We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average dining experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cheval de Troie

Le Cheval de Troie
71 rue de Charenton, 75012 Paris, France (Reuilly)
+33 1 43 44 24 44
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 50% *
Le Cheval de Troie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,365 of 13,398 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $24 - $31
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Reuilly
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average dining experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We read some good reviews about this place and thought we'd check it out. Upon arriving (without a reservation) we were placed at a table at the back of the restaurant near the kitchen and the owners 2 children. The table was cramped and uncomfortable. We ordered 2 main courses: a braised lamb shank and a lamb kebab. The food arrived almost instantly. The lamb shank was moist and well cooked but it was extremely bland. Little flavour. The lamb kebab was slightly better bit again very bland. At its best, middle Eastern food is tasty and well spiced. This food falls well short of that standard. Overall, not great, not terrible.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were charmed by this Turkish restaurant between the Bastille Opera and the Gare de Lyon. One of the best options was the simple grilled lamb shish kebab. The service was extravagantly friendly and generous--not something one always expects in Paris.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food and an extensive menu, the walls are richly decorated and it has a great atmosphere. The music they play is turkish which gives it an ambience and the décor is also Turkish, the food I had was really tasty BUT be warned the puddings are ridiculously overpriced. ?6.50 for four small pieces of Turkish delight ?8.50 for three small peices of (although delicious) baklava. Don't make the same mistake as me and order the desserts, wait until they bring you complementary fresh fruit, sweets with the bill and Turkish delight on the way out. All in all it's a lovely restaurant with fabulous owners, just DON'T order the deserts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional find for us!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Of course we all go to Paris for French food but even their menus can become a bit tiresome if you are there for some time. We found an exceptional Turkish restaurant near the Bastille Opera with great charm - great food - big, big menu - very charming owner - a virtual tour of interesting dishes that we did not know and flavours of exotic lands!
We cannot say enough good things about this place! It will always be on our list in future visits to Paris because of its exceptional attention to detail and freshness! I wish we had taken pictures of their great plates!! What an experience!!

A MUST PLACE TO EAT IN PARIS!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legnano, Italy
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good food at reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I had dinner at this tiny but cosy restaurant on September 5th. I had the menu of 22 €, with an appetizer ( a very tasty hummus, I really liked it!), a main course ( a delicious aubergine stuffed with salty cheese and tomatoes, with salad and rice.
To finish a tasty dessert like balaclava and a cinnamon tea. Everything was very good and tasty ( not to forget Turkish bread), the service was quick, staff very friendly. The only little negative point: I had a Turkish beer but I had a surprise (€5.50), I should have sticker with water! This said, it's really a great place to dine if you like Turkish food. Thumbs up!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cheval de Troie also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Cheval de Troie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cheval de Troie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.