We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Mauvais Garcons

Les Mauvais Garcons
4,rue des mauvais garcons, 75004 Paris, France (Le Marais)
01 42 72 74 97
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Les Mauvais Garcons is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5,019 of 13,133 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Carugate
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Cosy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

A tiny, elegant restaurant located a few steps from Rue de Rivoli and Hotel de Ville, with an unpresuming atmosphere of a cozy parisienne maison. French cuisine of a good level, with some dishes of lyonnese influence, right served, right priced. A good alternative, at a higher level, to many traps for tourists in the neighboroughs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    49
    15
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Good food that is well priced...service drama”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

stumbled across this restaurant while walking....nice prix fixe menu with well prepared food. space is pleasant but fairly basic. service was just average...some kind of drama with the sole waiter who was consoling a tearful girl who was visiting...it took forever to receive a menu, wine, etc as did the rest of the tables

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most romantic place in Paris with the best cuisine!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want THE romantic place to capture the essence of France, without the usual neglect that accompanies every tourist; this is it!
Walking through the small streets of Le Marais, I and the boyfriend, stumbled upon this small restaurant and what a great find it was. Lured by the warm and cozy candle-lit atmosphere, we were welcomed by the enticing aromas of the classical Lyonnaise cuisine as soon as we opened the door. We knew we were in the right place. The staff was very friendly and the owner, Riad (who had lived in NYC, where we come from), was super nice and shared his love of food with us. We started with the foie gras-ed eggs that was to die for. Main course was the dorade for him, so fresh that you could taste the mediterranean, and the duck for me, which was juicy and paired with the tangy sweetness of the cranberry sauce it was so tasty that made it orgasmic. For dessert we had the amazing St. Marcellin cheese from Lyon that was silky with a sweet-nutty finish (unfortunately, not found at the whole foods' isle). Here we forgot we were tourists and felt as if we had lived around the corner all our life. Thank you for an amazing experience Le Mauvais Garcons, and as Arnold said: I'll be back"!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but sub-par cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I really wanted to like this place. It is situated on a little street just off the rue Rivoli near the Hotel de Ville. The setting was hospitable, which is what drew us to try it. The staff was also very amiable. The food that we tried however was nothing special. I started with a salad Lyonnaise which I have had many times before, especially in Lyon. Here however it was completely covered with very fatty lardons (bacon). I was not able to eat it all. Then they brought out our main courses. My husband had ordered duck and I had ordered a chicken dish. Both were slices of meat that simply had sauce added. My boneless chicken breast however was over-cooked and very dry so I sent it back and had the duck instead which at least wasn't dry. The restaurant was small and did fill up and a number of people seemed to be favoring the cheeseburger so perhaps that would be a better choice and at least the fries appeared to be hand-cut which is difficult to find in Paris anymore. I did like the atmosphere so if that is important by all means give it a try yourself.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
studio city
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“what a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

we don't live in the neighborhood but find ourselves at BHV often (i'm sure anyone who lives here can relate. bricolage?) we have passed by this restaurant many times and even though the posted menu always looked good, the restaurant was always full and we don't plan ahead... today (sunday!) we were lucky. the tables were all filled but we walked in for lunch just as a table was leaving. the food, the service (with our fractured french), the ambience, all perfect. we both really enjoyed our meals. my husband took the menu (onion gratinee, duck medallions, yummy, cheesy potatoes and a veg.... leeks in lots of butter!) i had two entrees (onion gratinee and salad of chevre chaud in a crazy puff pastry). we shared a pot of rose ... and his tiramisu (really wonderful tiramisu. different, in a pot, with a hint of nutty, caramel?) 60 euros. a steal! we will definitely be back. there are several dishes that others were eating that we want to try.
there are so many fine restaurants in paris, but if find yourself at hotel de ville or BHV and just want some good food, this place is worth a visit. when we visited today all the other diners were local, but that can change by the minute.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Mauvais Garcons also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Les Mauvais Garcons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Mauvais Garcons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.