We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un merveilleux sejour a Paris!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellan to your Saves list
Hotel Bellan
20 rue Leopold Bellan | 02 Arr., 75002 Paris, France (Opéra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,010 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Marina del Rey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Un merveilleux sejour a Paris!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Bellan for a week and found it to be delightful. It is small and quaint, and perfectly located in the heart of the 2nd arrondissement. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner's delightful family. It is obvious how much they care about their guests and all of the staff went out of their way on many occasions to make our stay in Paris a memorable one. The hotel is spotlessly clean and a bargain for such a fabulous location. The rooms are small, but we spent very little time indoors, even though it rained every day we were there! Well, this is Paris, so we all brought our raincoats and umbrellas. Many, many thanks to Brahem and Yamina as well as Ali and Najim. You were all so kind and gracious. (I'm sure I spelled the names wrong!)
Merci beaucoup!
....try the Italian restaurant right next door to the hotel......magnifique!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the street for the wonderful large windows and a view of the Rue Leopold Bellan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    16
    2
    9
See reviews for
8
16
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hoboken
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I just stayed the week with my 3 sisters, mom, and grandma in Hotel Bellan. I agree with the review that mentions if you are looking for an Americanized hotel while visiting Pairs, then this is not the place for you.

Hotel Bellan is simple, yet very charming and exactly what a European hotel would be like. The rooms are quaint and very clean, as all you really need the room for while staying here is to sleep and shower. The location of the hotel is absolutely AMAZING! Right when you walk out of the door, there are cafes, wine stores, cheese shops, and amazing shopping! The Louvre is within walking distance as well as many other sites.

The most important part of this hotel is the staff. They were the most amazing hosts and went completely out of their way to make sure we were all comfortable and had anything and everything they could possibly help us with. I would absolutely recommend staying here if you are looking for an affordable, comfortable, and true European experience!

Thanks Hotel Bellan, we will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Make sure when requesting a room to specify the amount of people. They have single and double rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights and found it clean, quiet, welcoming, and comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful. I was amazed with the location and for the nightly price I couldn't ask for better!!!!

Room Tip: My room had windows on the street, I do not know about the other rooms. It was recently renovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here from 23 Mar to 28 Mar. The Hotel staff were always pleasant and helpful. The Sentier metro was close by. Starbucks, Thai restaurants, Greek take away, Sushi restaurants, cheese store, and 2 grocery stores were very close-along with other eateries, wine shops and retailers. I travel as a solo female and I felt very safe. The Hotel is on a pedestrian only street. My single room was small with a tiny bathroom but clean and quiet. The lift was working when I was there. I researched and found this to be the best value for my budget and within walking distance to the Louvre. The front desk arranged for a shuttle to Orly for me and even called me prior to me early departure. Thanks to Hotel Bellan I had an affordable, enjoyable vacation. I look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in mid January. Great location and good rooms to sleep. Front desk guys spoke English and they were kind. Close to rue montroguy which has a lot of eateries including an Indian restaurant. We felt safe and enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Reading the reviews for this hotel makes me laugh. Primarily because it seems like most of these people have never traveled in Europe before.
Yes, you do have to turn in your key when you leave the hotel, just like many other hotels in Europe. This is not 'merica people. Get over it. It was never a problem even though I came back late at night, 1 or 2 am after parties with friends, on several occasions.
Yes, being in a big city is noisy. If you're a light sleeper you will need earplugs in every hotel in Europe unless you're in the middle of nowhere and there are no other people around. While I am a light sleeper I slept fine here and with the window closed could hear very little of the street noise.
Yes, the bathroom is small. If you travel at all in Europe you will find that this is normal. You are not in America anymore. Things in these ancient cities are smaller and guess what, that's how people live here.
If you're the type of tourist who wants to stay in America but see the sites of Europe this is not the hotel for you.
Here's what is great about this place...
Staff is super friendly. Wifi is good with wifi connection available in your room (uncommon in much of the EU). Price is great and better than you'll find in the city. Location is phenomenal, close to everything and the metro is very nearby. Breakfast is good and cheap. The bed was comfortable, the heater worked great and the single room was big enough for a single person. The location for the price made this place a major winner in my book.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is all about location, location, location! It is a great value for the money. Small typical european rooms and bathroom but who stays in the room in Paris anyway. Breakfast was a great value. The internet didn't work the weekend we were there but the man at reception said that was the first time that happened.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellan

Address: 20 rue Leopold Bellan | 02 Arr., 75002 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opéra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,010 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.