We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Paris Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Select Montparnasse

Le Select Montparnasse
99 Bd Montparnasse, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)
0145483824
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,472 of 13,368 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Bar, Brasserie, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Luxembourg
Fairfield, Iowa, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Paris Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

It was a late Sunday night when we showed up. Service was good, Food was good. Waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. It seemed like a more personable place than the other big 3 around the neighborhood. The salmon and the beef were outstanding.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    59
    19
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Aperitifs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I spent a pleasant hour and a half there before our dinner at Le Relais de L'Entrecote. I had Kir Bourgogne and my hubs had a Paris Manhattan and then switched to wine. No pressure from our waiter for us to hurry up and finish our drinks and vacate our table either. Another great place to settle in and people watch!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Mingling with the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We found this area of the city pleasantly free of tourists, and went in here for a light lunch more or less by chance, despite a somewhat disparaging review in one of the better known guidebooks. The place has a feeling of history about it, a bit of an art deco atmosphere and is probably not much changed over the decades. We were surrounded by French speaking tables, and by some more eccentric locals busily proofreading some new masterpiece or writing a review or something. Anyway all very absorbing and a bit different. The assiette de charcuterie, a salad and half a bottle of wine were just what we wanted in the middle of the day, all nicely presented. This is not gastronomy, just a local light lunch the way they do it best in Paris

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“it was okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We decided to order the originals here, french onion soup and tuna nicoise. The french onion soup was nothing wonderful, the broth was very light in color, I like mine that deep rich beef color not chicken stock and the cheese was shredded and the consistency of queso fresco. I've had french onion here in the states better at diners. The salad was okay. Our server was very friendly and helpful

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Good for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Not wanting to eat in the hotel we chose this place for a bit of atmosphere in a French style and were not disappointed. Usual fare but it was nice to have have breakfast looking out over the Boulevard du Montparnasse.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Select Montparnasse also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Select Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Select Montparnasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.