We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bridgestreet Marais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bridgestreet Marais to your Saves list
Bridgestreet Marais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue Etienne Marcel, 75002 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,595 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed: January 2013
Travelers: 5 Friends
Apartment: 401, 4 Rue Etienne Marcel
Price: €360 for 2 nights, for 5 people

Just returned from a Paris reunion with a group of friends with whom I used to study in Paris. We were looking for a place with communal space and enough room for 5, and found this apartment to be the best option. The apartment was clean, well presented, large enough for all of us, and very well located. For the price, it was excellent.

At the start, I should say that we were located within the main "Bridgestreet Le Marais" building, at 4 R. Etienne Marcel. A lot of the negative reviews seem to focus on being placed in an apartment in a different block, or even area of Paris. With this in mind, I rang Bridgestreet prior to departure, and confirmed the address at which I would be staying, something which I would recommend doing (ring their French office, as opposed to the English number supplied).

Check in: Picking up the keys was easy enough, with pretty clear instructions as to how to get through the 2 security doors and safe. The 4pm check in time was perhaps a little late, though I believe it is possible to arrange an earlier time (again, ring the French number). Access to our room was via either four flights of stairs, or a small lift (a squeeze for 2 people with a suitcase). The small lift is not really a problem, it is relatively quick and modern, and everyone's bags were in the apartment in a couple of trips.

Bedrooms: Two large bedrooms (one of which contained a double AND 2 single beds, the other contained a double) provided plenty of sleeping space for 5. One of the single camp beds was broken - this did not pose a problem for us, as it was surplus to requirements - but were there 6 of us, we would have probably complained. The beds were other wise comfortable and clean, and there was a lot of space for storage/hanging clothes. The weather was around -2c outside, but the rooms were well heated. Although there was a little street noise at night, it was not a problem, and is to be expected in central Paris.

Living Area/Kitchen: Again, very large, with plenty of seating, a large table for 6, a bar and television. The kitchen was very useful for baking Camembert in the oven, and cooking a meal on the Saturday night (although the single pan in the cupboard limited options somewhat). There was an iron, washing machine and dishwasher (all new), though we did not use these. A selection of teas and coffees, together with filters for the coffee machine, were a nice addition. The room was very much as seen in the official photographs, with plenty of light, good quality fittings and typical Parisian windows. The only complaint would be that the floor was very noisy in patches; a result, perhaps, of being unable to change the original parquet flooring. We could occasionally hear the floor above us, which we didn't find problematic, but might be more of an issue for those sleeping early.

Bathroom: Very spacious, large shower, heated towel rail, towels provided for 6. Shower was hot, though not particularly powerful. The toilet was separate and (a little strangely) located next to the kitchen. Perhaps the only tatty room in the flat, the fixtures were a little worn and dated.

Location: Excellent. 1 minute walk to the Metro (Line 4, which is a very useful line), around 5 minutes from Monoprix (higher-end French supermarket chain), which also has a good bakery. Staying close to Chatelet is perfect for tourists who want to see a lot of Paris, as its lines connect you with 90% of central Paris. The building was safe, taxis were easy to catch, and it is only a short walk to Pompidou and the Marais.

Overall, this was a very good choice. There was only one key, which was a slight problem for larger groups, and the apartment system obviously doesn't come with the benefits of a hotel front desk (luggage storage was not possible). However, it was a very nice, spacious apartment in a fantastic location, in largely excellent condition. For the price (around £32pp/night), it was extremely good value, and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    15
    10
    24
See reviews for
32
21
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

If you want to live like a local, Bridgepoint Marais is a very good option. My family of 2 adults and 3 children rented a two bedroom apartment at 4 Rue Etienne Marcel. The apartment 202 was very large for Paris, very quiet and very secure. There is the best wine shop over the road - Le Comptoir Du Terroir.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

we acutally booked a deal to the champs elysées bridgestreen, few days before we've recived an e-mail with the change.
the Marias, was a great option, the room was big, full with stuff to coke, clean and nice
the location is perfect, close to every spot in paris!:)
for sure that we would wish to come back there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile


what a lovely flat!

was prepared for the "crystal maze" key challenge by the other reviewers, and to be honest it wasn't too complicated.

our flat was a 10 min walk round the corner from where we collected the keys

absolutely lovely flat, didn't want to leave! :)

**

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The whole procedure with taking the keys and getting the information about the apartment was problem-free.

We were located in an apratment at Rue d’Aboukir. The apartment was very nice, it seemed recently renovated and had all the possible facilities one could need. We traveled with a baby and babycot and highchair were placed in apartment. BUT there was no elevator in the building and the apartment was on the second floor. The building was old so the stairway was extremly narrow, with a pushchair that had to be carried up and down every time we came/left the aparment this really was inconvenient.

We had some problems with the wifi-internet but after a phonecall this was solved and the wifi worked fine.

The apartment was very close to the Rue Montorgueil and that was maybe the best thing about the apartment. The street is lined with restaurants, cafés, bakeries, fish stores, cheese shops, wine shops, produce stands and flower shops. A very vibrant pedestrian area, we loved it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

First let me say that the apartment we ended up with was nice inside and would have been suitable for a family or couple traveling to Paris.

The sink in the bathroom leaked and the door to the apartment took on average 10 minutes to open as the lock didn't work properly but the apartment itself was clean, well equipped and located close to the Metro - the small "glitches" in the sink and lock would have been fine under different circumstances but the fact that we didn't feel safe getting to the apartment in the evening was a big drawback to the whole experience.

It was not in the location/building that we booked in but nearby approx. 15 minutes from the location of Le Marais apartments and down a side street (alleyway almost) that was closed up and dark at night (the exact type of place they tell you to avoid when traveling alone in Paris). Traveling alone with my daughter we only rented an apartment to be near our friends who were also renting in the same building (this was clear on the requests when the reservations were made - we had asked to be located as close as possible) we were not placed in the same building.

The establishment left a local number and contact but the phones don't allow you to call out (not even local numbers) and no one from Bridgestreet calls to check in.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone or solo with kids ensure you are placed in the main building on Rue Etien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Afternoon all again,

Not sure where to start as the apartment is great - very modern, lots of ikea accessories, waher/drier, microwave, electric hob, free wifi (I believe, as boss never allows me to take work equipment on holiday!), etc.

It was easy to find from Gare Montparnasse (line 4 I believe, about 6 stops; we thought about taking a taxi but the queue was longer than Heathrow immigration!!!) and their instructions are great - we were allocated a two bedroomed apartment in the same block as the keys.

However, it's not air-conditioned. They provide you with one mobile (although it leaks water everywhere if you move it) air conditioner and may provide more if you ask. However, you then have to have the windows open for the exhaust....and if you are on the stree side it is like being in a bus station - much noisier for some reason than down at street level even though we were floor 4!

Also television did not work and after one expensive call to the lovely Bridgestreet guys I gave up. I think if they are not going to have no reception desk, they ought to provide a phone for queries, rather than guests racking up huge bills to call them.

That said location is great, lots of restaurants, cafes, two small supermarkets nearby.

I just would not recommend for summer!

William

Room Tip: Ask for non-street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridgestreet Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgestreet Marais

Address: 4 rue Etienne Marcel, 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#372 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgestreet Marais 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bridgestreet Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgestreet Marais Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridgestreet Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.