We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price at all” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St Christopher's Canal Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added St Christopher's Canal Paris to your Saves list
St Christopher's Canal Paris
159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France (Buttes Chaumont / La Villette)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Johor Bahru
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not worth the price at all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We booked a private double bed room with shared bathroom for about EUR 90 per night. The room was stuffy and dusty, the pillow was very uncomfortable, basically it was just a small bag filled with some cotton wool. We couldn't sleep well as the hostel is located next to the busy road hence it was very noisy whole night. There are only two bathrooms to serve the entire floor. The toilet cleaner was rude, while I was halfway --- in the toilet cubicle, the cleaner kept knocking the door asking me to get out just because she wanted to mop the floor. The breakfast is very basic and do not expect much - very hard french bread, cereal, juice and coffee. You are lucky if you can get a seat at the cafe in the morning. Nothing fantastic about the hostel location as well, it is far from the city area. Overall, the 3D2N stay was not relaxing and pleasant. I will not recommend this place to anyone, as you can stay in a better hotel with this kind of pricing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    320
    115
    40
    30
See reviews for
13
76
267
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I stayed at St. Christopher's and the location is really not that bad. The problem is that the metro stops at each station so it takes a bit longer to get there, but if you know how to use a metro system you should be fine. The bathrooms were clean, the rooms were clean, the breakfast was decent. I really had no problems with this hostel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is probably the best hostel I've ever been in my life, and I have visited quite a lot. This is the second time I visit this property and I will come back again!!

Good points:
-Proximity to the subway station, proximty to Gare du Nord.
-Amazing view on the canal (come on, which hotel can offer you this view with less than 300 euros per night?)
-Clean
-Free (but basic) Breakfast
-Amazing beds: they have their curtain and their individual light, making it more private (it works!)
-interesting people to meet
-free wifi
-multilingual and helpful stuff

Bad points:
-it is always sooo busy and the front desk (although they are nice people and helpful) they do not really care to eliminate the queues.
-Only one bathroom per sex per floor (which is not bad for me but other people may have issues)
-Although the property is clean, there is always space for improvement
-Breakfast could be richer.... considering the fact that so many people eat there. They could offer butter for example, it is not an extravaganza!
-Although location is convenient is not city centre but that is not an issue for me at all.

To sum up, if you are backpackers, go there asap!
-

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hostel has some great room amenities (bed curtains, personal outlets, etc.) However, it was not designed for those who sleep lightly. Everything makes a loud noise, the bathrooms are inadequately ventilated. The location also leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I had a sudden change of plans and had to find a room near the Gard du Nord, St Christopher's came up.

The good: Huge room for six people. There was a table, chairs, and a wash basin in the room. Room quite clean. Sheets already on the bed. Bed also good sized. Privacy curtain in front of bed. Own socket and lamp. Huge wire cage under bottom bed for storage. Big windows. Nice roommates.

The bad: Big city indifferent staff. Only two bathrooms for 40 people on one floor. Shower had no curtain, so, if not careful, can spray water over the entire bathroom when showering. Very sketchy neighborhood (I had to walk it late at night and very early in the morning! Really scare-wee! ) The cage-like lockers needed BIG locks, which I didn't have.

Conclusions: I stayed less than 6 hours, so my conclusions arise from just a limited stay. This hostel is convenient for the Gard du Nord and Gard de l"Est train stations (two stops on the metro Line 7), if one had to catch a train from those stations or take the RER B train to Charles de Gaulle Airport. It's relatively inexpensive for Paris lodgings. For what little sleep I got, I slept quite well. If it weren't for the large room and the cleanliness, this would easily qualify as the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. It's a very large hostel (300 beds) so it's always a possibility for last-minute bookings, as in my case.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in June 2011. Nice room, clean and spacious with a sink. However the staff are too busy with their own social agenda to bother with good service. Always talking and messing around when there are lines of people. Also very rude at times. The linen was scratchy and the pillows weren't even pillows, but instead bags filled with cotton wool. The location is terrible, both in terms of distance from key sights and in socio economic terms! Would never walk around at night! Bathrooms dirty (poo on floor) and showers low pressure and require constant holding of a button for hot water. All in all a terrible waste of money.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

St. Christopher's is a great place. Very clean and tidy dorms, big secure cages for ur belongings but make sure you have a big lock...(but they do sell them there as well) The beds are super solid so you can't even notice other ppl getting in and out and are fitted with a neat little curtain so it's great to block out the light and as a changing room. fairly good location close to 2 different metro stops. Has the usual big euro hostel vibe to it, ppl are there to party and site-see and it can be hit and miss with who you meet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Christopher's Canal Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's Canal Paris

Address: 159 Rue Crimee | 68-74 Quai de la Seine, 75019 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Buttes Chaumont / La Villette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking a scenic canal, St Christopher's Inn Paris is a purpose built hostel - only two stops away from Montmartre and the Gare du Nord Eurostar station – on the Paris Metro. We're proud to be one of the most modern Backpacker Hostels in Paris with the best tours, packages and facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St Christopher's Canal Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Christopher`s Paris Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Christopher's Canal Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.