We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ice cream is amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berthillon

Berthillon
31 Rue St.-Louis-en-l'Ile, Paris, France (Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis)
01 43 54 31 61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #237 of 13,870 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Bermuda
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The ice cream is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My good Parisien friend told me this is the best ice cream place in Paris and he was not exagerating. The ice cream and sorbet is absolutely amazing. I highly recommend the salted caramel, chocolate, and licorice flavours. Servings are in modest French portions so you can indulge without too much guilt.

Warning the line up can be daunting but is worth the wait. It's just a few blocks from Notre Dame and on a hot summer day, plan to go early as they run out of flavours as the day goes by.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    236
    86
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It is one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Must try this while in France if you like ice cream. Really good ice cream. Beautiful and wide range of flavours. Best to sit in the restaurant and enjoy it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Reputed to be the best ice cream in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

There is no question that this is good ice cream and, because of this reputation, it is always crowded. My assessment, though, is that some influential people got the reputation going and that reputation is well above reality. The Gelato at Amorino is every bit as good, if not better, and there are several of those outlets throughout Paris, including the Tuileries Garden, Place de la Contrescarpe and others.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had takeaway ice cream cones, we didn't see the cafe until we'd got our ice creams as it has a seperate entrance. I had passion fruit and white chocolate and my husband had wild strawberry and chocolate. It has to be the best ice cream i've ever tasted. Well worth wandering past the notre dame to find it. Oh and there was only a very short queue when we went but it was raining.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Paris Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Please do not visit Paris without making a stop at Berthillon! It is the best ice cream you will ever eat. I suggest you try the Raspberry flavor but you can't go wrong whatever you choose. You should plan a little time for your visit as there is always a line. Also, be aware that they are closed on Mondays & Tuesdays and the whole month of August! Enjoy...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berthillon also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Berthillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berthillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.