We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of la Place Royale

la Place Royale
2 bis Place des Vosges, 75004 Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)
+33142785816
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,336 of 13,448 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $39 - $78
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Hôtel-de-Ville
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

After having walked all over Paris, my wife and I wandered onto this little gem. The waiter, I believe his name was Charlie, was very friendly and accommodating to our broken but enthusiastic French (he was even kind enough to politely correct a phrase that we were saying wrong). The food was very good for a good price and the location was quiet and very relaxing. It was enjoyable to watch the families and the students in the square

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    59
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The classic French style cuisine at Place Royale is some of the best food my wife and I have ever had. The atmosphere is cozy, and a bit modern. We both ordered from the Prix Fixe menu and loved every item that was placed before it. Specifically, I would recommend the gnocchi and coq au vin, which were both some of the best representations of these foods I've ever tasted. The steak was also very good. I would highly, highly recommend this establishment and will not visit Paris again without going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Place des Vosges in the lovely Marais, we strolled around and needed to rest! In June, we easily found a table, was promptly serve by a friendly waiter. A Salad Nicoise to die for! In Paris, a glass of wine with a delicious salad, soaking up the sun...in a history soaked square! What more can a girl ask for?! Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was here in October walking around place des vosges and went in for lunch without reservations. It was warm and cozy! I did the prix fix lunch menu and it was a lot of food and unbelievable! Great service, great food, beautiful location.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fab last meal in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

What a find! We wondered around the Place des Vosges and after being greated by rude staff at another restaurant, came across La Place Royale. The waiter who greated us, Charly, was a credit to the restaurant. We were seated at a lovely table outside and immediately given the menu. The Menu du Jour was excellent value for money, although at first we thought it was rather a lot per person - 41 euros. The food was excellent, the house wine of a good standard and the service, was what made it. 41 euros for a 3 course meal, Kir drink to start, bottle of house wine between two and coffee turned out to be the best 41 euros we spent on a meal in Paris during our weekend visit. Although Charly was on his own outside serving, he was very attentive, polite, pleasant and chatty. Nothing seemed too much bother for him. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. It we had found this restaurant the first night in Paris, we would certainly have visited a couple of times.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la Place Royale also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to la Place Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage la Place Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.