We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little B&B, lived up to the good reviews!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos du Tertre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fontainebleau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Clos du Tertre
Save
You added Le Clos du Tertre to your Saves list
6, chemin des vallees | 77760 La Chapelle la Reine, 77300 Fontainebleau, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Fontainebleau B&B and Inns
Cumbria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little B&B, lived up to the good reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

As everyone on trip advisor before me wrote this is a great little place and Stef couldn't have been more helpful or welcoming. There were toys for my little boy to play with, the room was spacious, clean and comfortable, breakfast was frest and plentiful and the whole atmosphere was very welcoming. I'd stay here again.
Only other comments would be that it would be nice if there was milk provided in the communal fridge as there were tea and coffee making facilities but no milk. Also, you cannot pay by card but there is an ATM very near so this is not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at le Clos du Tertre during the summer - it was like being one of the family and Stef was keen to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves. With Stef's encouragement and directions we drove to Paris and visited Fontainbleau and other beautiful chateaux in the area. Stef was very knowledgable on everything relating to our holiday - journey times, distances, routes, what to see along the way - a man who is the perfect host. The room was well appointed, clean, fresh and bright. Breakfast was everything you would want. We hope to be passing that way again when we travel in France. B&LG

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed here with some friends for two weeks for a rockclimbing trip. First week in the B&B and second week in the Gite. Stef was an amazing host and helpful beyond all expectations. We loved the friendly and natural atmosphere of Le Clos du Tertre and always looked forward to breakfast with Stef and the other guests while we were in the B&B. The local village and shops were very handy and it was well positioned to Font and the forest. We'll be back one day!

Room Tip: The Gite is fantastic value if you have 3+ people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Our family stayed at le Clos du Tertre during the summer and were so well looked after by Stef, who is incredibly helpful and friendly. Great to have kitchen facilities if you need them too. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

A friend and I stayed here for a week, and as first timers in Fontainebleau, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Located in the middle of everyting, with walking distance to The Elephant and short driving distance to the city and all of the bouldering sites. Stef is a great host and a perfect guide, så we had no trouble finding our way. Nice rooms, free wi-fi av en excellent french breakfast each morning (tip: don't ask for an english breakfast ;-) ).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

my family had a great holiday at Le Clos du Tertre the accommodation was very good and had everything we needed, it was nice to stay in a bed and breakfast that had its own kitchen facilitys. Stef was a fantastic host and was very help full when it came to giving us advice on places to go, for climbing and to eat. and was fully able to cope with are appalling lack of french.
we would recommend this place to any one who wants to go to fontainebleau and we hope to go back our selfs next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011 via mobile

Well, first of all, Stef is a GREAT host! He's helpful and welcoming, from the first mail you write him till the last minute of your visit. He'd help you with finding a place for dinner, he'll tell you everything about the surrounding and make everything you'd feel most comfortable. And he serves nice breakfast too :)
Place itself is very nice, it has a sweet rural charm to it. Bedrooms are really big and spacious - we stayed there with two kids and it was ok. Downstairs there's a kitchen where you can cook your meals and a living area. The only thing for improvement i could mention is that bathrooms (specifically showers) could be newer, but it's not a dealbreaker.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos du Tertre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos du Tertre

Address: 6, chemin des vallees | 77760 La Chapelle la Reine, 77300 Fontainebleau, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Fontainebleau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast with three bedrooms in an old renovated farmhouse 1 km from Fontainebleau forest, at walking distance for internationaly reknown climbing sites. 12 km from Fontainebleau. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos du Tertre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.