We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful design hotel with excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Shelter

Save Saved
You added Mama Shelter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mama Shelter
109 Rue de Bagnolet, 75020 Paris, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #386 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful design hotel with excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very nice room. Good bed, Apple device in room with free internet and free films. Excellent rainshower. Plentiful breakfast.
Location is not ideal, though a good metro network brings relief.
The restaurant and pizzeria are excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    322
    91
    45
    21
See reviews for
43
332
53
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

First off, i stayed on a Sunday night, when they have incredible deals. €79 for what is normal a €200+ room is brilliant value. The service was great, and the whole place is very cool, slick, and stylish. BUT there were several annoying little things that shouldn't be present in a hotel of this standard and price. First of all, the remote for the TV/entertainment centre didn't work, and i had problems with the free wi-fi the whole time i was there - the signal kept dropping out. The hairdryer provided was also like a toy, and next to useless. The hot water in the shower kept running hot and cold as well, making having a shower a bit annyong - freezing cold to really hot every couple of minutes. The way the shower was designed also meant the water went all over the bathroom floor, and formed a massive puddle.
Like i say, all minor quibbles, and i was happy for what i paid, but had i paid the full price, i would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

A great little hangout spot, with brilliant food, terrifying drinks and the best mattress you'll ever experience.

I've been here many times now, and although I love returning, I have always left feeling deeply unimpressed with the service

As a restaurant & bar it's great, but the rooms don't offer room service, and can feel very claustrophobic after a couple if days..

The staff are very precious, and the free porn in each bedroom just points out the clear debauchery that goes on night after night in the bed you've been provided with which I personally try to blank from my mind when staying in any hotel..

Basically, go, but don't take your nan

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

On first arrival our bedroom smelled smokey. But that was the only problem we had, and the cleaners sorted it out by the next day.

We got fresh towels and sheets every day. The cleaning staff were polite and friendly and quiet!

It was an area we'd never been in before, but it was lovely. A nice area, restaurants, boulangeries, even a McDonald's. (I have to say I admire the French passion for fresh bread and wine, twinned with their love of McDo's.)

No room service or kettle in the room, but the bar staff opened our bottle of wine for us and we were able to get a coffee from the restaurant in the morning, without having to get a full breakfast.

The TV had a really good selection of channels plus some good movies to stream.

The restaurant seemed very nice indeed, though we didn't eat there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This place is just not a hotel.

The front desk is semi open, the team is in denim trousers and T shirts with funky aprons. There is a huge wooden table with four chairs as an Internet counter.

My room was small, dark with Superman and Batman facemasks smiling at me (as bedside lamps). The bed was very good. I slept like an angel.

The idea of free everything (videos, internet, etc) is just centuries ahead of upscale (5*) hotels where you are charged for every thing.

The bathroom was very small too, but efficient. I only regret the absence of soap as such, replaced by a shower gel (not my personal preferrence).

The restaurant (pizzeria) and bar looked great (thanks to Philippe Stark), a long high wooden table in the restaurant, a snooker in the bar, wooden tables every where, and a light above the snooker to be discovered (really hip).

The food for breakfast was fresh and tasty with funky individual butter portions.

I did not really feel at any moment in a hotel, more at a holiday club house or kind of. And that was refreshing especially in Paris.

Room Tip: Do not expect there what you expect in standard hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Mama Shelter has gone for the cool crowd and pulls it off with a few reservations. The suite we'd booked was very cool, quirky and imaginative if not quite luxurious. The decor and furnishings of our room and the reception, bar and dining area were impressive and well considered, but I guess we were target audience and I could imagine others would feel it pretentious or spartan. Definitely an acquired taste. More Dazed and Confused than Conde Nast.

The roof terrace would've truly come into it's own had we been there in summer rather than November and unfortunately, given the location, the view could've been Slough rather than Paris.

The location is not ideal. It's a slog to the nearest Metro, felt more so after a day walking round the city centre and a trek on the underground system is followed by a ten minute walk that;s something of a killer if you are going back and forth to the hotel over the course of the day. Another grip is the lack of a laundry service - I wanted a shirt ironed and while there was something resembling a cupboard on the fifth floor to do it myself the iron and ironing board were archaic and I gave up.

Overall very good, glad we stayed, but not mind blowing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Since my last visit to MS I’ve raved to people about it. Book ahead and the prices are friendly (although the booking conditions aren’t). On my last visit I saw this as the hotel of the future – what do I think now?

The hotel is doing well and both the Pizza and Restaurant are busy. The hotel also seems to have encouraged a few other places to thrive, including the bar across the road.

Check-in was friendly enough, but noticeably in the hotel how you get treated is based on how hip you are. As I’m old, and potentially not hip so perhaps I didn’t do so well! One night for example I saw my pizza slowly cooling as the blonde waitress was chatted up at great length by someone far, far more hip than me. No doubt he will write a better review!

Inside the rooms are unchanged and that might be a problem. The MAC screen on the wall now looks a little dated, and the interface is perhaps limited. Perhaps that’s going to be the problem for MS. To be cutting edge – certainly from a technology point of view - needs constant refreshing. That isn’t a problem at the moment but in another year I’d suggest it’s all going to look a little less cool. When the wifi works it’s not bad, but it does stutter from time to time.

The area also hasn’t improved greatly. Here you get a little vision of the social impact of Europe's financial issues. There’s plenty of petty crime going on around, in particular in the metro station (just count the turnstile hopper) . On another night I saw knives drawn on the metro and on another a very loud and difficult drunk who was bothering people. So I’d suggest a little more care than usual. There isn’t anywhere compelling to eat in the area either.

At night the bar is buzzing, enough that there’s security on the door. Again, being hip helps, otherwise like me you’ll just need to wave your hotel door key!

MS is clearly successful and there was a TV crew filming when I was there. Sometimes though it’s style over function. For example the rooms are dark, and the opportunity for a little more light might help. Packing in the early morning in a dark room with a black carpet was interesting.

I’m not sure I will return (and the hotel will do just fine) and the main reason is the area. It has an edge to it and the Metro is a ten minutes walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mama Shelter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Shelter

Address: 109 Rue de Bagnolet, 75020 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#151 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#163 Business Hotel in Paris
#319 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic Saint Blaise neighborhood located in the heart of authentic Paris with its flowerlined cafe terraces, its gardens and its air rebellion, MAMA SHELTER welcomes you. Sensual and elegant rooms equipped with Apple iMacs 27" (TV, Internet, CD/DVD Player, IChat, Photobooth, Videobooth) and 5 Star bedding (Duvet 100% Satin Coton Sheets) offer you a serene retreat after a long day in the city and an evening across the street at the mythic Parisian temple of international live music, La Fleche d'Or. Easy access to the MAMA SHELTER: in the heart of the 20th district, it is conveniently located 16 miles from Charles de Gaulle Airport and 12.5 Miles from Orly Airport. Otherwise, direct connection to the A3 Highway, or next to metro stations. Take a break in MAMA SHELTER and enjoy: Live Concerts, Cabaret Shows, DJs, Table Soccer, Boutique of Offbeat Products... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mama Shelter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Shelter Paris
Mama Shelter Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Shelter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.