We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming hotel with attractive rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Fabe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Fabe Hotel to your Saves list
Le Fabe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113 bis, Rue de l'Ouest, 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #41 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A charming hotel with attractive rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived not far short of midnight at Le Fabe and the night porter was extremely charming, helping us with our bags and offering us drinks. The room itself was the gound floor room "Ephemere" (a "cosy" room), which was disabled adapted (although this was done in such a way that it didn't detract from the charm of the room). The room was spacious, clean and decorated to a high standard in a modern style.

I've stayed in several hotels in Paris at around this price point and this hotel was by far the best in terms of room size, decor, and service.

It is extremely convenient for Montparnasse station.

Room Tip: The ground floor room "Ephemere" is large (for Paris), has wide doors, a handle by the toi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    217
    29
    7
    1
See reviews for
37
575
33
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the MonaLisa room on the top floor. Upsides - reasonable sized room for Paris at a reasonable rate, clean, modern and good shower. Downsides, poor wifi that kept coming and going, lift next to the room so noisy with guests leaving early, pretty threadbare towels. That said, on balance the hotel was a good deal. Be prepared to be a little far out. The website quotes 10 min walk from Montparnasse Bienvenue, but it is longer than that in 30 degree plus heat. InLondon we'd refer to it as an up and coming area! For restaurants, there is a reasonable but not excellent choice. Our favourite was l'entrepot which is also a cinema and music venue. Previously I have stayed in L'Apostrophe much closer to the Montparnasse area, and though more expensive it seemed the better deal to me.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We returned to Paris in July and spent a week at Le Fabe. Booked the same room - Mona Lisa. Were greeted outside upon our arrival by Alex who promptly carted our bags up to the room. Throughout our visit, the staff provided exceptional service. They left no detail unattended. We will continue to stay at Le Fabe every time we visit Paris.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The high ranking influenced our decision to stay here but after 20 minutes I started to wonder how did this place achieved such a high ranking amongst so many hotels Paris?
I will start with the positives....This Hotel has friendly/helpful staff (it's slickly operated), the rooms are clean and decorated in a postmodern fashion, the breakfast is adequate for a French hotel and the wireless functions ok.
Now for the negatives...On arrival we were offered drinks and asked to sign a document then told the Hotel air conditioning had BROKEN DOWN. I knew the next couple of days the weather was really warming up so I asked when will it be fixed?
I was given a vague reply "I'm not sure" so the next morning (after hearing someone else complain) I asked again and the same vague reply. So I stated if it wasn't fixed by the end of the day we would be checking out. We returned early evening and it was working! That was good but why did it need me to do that?
A hotel without A/C is not a good hotel. Right?
The next issue is the bed, after 6 nights it wasn't Le Fabe my wife renamed to LE SLAB!
By the end I had shoulder and back pain I was contemplating the carpet at one stage because sleep was hard to get when you have explosions going off EVERY night till 3am.
Yup from 8pm to 3am across the street kids were letting off fireworks, the ones that sound like a laser guided bomb going off.
I along with other guests asked about the explosions and we were told it was related to Bastille Day. But the residents didn't seem to know it finished the day before because they were still going off.
Then there was the seaweed "DO ALL" soap/shampoo. It's made from seaweed and it smelt like it to.
Minor point is the towels...get some new ones. These ones are wasted.
Then there is the location, you are going to have to get savvy with the Metro to see the sights and going out at night could be risky in this area. I will leave it at that.
We got a good look at Paris over 6 days and there must be hotels I believe that are much better located and hopefully with better beds.

Room Tip: Ask if the A/C is working before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabry18, Responsable réception at Le Fabe Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Bonjour Monsieur Baptistbeach,

Firstly, let me thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on our establishment.

I am very sorry to read you didn’t enjoy your stay at Le Fabe Hotel during your Parisian journey.

You mentioned the air conditioning was out of order, which was right on your arrival day but in your comment, we feel it was OOO for your entire journey when it was broken one day only since it was fixed the next morning (less than 24 hours); moreover, you have forgotten to mention you got a discount with free breakfasts because of that issue. You are meaning in your comment our hotel is not a good hotel because we it didn’t have a working A/C and we couldn’t know exactly when it would be fixed. I replied we will do everything possible to make it work as soon as we can, which is not the same vague reply “I’m not sure” and as already written, it was fixed the day you asked, which was, I should mention again, your first day when you stayed six. Technical issues happen in every single hotel in the world, now, we were pretty happy and proud it could be fixed it that soon when you think it was already too long.

As far as the fireworks and firecrackers are concerned, we are deeply sorry for this noise inconvenience but there is nothing we can do about it. Children are playing with them a week before the Bastille day and stop after it which was your departure day. We do apologize for this matter but it would be the same in the entire country.

Concerning the towels, we have, like the big majority of hotels in Paris, a contract with the famous “Initial” laundry company. We send the used towels and sheets and get delivered some clean ones. We are once more sorry if you think they were bad quality but they are the regular quality of 3 stars hotels in general.

Now, the beds which, according to you, were hard as stone, one more time, we are sorry you didn’t like them but the huge majority of our guests love the type of beds we have chosen but bed type is like colors, we cannot please everyone, it is a matter of choice, some people love soft mattresses, some love them very hard, some others medium hard, etc etc.

As for our location, we do not hide at all, our exact position in Paris is mentioned in every single website we work with. We are situated in the south of Paris in a very typical Parisian area not close to the main tourist sights but this is a choice. We didn’t not want to be in a touristy area. We are proposing our guests a real taste of the Parisian life, moreover, the prices of hotel rooms in the center or the touristy areas are absolutely not the same. We try to propose one of the best quality/price rate of Paris in three stars hotels. And I confirm what you were writing, there is plenty of better hotel with better location, there is 3, 4 stars, 5 stars and palaces whose rates can easily reach the 200-300 € up to 1000 € a night.

Once again, we are really truly sorry you didn’t spend a good time in our place but according to what I read, it seems that a 4 star hotel would have fit your expectations better.

Feel free to contact us if you wish to discuss about our reply.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I had traveled from Australia and enjoyed my 1 night stay at Le Fabe. I would certainly stay again on my return to Paris. The surrounding local area was suitable for walking and exploring. Lovely breakfast, friendly & helpful staff and modern fun decor.

Room Tip: compact but welcoming
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T-A
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at "Le Fabe" for 2 nights.
The room's size was good comparing to other parisians hotels. It included everything necessary for our stay, a safe an a mini-bar. The Air condition is very good. The bed comfortable.
The decor is very nice and fresh.
The breakfast buffet is very good.
The staff wad extremely friendly and helpful.
There is a sauna and a small business room with a computer. Wifi free of charge.
We love the location - in a residential neighborhood, close to the Metro and to Raymond Losserand street with shops and restaurants.
Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Room cleanness 10/10
Room spaciousness (cat. cosy room) 5/10
Room opionals 10/10 (safe, minibar, air conditioning, sat TV, wi-fi, all free of charge)
Furnishing 10/10
Bathroom cleanness 10/10
Bathroom spaciousness 10/10
Quietness 7/10 (some slam from the doors outside, no soundproof windows but on the whole good sleeping)
Common spaces 9/10
Staff (reception, friendliness, assistance, etc.) 10/10
Breakfast 8/10
Location 8/10 (nearest metro station at 300 m, Air France Bus stop at 700 m, Gare de Montparnasse with four metro lines at 1 Km)
Quality/price ratio: excellent

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Fabe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Fabe Hotel

Address: 113 bis, Rue de l'Ouest, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#52 Business Hotel in Paris
#124 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Fabe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel with a contemporary design, bright colours and warm atmosphere !!! Our 17 brand new guest rooms with evocative names: Mona Lisa, Rugiada, French Romance... Will help you make your stay unforgettable. Impeccable service, a refined atmosphere and "Zen attitude" prevail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Fabe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Fabe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Fabe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.