We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berthillon

Berthillon
31 Rue St.-Louis-en-l'Ile, Paris, France (Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis)
01 43 54 31 61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #237 of 13,870 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I didn't even order the ice cream. I tasted what other people ordered, but the pastries and the coffee were also worth the visit. The ice cream is sold at various sidewalk locations, but the tea room is fun.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    236
    86
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Why the hype?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

A trip to Paris is incomplete without a visit to Berthillon. So we made our way there, through charming Parisian streets. Waited in the long queue with many others. But seriously, the ice creams were quite average. Nothing spectacular about them really. Had better ones in front of Eiffel Tower from a mobile van. Save yourselves the trouble !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best ice cream and sorbet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Such original flavors like strawberry-rum, prune, and so many others we couldn't translate fast enough before it was our turn to order. We ordered flavors we had never heard of and enjoyed every last drop!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exquisite flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely delicious, every flavor. The best was Raspberry Sorbet- extremely intense, sweet and light. We came back three times during our week in Paris. Wandering down from Notre Dame through the quaint little streets of Ille Saint Louis added to the charm of this tiny ice creamery. You'll be glad you went out if your way!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Even more amazing than everyone says!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The ice cream is delicious - absolutely the best I've ever had. The caramel nougat is to die for, but I tried many flavors and each one was amazing: vanilla, dark chocolate, regular chocolate, earl grey tea, salted caramel, and did I mention the caramel nougat? We stayed on the Ile St. Louis, so we went way more than I'm comfortable admitting to.

We also went into the tea room for hot chocolate, which I absolutely recommend. Each order is served on a silver tray with petite pitchers of thick drinking chocolate and steamed milk (maybe half and half?) that you could mix yourself in a mug, along with sugar, to taste. It was so yummy, and you can order it with a side of whipped cream to make it even more naughty!

Overall, it's a must.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berthillon also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Berthillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berthillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.