We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Au Sourire de Montmartre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Au Sourire de Montmartre
Save
You added Au Sourire de Montmartre to your Saves list
64 rue Mont Cenis, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 132 Paris B&B and Inns
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
“In the heart of Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We warmly recommend to stay in this beautiful B&B. Le sourire de Montmartre is in the heart of Paris but still in a quiet area. Metro, good restaurants and the beautiful area of Sacré Coeur is just around the corner. The host is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. Just the right place for a perfect holiday in Paris. Great rooms, great host, great service, great area. Perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    69
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
164
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was travelling alone and had the Lautrec room (ground floor) to myself for 2 nights -everything in the room was perfect, very cosy and clean, and beautifully furnished and lit, and an apple mac to play with! The bed was very comfy.
Ilhame is a wonderful host, very warm and friendly and so helpful and produced the most incredible breakfast, in a most beautiful room, at the top of the house. Sammy greated me on arrival and again so warm and welcoming.
Thank you Ilhame and Sammy and all -I will be back with hubby!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Returned to Paris with friends after a long absence. Staying at Sourire felt like being a local and coming home. This little cosy bed and breakfast is located on a quiet street within walking distance of Sacre Coeur but is absolutely off the tourist beaten track. The area appears to be trendy enough with plenty of bars and cafes, but not many shops. It's a bus or Metro ride to the main atractions but Paris public transport is comprehensive and totally bearable if you avoid rush hour traffic. Taxis too are not overly expensive (by Norwegian standards at least). 
It's not so easy to find the entrance to Sourire which is in a rather inconspicuous building, through a narrow hall and across a small and rather shabby courtyard. But inside it's white and clean, decorated with North African lamps and arifacts. 
Now, the bedrooms are small... But that is the case with most budget Paris accommodation. I shared a twin room with a friend and our single beds were the narrowest I had ever slept in. Mine was covered with what felt like a king size duvet, which rather got in the way, but I slept well enough. The room was a bit cramped, but we spent little time there so it didn't matter much. It was wonderfully clean. There was a beautiful old wardrobe and in each room a brand new Apple computer.  I loved the contrast between old and new. The bathroom was compact (tiny:), but tastefully renovated.
There is no view, other than the windows of the apartments across the courtyard, which you feel you could almost touch, but that is the real Paris. 
A friend stayed in a double room which was charming and plenty roomy. 
But the best thing about Sourire was the delightful and comfortable breakfast and day room at the top of the house, and the perfect breakfast. Fresh croissants and bread, home made jams, eggs, and yoghurt were just what we needed to set us up for a day's art appreciation, sight seeing and shopping. The owner could not have been sweeter. We felt less like guests staying at rented accommodation and more like friends staying in a private home. 
All in all, value for money and to be recommended. Paris is at its best when it's as authentic as this. 

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights and we were so sorry to leave. We were warmly greeted by Ilhame, and shown to the lovely and peaceful Zen room. The room lived up to it's name; tranquil and spotlessly clean, we found it the perfect retreat. We both loved the drenching shower. We enjoyed watching the Olympics upstairs with Ilhame's brother Sammie, and meeting fellow travelers at the superb breakfast laid out so generously every morning. The location couldn't be better; a left out of the front door takes you straight up to Sacre Cour and past one of the best restaurants, "Les Coins des Amis", a right puts you in transport heaven with Metro, buses or taxis to get you all over Paris. We used buses on this trip, and found the IMac in the room invaluable for plannig journeys. We love the Montmartre area and Au Sorire de Montmartre is the perfect place in Paris!

Room Tip: We loved the Zen room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourireDeMontmartre, Manager at Au Sourire de Montmartre, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks Paul for your nice review. Congratulation to the UK team, who did great at the Olympics, for sure, even if you were in France at that time! And thanks for noticing the Zen room shower... My father and Patrice did it, in the real traditional Morocan way (Tadelkat) that you can find in berautiful Riads in Marrakech. It's pleasure to see guest enjoying it, as it's unique. Looking forward to welcomign you again. Ilhame.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Such a warm, welcoming little B&B situated on the north side of Montmartre over La Butte from Sacre Coeur. It is also very handy for great buses that will whisk you down into the city as well as up over the hill into the southern side of Montmartre (the Montmartobus). Ilhame is the perfect hostess - she manages to always have a smile on her face. Also a special mention to Sami, who sat and watched late-night Olympics with us in the charming top-floor living room which also serves as the breakfast room.

We stayed in the Zen room and I could have LIVED in the shower room! It had one of those fantastic 'drencher' showers which served as the perfect remedy to a day out in the hot sunshine and dusty streets.

Breakfast is generous and really sets you up for the day.

I cannot really fault my stay at 'Au Sourire' and look forward to my next visit. My only worry is that my rather gushing review will attract so many enquiries that my wife and I won't be able to get a room next time!

Merci beaucoup Ilhame, Sami, Patrice, Anna and Juliette!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually designed and modeled. I didn't see any but our own - The Zen Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne vic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Loved this B&B!

Booking was easy and so were the instructions about how to get to it from the metro, no need to take a cab.

We had arrived super early way before check in and Illahme was there to greet us. What a welcome, she made us feel so comfortable and showed us a map around Paris and Montmartre. A very genuine person running a gorgeous B&B.

The Zen room was lovely and the bathroom looked like it was part of a Moroccan riad. So beautiful. There are French doors that open up to a courtyard shared with French residents from some other apartments. I felt like a local, hearing the chatterings of the residents whilst I used the Mac computer and free wifi that come with the room. Yes they have Macs in your room!!!

Le petite dejuener was wonderful!! I still crave those buttery croissants and pain au chocolat with my coffee and fruit.

I'm staying in a very expensive hotel at the moment and miss the value, warmth and absolute
deliciousness that Au Sourire De Montmartre provides. So if you like a little luxury at a fraction of the cost stay here as Illahme and Sammy (her brother) are absolute stars.

Room Tip: The zen room looks small on the website but is absolutely gorgeous the photos don't it it justic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We loved this B&B and felt that Illhame couldn't do enough for us- she was kind, enthusiastic and helpful. We stayed in the Josephine room which was delightful. The bed was really comfortable and a good size and the great big bathtub in the room was a unique and luxurious aspect to it.

Breakfast was a treat each morning with a variety of jams, croissants, baguette, fruit, yoghurt, cake and croque monsieur on tap! It set us up completely for a day of sightseeing and allowed us to discuss any questions about how to get around etc. with the owner and other guests.

It was quiet at night as it was set back through a courtyard and meant that we could keep the french windows open and still feel very secure. The one downside was initially finding our way into the building, but with a bit more pre-arrangement with Illhame, this wouldn't have been a problem (our fault, really!).

Without a doubt, we would recommend Au Sourire very highly and if we return to Paris will definitely stay again.

Thank you Illhame!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Au Sourire de Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Sourire de Montmartre

Address: 64 rue Mont Cenis, 75018 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ilhame's Bed and Breakfast, on the doorstep of “Amelie Poulain’s” Montmartre. If you are looking for an authentic Parisian experience, and want to feel "at home in Paris", this is the place to stay!You can choose from a selection of five luxury B&B rooms with their own "en-suite" bathroom. Each bedroom has been tastefully decorated, all with their authentic and unique style. Influences from our French and Morocan origins can easily be recognized around the Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Au Sourire De Montmartre Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Sourire de Montmartre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.