We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Clean, Simple & Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Paris Montmartre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Paris Montmartre to your Saves list
Hotel de Paris Montmartre
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 rue Biot, 75017 Paris, France (Batignolles-Monceau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,240 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good, Clean, Simple & Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Walking distance to Montmarte sites (Sacre Coeur, Moulin Rouge, etc) and close to the metro. Safe neighborhood with bustling restaurants. Only bad thing is that they don't have air-conditioning. We were there for a week and were fine without it. If you do need to leave the windows open it can get a bit loud on the street-side because of the restaurants below. It's a good value, has friendly desk-staff and is clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    50
    28
    13
    14
See reviews for
12
66
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The thing i liked most about this hotel was that it was value for money. With sloping roofs and a somewhat cramped interior, at first glance it may not seem like the ideal shelter. However given that it is in an excellent location, and that one does not spend an august in paris in doors, it is excellent value for money. There is an excellent patisserie just below the hotel, and the fellow guests are rather interesting folk! Stay here if you're a student, wish to see the city at little expense, or just lost.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed in a double bedroom. The bathroom may be a little small for big people. However the staff is friendly and most importantly the room was super clean. The neighborhood is cool, next to Montmartre (10-15 minutes walk), plenty of cheap restaurants (japanese, asian, fast-foods, etc) and the Champs-Elysées are just minutes away by metro. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suceava, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

It's a great hotel for the money you are paying.. the location is great if you are young and the rooms are not noisy at all..I enjoyed the stay and i want to warm recommend it. The staff is great, friendly and really helpful , it's near to a metro station (100 meters), you don't have problems in that area. There are a lot of shops where you can buy whatever you want, a lot of restaurants and fast-foods.. The rooms are small but you have enough space, the bathroom and toilets are clean and you have hot water and internet all the time. Everyday someone is cleaning the room and change your towels. It's very easy to reach (metro station Place de Clichy).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

After arriving later than we said we would at the hotel because our plane was diverted due to dense fog (we got there at 5 am, we had previously by phone said "after midnight" to which they told us, "no problem, someone is here all night"), we were told our room had been given to someone else, and that this was our fault as we had not called to warn them. You can make your own minds up as to who's fault it was that they gave the room away, but we had pre booked and only wanted to go to bed after a bad journey, so we went for a walk to find somewhere else. I think they just saw the possibility to make some more money, as we would have had to pay for the room that night anyway had we just not turned up... Anyway we easily found another hotel which seemed much nicer (we never got to see the hotel de paris room but the whole place was pretty nasty), but when I later called to speak to the manager I was told we didn't have to pay for the room for the first night (wow thanks) but did have to pay following two nights as to cancel a room you need to give 48 hours warning! We as I said were already happily in a nice hotel so we paid the two nights at hotel paris and never went back...

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This was the worst hotel I have ever experienced in my life. The hotel is not too far from the Gare Du Nord though the frontage is small and we walked past it without noticing it when we arrived. When you enter the front door it leads into a poky little reception area that was scruffy and far from comforting after a long journey.

The single staff member behind the counter booked us in and told us where the room was. We struggled up the narrow and confined stairway to the first floor. We opened a door that looked like a fire door into the tiny landing outside the room.

We entered the room and was immediately disappointed. The bathroom had a cracked sink. There was mould around the bath and the room was very very tiny - the sort you might expect in a caravan or poor bed and breakfast . The small hand towels were stained.

There were only two thin pillows on the double bed and they looked dirty too. The room contained nothing of comfort for the visitor. There were no sockets to charge the phone or camera. Nope, not a single socket anywhere.

The view was to the main street and there was a street light outside so curtains and window had to be shut at night. I would like to have been able to report that the room had some basics but I'm afraid it was lacking those even.

During our stay in the expensive city we noted other hotels with the same stars and was left wondering how on earth the Hotel De Paris managed to get any at all.

My advice to anyone considering a budget stay in Paris is certainly avoid this hotel. It is disgusting hotel, overpriced and offering nothing more than a bed - literally.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

We've stayed here 3 nights. Have a small room towards very quiet back yard. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and English speaking. Breakfasts were OK, but not great. Best thing about this Hotel is the location in the quiet street very close to Metro and old city of Montmartre. If you book this hotel make sure you ask for bigger room. They have room to the back yard cca 3x3m - very small bed as well, and room to the street (quiet, no worries) which is double size.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Paris Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Paris Montmartre

Address: 17 rue Biot, 75017 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Batignolles-Monceau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,240 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Paris Montmartre 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Paris Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Paris Montmartre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.