We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Au Port Du Salut

Au Port Du Salut
163 Rue Saint Jacques, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)
01 46 33 63 21
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,358 of 13,309 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $56
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar, Gastropub, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Quartier Latin
Description: Contemporary French cuisine with refined and tasty dishes prepared daily from the market products.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“A fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were in Paris in September for almost a week and stayed near the Pantheon; the hotel recommended this restaurant for an authentic French meal, and it did not disappoint! We loved it from start to finish......great service, delicious food and a cozy interior. I had the duck and it was heavenly; my husband had fish that was equally as yummy. The new owner spent some time talking to us, and, at the end of the meal, I was handed a rose as we walked out.......a very nice touch when dining in Paris.....the city of love! I think the owner's son is the chef, and we met him later in the evening......very friendly young man. We wish them great success and hope to return for another wonderful meal when we return to Paris.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    63
    23
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tring, Herts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

After having lived in France, coming back to find a traditional French restaurant with a combination of wonderful food, friendly service and no airs and graces has proved difficult, to say the least. However - I'm pleased to say that it still exists! Here you have a cosy, traditional restaurant, staffed by friendly, attentive and definitely not overbearing people, that actually appear to enjoy what they do. The food is pretty impressive, in terms of taste and presentation and in just the right amounts. Whatever you order will be delicious and there is a wide variety of wine to complement your choices. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Au Port du Salut - best of the best in Paris!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

All visits in Au Port du Salut is excellent and unforgettable,original French-Paris menu from chef, best wine list, live piano music and song,cozy interior and professional restourant personal. In this great restaurant we survive in winter Paris in last December 2012.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Most romantic meal in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and wine, lovely service, fantastic pianist. Wonderful restaurant. We found this to be good value also. Great creme brûlée!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Two times and both excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited this restaurant two times on our holiday during Christmas 2012. First was the night we came to Paris and we loved the place so much we wanted to eat here on our last night, too. We didn't have reservations on either of the visits but we still got a table. The tables are quite close to each other but not as close as in many bistros in Paris. There was still room to walk. There were at least two waiters that spoke English so we had no problems communicating and the menu was in English too. We liked everything we tasted, for example bean salad, scallops, beaf. On our way out after the second dinner they gave me a rose which just completed the wonderful day. Thank you!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Port Du Salut also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au Port Du Salut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Port Du Salut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.