We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff can be a little pretentious and rude” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Boulangerie et Patisserie

Paul Boulangerie et Patisserie
Champs Elysee | Paris, 75001 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 196 Bakeries in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Opera / Bourse
1 review
“Staff can be a little pretentious and rude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile


Run of the mill patisserie and you pretty much get what you pay, and that includes service too if you speak in English. Get the baguette or the croissant. The sandwiches are pretty good too.

I wouldn't hold my experience against the establishment, but considering its touristy location the staff isn't all that accommodating so I will take my business to Starbucks down the block where the people are more friendly and tolerant when you speak in French+English :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    96
    28
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Cheap eats at Paul chain in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Black square awnings mark the spot. They can be an economical alternative in some pricey parts of town. We ate take away from Paul 77 rue de Seine. It has a pretty dining room, small toilet. Different offerings of sandwiches and pastries than the other site we ate at including hot sandwiches. The surprise was it was twice as expensive as the other location. But this is the St Germain-des-Pres district (6th arrondissement) so I guess you charge what the people will pay.

The other location we tried was at 9 rue des Mathurins. It is just down the road from Printemps dept store on Bd Haussmann. Only cold sandwiches, seating upstairs, toilet in view of the diners but a very pretty view down the road toward the department stores. The location was very old and charming. You might have thought Opera and Bd Haussmann were expensive parts of town but this was a cheap alternative.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CO
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Paul, good and bad but here to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Yes, I played the record backwards but no, Paul was not buried (see The Beatles). Paul is alive and well in Paris, and as I discovered, in other parts of France. The Good: very good bread, pastries, sandwiches and coffees. The Bad: all the small mom and pop shops being shuttered from lack of business. Yes, it is a bit pricey and this is the trend everywhere and maybe my notion is old-fashioned but still..... If you're an American, think Panera bread only better after all it is still in France. And throughout Paris. And in the train station in Strasbourg. And .....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“delicious croissants and bakery items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a great chain all over Paris (oddly enough, I have seen it in the USA too) Easy to grab a few croissants for breakfast and a coffee, or I confess I grabbed a Starbucks Latte across the street just for economy of size sake. The baguettes etc all looked delicious. Chocolate croissant, butter croissants and apple croissants were excellent. Reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lommel, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Not the best, but definitly not the worst. Handy if you want to grab a quick bite.
We enjoyed our sandwiches!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Paul Boulangerie et Patisserie also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Paul Boulangerie et Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Boulangerie et Patisserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.