We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with relaxed, friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Colimacon

Le Colimacon
44 rue Vieille Du temple | Le MARAIS, 75004 Paris, France (Le Marais)
0627180807
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
Le Colimacon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #364 of 13,308 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $34 - $86
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Description: In the heart of the Marais District in the historical area the Colimaçon is a typical french and Parisian restaurant. Traditional french cuisine is serving in a nice and cosy atmosphere only 40 seats with air conditioning.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food with relaxed, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel and were definitely not disappointed. The waiter was extremely welcoming and friendly taking time out to explain all the menu as we weren't great at translating! He also recommended a great wine which went perfectly with our meals.

Food was great with steak cooked perfectly (and it was medium despite other reviews). Dessert was amazing, don't know how strawberries and cornflakes can taste that good!

Would definitely recommend this restaurant and will go back on he next paris visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    130
    34
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Le Marais dining: high level, reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

With only six opportunities to savor dinners in Paris, it never crossed our minds that we'd REPEAT a restaurant. That's how good Le Colimacon is! (In fact, all the eateries suggested by our nearby hotel, Le Bretonerie, were so satisfying that we never left Le Marais except for Bertillon's ice cream.)

The menu was full of original, tempting entrees, but the standout: Pithieuees de Filet de Boeuf au Foie Gras, a mind-blowingly luscious and rich feast. Also enjoyed the owner's wine choice: Saint Joseph Fagotes. If possible, asked to be seated at the (only) window table on the second floor, and ask the staff for the history of whose house you can look into across the street.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible place for people from other countries”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a terrible place for people from other countries. We received the menu when we arrived and had to wait 30 min for the waitress. While we were waiting we noticed that she was very worried with clients in other tables, serving wine and asking if everything was ok, but we were invisible. We tried to call her a couple of times, with no luck. We gave up after 30 minutes, because we didn´t want to pay for an expensive dinner and being ignored. When we were leaving the chef came to talk with us, we explained the situation and he asked if we would like to stay. When we said no, he shouted, while we were leaving - THIS IS NOT A SNACK!
Of course not. I would receive a better treatment at Mc Donalds.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“always worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

All the trips we made to Paris, we always go here for a nice dinner. The decor and staff might change over the years but it is always nice to stop here for a great dinner. Great value! And contrary to the previous review...the staff does not undervalue English speaking guests. They will service you just as anyone else and the food is great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Thanks but no thanks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Friends who recently went to this place told us they gagged at the tourist treatment they got, which has happened to us as well: The moment they hear you speaking English, watch out. You'll get the well done meager steak when you clearly asked for rare, in French no less (the owner will agree that’s “the best cooking” then have the nerve to serve a well-done, thin slice of beef - We sent it back, as did our friends). The foie gras in the “hamburger” starter sandwich was thin (our friends’ was not only thin, but at the end of the meal, too late, they noticed that the party at the next table who’d ordered the same thing, had a piece of foie gras three times thicker than theirs and felt cheated). If you complain, they’ll ask why you hadn’t said anything before? Don’t order anything with truffle oil - there won’t be a drop, and the owner will turn it into a joke (“I guess the cook forgot!”) but the bill will be the same. Had we known they were planning to go to Le Colimacon, we would have told them not to bother.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Colimacon also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Colimacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Colimacon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.