We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Indian Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Maharajah

Le Maharajah
72 Boulevard de Saint Germain, 75005 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)
+33 1 43 54 26 07
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 50% when you reserve online *
Le Maharajah is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,282 of 13,133 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Description: Le Maharajah restaurant in the heart of Paris’ Left Bank proudly claims its place as the first Indian restaurant in the capital, and it’s still delighting clients from all over town. The atmosphere is magical, exotic. With spotlit alcoves for Indian portraits, hand-carved chairs, pink table linens, and everywhere the heightened décor, colours and aromas of the subcontinent, Le Maharajah brings India to France. The menu focuses on North Indian cuisine: the specialty of the house is lamb curry with aubergines which you should have with the cheese naans. Well-chosen wines and careful service make this a local favourite.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

food was excellent. 10 by 10
value for money is 7 out of 10. Expensive
Ambience 7 out of 10

Accesibility 9 out of 10

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    13
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Acceptable Food - Awful Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This restaurant royally messed up our order, somehow running out of rice during lunch! They over charged us (on two items, we only caught one), brought double of two of the dishes, and the maître d kept interrupting our conversation to tell us about his personal problems. I really can't recommend this place at all.

That being said, if you are in Paris and need a fix of hot food, they'll actually make hot food at this establishment. It can be hard to find actually spicy food in France, and the food at this place can be ordered with some heat in it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible service but okish food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We found this restaurant after searching the trip advisors city guide app and also was recommended by our hotel receptionist. As other reviews here says, the hotel owner/staff doesn't know what service means. Not very clean also! We had to ask for water like 10 times (literally) before we got it and that wasn't looking clean also.

The food came in little late but was ok in taste (Considering we are in france). There was 1 guy that looked like a student working there, who really wanted to serve everybody right and that was the only person i think knew what he was doing.

The owner and his daughter were just running around doing whatever they liked and everybody just kept wondering whats going on. Even though food is ok i still won't go back there (Hey! i am on vacation). I am sure i can find better indian place if i just searched a little more.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Standard Indian Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Fresh and tasty Indian food with good beer, good service and pleasant atmosphere. We'd eat here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kastrup
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant in the world!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Old and cold food. Bad and rude service. There was one hour waiting time, and you would have to ask for basic things like cutlery and napkins 4 times before you got it. They messed up our orders and they was very rude. They food reminded me of dog food except a dog would not eat it. I would rather go on Mcdonalds and I hate Mcdonalds!!! Never have I ever tasted such bad food or been treated so badly by both the owner and servants. Don't go there unless you want to throw up!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Maharajah also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Maharajah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Maharajah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.