We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint eatery hidden away!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez la Vieille

Chez la Vieille
1,rue Bailleul, Paris, France
01 42 60 15 78
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Chez la Vieille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,308 of 12,477 restaurants in Paris
Price range: $31 - $63
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint eatery hidden away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stumbled upon this small quaint French restaurant as it was close to our hotel.

The waiters were friendly (my faith in Parisian waiters has been restored during this trip to Paris). The menu was written on a blackboard and had about 5 choices for each course and a special. The waiter was patient to translate it to English.

The food was to a high standard and the nicely presented. Reasonable price for the quality.

I would certainly return to this restaurant in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    42
    28
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great find-Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Terrific in every sense of the word. We sat upstairs in small room on the second floor. They offered about 5 apps and 6 entrees off a chalk board and that is it. If you like the choices, the food was wonderful. Started with marinated mackerel and soup. Had Quail stuffed with Foie gras and Sole. Scuffle to finish it with cheese plate. Service was great and very friendly!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Small, beautiful restaurant with incredible and imaginative food. The two waiters were very friendly, attentive, and spoke great English. We had the terrains of the day (chicken and fois gras) a raw mackerel dish, sole, and a sea bass. All delicious and perfectly prepared. For dessert, we had the soufflé of the day and a chocolate tart with caramel ice cream. We will definitely go back next trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Affordable decadence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had the 22 Euro 3-course lunch special with the most tender and tasty pork medallion as a main and a chocolate torte with caramel ice cream that was heavenly. I wasn't as big a fan of the quenelles de crab but it was a texture issue for me. Overall, great value, excellent service and superb food after a visit to the Louvre.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tiny treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you can squeeze in , this is a fab place and the food is superb. Make sure you can squeeze out again though!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez la Vieille also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez la Vieille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez la Vieille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.