We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure lottery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bridgestreet Marais

Save Saved
You added Bridgestreet Marais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bridgestreet Marais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue Etienne Marcel, 75002 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,602 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pure lottery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The whole procedure with taking the keys and getting the information about the apartment was problem-free.

We were located in an apratment at Rue d’Aboukir. The apartment was very nice, it seemed recently renovated and had all the possible facilities one could need. We traveled with a baby and babycot and highchair were placed in apartment. BUT there was no elevator in the building and the apartment was on the second floor. The building was old so the stairway was extremly narrow, with a pushchair that had to be carried up and down every time we came/left the aparment this really was inconvenient.

We had some problems with the wifi-internet but after a phonecall this was solved and the wifi worked fine.

The apartment was very close to the Rue Montorgueil and that was maybe the best thing about the apartment. The street is lined with restaurants, cafés, bakeries, fish stores, cheese shops, wine shops, produce stands and flower shops. A very vibrant pedestrian area, we loved it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    15
    10
    24
See reviews for
32
21
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

First let me say that the apartment we ended up with was nice inside and would have been suitable for a family or couple traveling to Paris.

The sink in the bathroom leaked and the door to the apartment took on average 10 minutes to open as the lock didn't work properly but the apartment itself was clean, well equipped and located close to the Metro - the small "glitches" in the sink and lock would have been fine under different circumstances but the fact that we didn't feel safe getting to the apartment in the evening was a big drawback to the whole experience.

It was not in the location/building that we booked in but nearby approx. 15 minutes from the location of Le Marais apartments and down a side street (alleyway almost) that was closed up and dark at night (the exact type of place they tell you to avoid when traveling alone in Paris). Traveling alone with my daughter we only rented an apartment to be near our friends who were also renting in the same building (this was clear on the requests when the reservations were made - we had asked to be located as close as possible) we were not placed in the same building.

The establishment left a local number and contact but the phones don't allow you to call out (not even local numbers) and no one from Bridgestreet calls to check in.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone or solo with kids ensure you are placed in the main building on Rue Etien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Afternoon all again,

Not sure where to start as the apartment is great - very modern, lots of ikea accessories, waher/drier, microwave, electric hob, free wifi (I believe, as boss never allows me to take work equipment on holiday!), etc.

It was easy to find from Gare Montparnasse (line 4 I believe, about 6 stops; we thought about taking a taxi but the queue was longer than Heathrow immigration!!!) and their instructions are great - we were allocated a two bedroomed apartment in the same block as the keys.

However, it's not air-conditioned. They provide you with one mobile (although it leaks water everywhere if you move it) air conditioner and may provide more if you ask. However, you then have to have the windows open for the exhaust....and if you are on the stree side it is like being in a bus station - much noisier for some reason than down at street level even though we were floor 4!

Also television did not work and after one expensive call to the lovely Bridgestreet guys I gave up. I think if they are not going to have no reception desk, they ought to provide a phone for queries, rather than guests racking up huge bills to call them.

That said location is great, lots of restaurants, cafes, two small supermarkets nearby.

I just would not recommend for summer!

William

Room Tip: Ask for non-street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Location of hotel is quite good. Although, rooms were clean and spacious, wooden floor was a bit noisy while walking. But for us it was not a big issue. There are supermarkets, restaurants and pubs are nearby. As far as value for money is concerned, hotel is economic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manderscheid, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We got in a car accident on the way to Paris and booking.com told us that the manager was not there, but they would probably refund the money considering the circumstances, so we cancelled believing the worst case scenario would be losing the cost of one night. This hotel charged us for the entire stay even after they said they would not!! I understand the reason for having a no refund policy, but it wasn't like we changed our minds or found a cheaper hotel. We offered proof that we had been in an accident, to fax over paperwork, we were even willing to accept credit to stay there during the off season. They refused to work with us at all, even the booking.com representative was surprised by how uncaring the manager was. I called them several times to complain, and they reluctantly said they wouldn't charge us, but the full amount was charged to my credit card and they are pretending they never agreed not to charge us. Not an ethical company at all.

Room Tip: Go with a different company, this one is dishonest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were allocated an apartment in a rather rundown apartment block in Rue De Tracy. The apartment was nice but very overlooked, and in an area which did not feel very safe. We did not venture out at night as a result. We could have done with someone to welcome us and show us about, but all we got was a complex set of instructions sent by email to enable us to collect the key (from a safe) and the apartment address. Not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment facing street,
Entering the complex was via a code and we were lucky enough that a guest let us in, but we still ahd to ring to find out how to access our apartment. Office quickly organised for cleaner to great us as we were early for check in and she set off to make up our room and gave us a time to come back. Nice impression upon entering apartment.

Bad
As there was 3 of us, there was 2 double or queen bed but other person had to sleep on a fold out bed.
Shower floor tiles, there were too many missing mosiac tiles to count. Pretty poor.
Wireless connection - wasn't working. called office to fix. Next arfternoon when we returned still not working, sorry you 'll ahve to wait till Monday for a tech. Not good enough in my standards as it was a business trip. Over the w/end as we were desperate for net, I knocked on another apartment and asked for their wireless code, they were very gracious short term residents who gave us access. Something the office should have thought of for us.
Street noise is very loud even with shutters closed, lucky it wasn't hot. Still recommend ear plugs if you get a street facing room.
Random bag of stuff for us. Biscuits etc. but one random loos tea bag.

Good - location, clean and spacious apartment.

Make sure you visit Claude across the street at "Le Comptior Terrior" (bottleshop) He made our stay. Visited him one day for some Champagne, tapenades, terrines and mini toasts. From then on every day we were greated with a friendly smile every time we passed. He also was kind enough to take a package that I needed picked up after I left Paris. If you do visit tell him Toni from Australia say hi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridgestreet Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgestreet Marais

Address: 4 rue Etienne Marcel, 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#367 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridgestreet Marais 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Bridgestreet Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgestreet Marais Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridgestreet Marais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.