Saves list
Balladins Paris 19
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   219 Rue de Crimee, 75019 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,474 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simple, but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Rooms have different sizes and prices.
Rather small (but that's normal in Paris)
Good price-quality relation
Good beds and matresses
No double glazing (rooms at the front side might be noisy as the Rue Crimée is busy)
Public transport nearby (direct bus to Gare du Nord approx. 100 m away; metro station approx. 300 m)
Good quality breakfast buffet with plenty of choice for a French 2*-hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    23
    15
    9
See reviews for
8
32
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed there 1-5 October as a couple. The location of the hotel was great, with plenty of bakeries, groceries, shops, etc. The metro station is 5 min. on foot, away. From this station to the Louvre it takes 15 min. journey. The room was on the second floor. It was nice and clean but very small like everywhere else in Paris. The breakfast was very good in the tidy basement. The service was a problem. The guys in the reception they were polite and cool, but they didn't speak English at all. The dark knight of this hotel is a blonde female. She came up from nowhere a Monday morning and terrified the clients and the staff. She must be a supervisor or something but is awful. She was rude and aggressive and she asked from some clients to leave the breakfast room because there was a misunderstood for the breakfast hours. Some people we stayed to finish our breakfast and she started to push tables and chairs. Also she was insulting in France. I am a cool guy but in this case i was ready to beat her. To sum up this hotel is a very good choice for its category, especially for someone who visits Paris for first time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The hotel surrounded by many restaurants Turkish , Lebanese , Italian , 2 patisseries the supermarket in front of hotel ,bus 54 to Gare de Nord just 20 Mt , Metro 7 at end of street

The room size expected as any hotel in Paris in such grade. SMALL . but treatment of people in reception was rude , unhelpful at all , cleaning and changing towels you have to ask and then take the towels to reception to change by your self , WIFI its shame to indicate free WIFI and then they say it doesn't work at all due to technical problems , the area at dark was scary a lot of these African young men around . too far from center of Paris more than 1 hr by bus 54 then bus 30 to center or Metro 7 then metro 1 in about 30 min.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otopeni, Romania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

clean room, metro station very close, nice furniture, warm room, great breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This hotel offers a good sleep and a clean bathroom for a reasonable price.
Location is not great..... and parking is a problem. Couldn't find a public parking near the hotel but after checkin I found some information that there seems to be a way to enter the private Parking 2000 around 300 meter to the north on rue de Crimee behind the fuel station just before the rail crossing. Ask the reception at arrival how to get in there.
There is also a public parking at around 500m in the Casino store near 89 Av. du Flandre.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We were relieved initially to get a hotel 2 days before arriving as so many of the ones we tried were fully booked. However after reading some reviews on the hotel we were slightly wary.

We arrived in the hotel in the evening and the staff member who served us was pleasant enough. Our room was on the 3rd floor so we took the (extremely small) elevator up; after this we took the stairs during the rest of our stay.

The room was quite small as other reviews have suggested but this is not really a problem if you are in Paris for leisure as there is no need to spend all day in the room. The walls do seem to be very thin but luckily our neighbours weren't too noisy, the traffic however, was not so considerate! Even so, we were so tired by the end of each day that getting a good sleep was not an issue. The room was cleaned everyday while we were out. Breakfast was included in the price we paid and it was fairly similar to the sort of breakfast I have experienced in other hotel chains at home. If it hadn't been included in the price we would have probably looked elsewhere for breakfast as it was fairly basic.

The hotel is situated quite a bit out the way and I guess that's not good for everyone but I personally enjoyed the metro journeys. It also gave us a chance to visit the Parc de la Villette and the Cite des Sciences which we would probably otherwise have dropped from our itinary. There are plenty of shops and eaterys nearby. There is also quite a nice Italian restaurant next door where we ate on our first night.

All in all we enjoyed our stay here. If you are looking for something simple and reasonably priced I would recommend here if you don't mind staying out the way.


If you are staying here or nearby then try to make a point of taking a trip along the Saint-Martin Canal. We booked it in advance (€15) for our first full day. It takes you from the Parc de la Villette onto the Seine and drops off at the Musee d'Orsay. It is a relaxing start to a very busy holiday!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We paid about 100 euros a night for two nights which seems to be a bit more than some of the others here! That said we booked through a third party website so maybe the extra charges came from them.

We're from England and had been looking for a Travelodge like place to stay and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are quite small with VERY little place to keep your clothes, we only stayed for two nights so this wasn't a problem. Everything was very clean and modern, the shower was exceptionally good. Only down side was the toilet which was in a separate little room to the shower. If I'd been any taller my knees would have been touching the door when I sat down. While you were in the bathroom/toilet you could also hear people speaking next door but we couldn't hear them in the main room. We left the window open at night and didn't have any problems with street noise. We came back around midnight on the second night and it is actually quite a quiet area, but not so quiet that you feel unsafe. We had booked two rooms and they were of a similar high quality, ours was slightly bigger but our other friends had a nicer bathroom. Don't expect too many extras though, they provide plastic cups + two bottles of showergel/shampoo but nothing else. The cleaners are brilliant, don't speak a word of english but are very friendly and happy, far nicer than the other staff! They tidied the room well, if you don't want your things touching put them away though because they will put EVERYTHING on the floor back onto the beds. This isn't too bad but coming back to find your friend's clothes strewn across your bed is a bit gross...The internet seemed to work well on both phones and laptops. It isn't true that you need a french phone number, none of us have those and we didn't have problems getting the password. Its a bit tedious but nothing too horrible.

The rest of the hotel also seems clean and modern, the only problem was the tiny lift. It was either very slow or not working (we couldn't tell) for most of our stay so we ended up taking the stairs. We were only on the first floor so this wasn't a problem. There are some nice leaflets in the lobby so you can pick things to do.

The location was alright for us, but it takes about 20/30 minutes to get to the centre of Paris. We managed to forget this important bit of information and were very tight for time when we had to go back for our bags before catching a train. We would have made it but for other reasons (see below) it didn't happen.

The service wasn't all that great. The website we booked it from told us we could check in at 12 and would be getting two double rooms. When we arrived we were told we couldn't check in until 3 but this was probably the website's error. They said we could leave our bags with them but they actually made an effort and got one of the rooms ready for us in about 10 minutes so we could lock them away which was very nice. We also ended up with two twin rooms, which was a stroke of luck as we'd wanted that in the first place but had been told that they were sold out. Upon checking out they allowed us to store our many bags with them again. Unfortunately when we came to reclaim our bags with about half an hour before our train left the man on the desk was busy helping some other guests with directions. For 15 minutes. When he had finally finished we asked him to call a taxi first as we were now very late, and to then get our bags. Instead he got our bags (6 of them) THEN called the taxi which left him on hold for an age. We decided to just cut our losses and take the metro. Paris isn't big on step free access so this meant hauling suitcases up and down, there is also a change between crimee and gare du nord so that slowed us down. In the end we missed our train which was a shame as the rest of the trip had been brilliant.

Tell us how you liked the room
Talk about the location & amenities
Say what you liked best & least
french cell phone number

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balladins Paris 19? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balladins Paris 19

Address: 219 Rue de Crimee, 75019 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,474 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balladins Paris 19 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Balladins Paris 19 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balladins Paris 19, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.