We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate food and friendly service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Au General Lafayette

Au General Lafayette
52, Rue La Fayette, 75009 Paris, France (Montmartre)
01 47 70 59 08
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,664 of 13,456 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $31 - $47
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Montmartre
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Adequate food and friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The service and atmospere were very good and made this an enjoyable meal. The food was fairly standard bistro fare; very edible but not especially good value. We had the €34 prix fixe for dinner which inluded three courses and a glass of kir.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    85
    41
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A decent bistro with friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

A decent bistro with friendly service and that by itself is worth mentioning in Paris. My girlfriend ordered a Pork Knuckle which she very much liked. Overall compared prices are reasonable. Just be prepared to pay 20 euro for a dish and double that to get wines and drinks. Typically in Paris drinks make half your bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst meal in Paris! Save your euros!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Don't believe the other fake positive reviews prior to this one!
We were greeted at the door with a cheerful bonjour. (That was the highlight)
While ordering the waiter decides to stop taking our order and starts to reset a table on the other side of the room for no apparent reason and on top of this, the establishment was empty. At this point in time we thought about leaving but assumed this was French arrogance. Worst was yet to come - the food! Steak was tough and rare when the order was for well done; green beans were terribly over cooked;
When we paid the bill the waiter asked how the meal was to which we advised him. He replied saying that we were incorrect and that everything was as requested.
We decided to quit and pay over 40 euro's for food i would not feed to the homeless. We went out for a great pizza instead.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“neighborhood place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

decent neighborhood bistro, we visited during everybody's vacation in August, so not much interesting on the menu. Service was good, prices were fair

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

An English menu available, always simplifies things. Good coffee and good size breakfast. Much better than the hotel buffet.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au General Lafayette also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au General Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au General Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.