We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food, bad service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Jade

Cafe Jade
10 rue de Buci, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)
Improve this listing
Ranked #7,591 of 13,448 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Luxembourg
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Bad food, bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We picked this place almost at random for lunch after a long train trip from Provence, even though we know Rue de Buci is very touristy. We ordered omelets. Generally, you pretty much can't get a bad omelet in France, but this place managed to badly overcook it. They should lose their French citizenship. The servers were lazy and too busy chatting amongst themselves to actually serve. It took three tries to get the bill, and I ended up having to take the bill to the cashier myself to pay and get out of there. For reference, we've been to France (including Paris) at least a dozen times over the last fifteen years and are very familiar with French cafe food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    25
    13
    9
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hit the spot that evening...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Nice sidewalk eating, though we chose to eat inside that night. Quich and salad was very good, and the wine (albeit from a very limited list) was excellent. Over all, it's good, but I wouldn't seek it out if I if I was across town.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Service Scams”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I visited Cafe Jade on a trip Paris, France. Prior to sitting down we saw that our waiter was helping a gentlemen sitting at a table next to us and the gentlemen looked like he wanted to rip our waiter's head off. We were enjoying ourselves and order two bottles of the inexpensive wine. However the waiter charged us for the expensive bottles even though we POINTED to the wine we wanted on the menu. The manager was in on this scam as well. As we left the restaurant the waiter called my friend and I a “b-word.”

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Lousy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Appalling service in mid afternoon. Ignored for 15 minutes before leaving and going next door for a great late lunch. Terrible. They should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, MA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Inexpensive outdoor cafe option in lovely Saint Germain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I love all those little cafes filled with people packed together, drinking wine, watching the world pass by. However most of them, especially in Saint Germain, offer only fairly expensive options (think: 18 euros for a salad). I'm sure their food is delicious, but we just couldn't afford it.

The food here isn't great, but good enough, and you can get a croque monsieur or a salad for 8 euro. They also offer a 50cl pitcher of wine for 9 euro, which is great for the area. They had some pretty cool looking cocktails, complete with glow sticks, but those were 10 euros.

If you want the cafe experience without the $$$ then I'd recommend this. Just don't expect a lot from your 8 euro sandwich :o).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Jade also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Jade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.