We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time here, would come back for a third!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert" to your Saves list
Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Rue Maitre Albert, 75005 Paris, France (Panthéon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #624 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Largs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Second time here, would come back for a third!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for the second time and just as pleased with the place as I was first time round.

Again, highlights are the location (5 minutes from Notre Dame, 10 minutes from Notre Dame-St Michel Station and trains from CDG, literally round the corner from the many eateries and trendy bars of Blvd Saint Germain), excellent value for money and the cleanliness and homeliness of the place; the rooms are wee but nicely decorated and modern.

The bathrooms seem to vary from room to room – this time I had a shower/wetroom and WC that had no door… Well, the shower had a frosted glass door but the shower wall was clear glass. So the bathrooms are definitely quirky. One complaint was that the a/c wasn’t working and having the window open didn’t make much of a difference (despite being in the middle of the Latin Quarter it’s on a quiet side-street, so noise isn’t an issue).

No WiFi but there is a PC in the lobby which you can use to connect to the internet. One thing I didn’t notice but the folks I was with commented on was the lack of tea/coffee facilities in the room. But for the price your paying for the location, go and buy one at the café along the road and watch Paris go by…

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    99
    27
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
114
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights. It is situated on the left bank in a very inviting corner of Paris. You can see Notre Dame from the front door! The room was small but adequate and modern in design. I traveled to Paris once before a few years ago and stayed in Montmatre...I liked this location better. There are good cafes nearby and well as access to the metro. We walked a lot and this hotel situated in easy distance to most sites.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I agree with every positive comment here, but there ia an ashtray in the room and the hall smells badly of smoke (our room is ok). Can't turn on the ac because smoke wafts in and can't leave the window open because there are hungry mosquitos. I found out the hard way the first night.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on our Parisian getaway. It is about as good as you can get for a hotel in Paris in this price range. Great value and great location. The room we had was well-maintained and insulated. While not terribly expansive in size, it was reasonable by Parisian standards and came with a well-appointed bathroom. There was a welcoming lobby downstairs, with plenty of chairs and couches (and reference books), though we never really availed ourselves of the resources. This hotel is a great base of visitors to explore the Left Bank and the Ile de la Cite. We didn't try the breakfast - though do note it wasn't served one morning we were there. Those staying at the hotel tended to be Anglophone tourists, and it seems particularly popular with Americans (as our friendly concierge told us).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle West, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We really liked this hotel and our modern room and bathroom. Yes, it is trendy and the shower was so interesting that we managed to flood the bathroom floor one morning. The room was not huge but we did manage even with two great lumping suitcases. We didn't try the breakfast as we thought we could do better elsewhere. We had a lovely dinner at the Guy Savoy restaurant 'L'Atelier Maitre Albert' at the end of the street and also enjoyed dinners around the corner at a little place called 'Le Comptoir du 5eme' and had another quite good meal nearby at 'Au Phil du Vin'. Definitely recommend 'Le Comptoir'. The location was terrific as we were just near a Metro and also only a very short walk to the Seine and Notre Dame. The fabulous bookshop 'Shakespeare and Co' is about a 3 minute walk away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

You can't beat the location! About a 10 minute leisure walk from Notre-Dame. Old building, but modernized. Very contemporary decor, but very French. Breakfast is basic- to go "Bistrot La Grange" nearby instead. Had a room with two single beds. Bathrooms lack privacy. Room 54 isn't too bad for two people sharing who aren't a couple. Very clean. Comfy beds and duvet. No bedbugs! Lots of electrical outlets. Rooms are roomy enough and quiet. New TV. Small and personal hotel. Elevator has room for two, plus luggage. Staff were friendly and helpful. Cleaning staff were friendly too. I will definitely go back! If taking the RER from CDG airport, the hotel is a 15 to 20 minute walk to the St. Michel RER access in front of Notre-Dame. Book early for best rates.

Room Tip: Room 51 (5th floor) has view of Notre-Dame but very open concept, including washroom area. Room 54 h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as a treat for his birthday. It is a beautiful little hotel, very tastefully designed and decorated, and immaculately clean and well maintained. However, I wish that the people who had designed the rooms had also tried to stay in them for a couple of days before settling on the use of space.

It's perfect if you roll up, travelling light. The ideal occupants for this hotel would swan in with a tiny fabric bag, put their ipod (not iphone, mind) into the enormous ipod dock, empty a few light clothes into the wardrobe, put their toothbrush and a couple of toiletries on the narrow shelf and then, bag deflated to nothing, shove it into the bottom of the wardrobe. These ideal hipsters won't need to maximize their time in Paris, having seen it all before, so in the morning they can take a leisurely bath in the spectacular jacuzzi, complete with it's own light show (yes, really!). Wandering down to breakfast they're not the sort of people who really care for eating so the measly if pleasant breakfast will give them what they need. They'll also enjoy the slightly sarcastic and sneering tone of the receptionist. Afterall, she says it all with a smile and good manners are for the normals.

However, since we're NOT a pair of too cool for school fashionistas our experience went a bit like this: struggled through the door with a medium sized but hard-sided suitcase. Put it onto the suitcase rack but keep knocking it on the floor since there was so little room between it and the bed. Marvel at the loveliness of the room. Try to unpack. Wardrobe big enough for a weekend's worth of clothes but the tiny shelf nowhere near big enough for cleanser, moisturiser, toothbrushes, toothpaste, deoderant etc. There's a rack over the bath but the toiletries won't stand up in it since their too small. Toilet in a space identical in size to the wardrobe, complete with identical frosted screen door, a bit like a shower screen: no latch, lock or closure of any kind. Husband says it's the smallest toilet in the world (and he's visited most of them so I trust his point of view). Big folks take note: if you got in you may never come out! Thank god we've been married for years and aren't trying to impress eachother, otherwise it could get tense! Wash hands but drip across the room to the towel rail on the other side of the bath. Look for somewhere to hang a hand towel so it's near the basin. Have to use my own trusty suction hook which clings reassuringly to the glass wall. The rest of you, however, are on your own: the hook stays with me. Plug phones in to charge (lots of sockets!) but have to move enormous behmoth of an ipod dock from bedside shelf onto the floor to accomodate books, water, clock, tissues etc. Damn me and my human needs.

Go out for lovely meal. Return at midnight and lay awake until 4.45am listening to very loud party in the apartment across the street. If only I was cool enough to really appreciate this place I might have been invited, so whose fault is it?

Next morning bravely get up early so that we can make the most of a sunny day in Paris. Try to work out how to keep the plug in the bath and work the tiny handheld shower. Douse the curtains and half my belongings in the struggle. Finally fill the bath and gaze in wonder at the bubbles and changing colours. Groovy!

Dash down to breakfast. The waitress is lovely but there's not much on offer. Decide to eat out tomorrow (11 euros each can get a better breakfast elsewhere). Decide, too, to either get with the program or stay somewhere else next time.

As I've said, it's a gorgeous hotel but, even for two nights, the frustrations of trying to do those things that most of us need to do between coming in at night and going out in the morning took the shine off the place. And afterall, what's a hotel really for?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert"

Address: 19 Rue Maitre Albert, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Panthéon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #624 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert" 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Notre Dame "Maitre Albert", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.