We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Good location, but tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Richelieu

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Richelieu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Richelieu
4 rue Richelieu, 77300 Fontainebleau, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Fontainebleau
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good location, but tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here on route home from a course. It was in need of a great deal of work, saggy floors, worn carpets, bad tileing, saggie bed. But my room was clean and the Dinner was excellent. I looked at lots of other places to eat and I was glad I chose this one! Full of locals and good wine too.

Room Tip: I only saw my room which was on the side with a nice view, quiet street but thin walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
24
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brummie
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

In a side street next to the palace, a great location. Charming staff, good sized room and very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Facts:
Staff was courteous and friendly. Female desk clerk marginally competent in English.
Significant amount of mold on bottom of shower door. Shower remarkably small, watch your head for the frame if you are over 6 ft. tall.
Room was clean.
TV has no English language stations.
Wi-Fi "WE FEE" is unreliable on the top floor--requires that you go to the ground level to get a consistent reliable connection.
Street noise is very much present--located adjacent to major traffic artery with lots of cars and delivery trucks; at night people talking and laughing on street is clearly heard even from the top floor.
No elevator and stairs are narrow.
Adjacent to Indian restaurant--if you like the scent of curry in your room this is the place for you.
Convenient to castle--across the street

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

I might have came here for business but I enjoyed playing here also. My room faced the main street down from which I could see everything. I looked forward to the morning breakfasts, and the evenings after work at this hotel. Do not forget to visit the castle; it is worth the trip and time. Travel the roads that are less traveled and you might be surprised what you might find. This is a very friendly town with wonderful and helpful people. I enjoyed nothing much then getting up early on the weekend sitting outside to watch the sun rise and having coffee. The food and wine is awesome here. Everything is awesome here..........I only have one regret...never got a chance to golf here.


Wonder town to visit definitely recommend it...............it is worth the trip.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

This is a 2* hotel that is perfectly located in the center of Fontainbleau. I have stayed here twice over the past five years and the quality and service have been consistent on both of my visits. The room cost Euro 65 per night plus breakfast and you get what you pay for and more. My room had a view onto the Chateau and was larger than average with a large bathroom and separate toilet all en suite.

The staff were very accomodating. Business services are limited and the wireless connection is unreliable, but what do you expect from a 2* small hotel. If you are looking for these types of services, then you should stay at the Mercure or Ibis which are much less representative of the area and sterile. This small hotel is wonderful and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

PS The restaurant (Le Bacchus) is REALLY good and a good value. It was filled with locals on both nights and my meals were great. Where can you get foie gras, magret de canard, the cheese platter and dessert for Euro 28?

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

I pad 63 EUR for a double room- what you get is a fairly standard room for hotel in this price category. We stayed on the top floor, room 301, which has a window with view of the chateau and a renovated bathroom.
I do think though that the rooms vary- i saw a room at the 1st floor which has access to a small balcony and two large windows/doors- i would say it was nicer than ours and probably the same price. So ask for a room on the first floor as all of them have balconies and chateau view.

The location is excellent, right by the chateau, and spitting distance from everything else.

breakfast was 9 EUR pp extra and was actually worth it (usually i don;t bother with breakfast in these kind of hotels), a buffet with fresh fruit, good croissants and pain au chocolate as well as the other usual suspects.

I am amazed by the review below- somebody who said she felt unsafe leaving her room at night. This is a family-run hotel, and i cannot imagine this place being remotely dangerous in any possible way. The building is old and to me that give a certain charm- if you find that creepy than one had better stay in modern cookiecutter hotels.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2006

I was in Fontainebleau on business and stayed 2 nights here. The hotel itself is older, very small, dark corridors, winding staircases. As a woman traveling alone, I didn't feel 100% safe entering/leaving my foom at night. The room I had was on the very top floor and overlooked the Chateau, which was lovely. The room was more spacious than anticipated, but the furnishings were sad and could have used an update. The bathroom was also larger than expected, but there was only a bathtub (I suppose that's common in France). Be aware: The desk clerk didn't speak ANY English! Check in/check out was easy enough, but the wake-up call I requested never came and I was late to a meeting. The next day I had a local coworker do all the talking for me and we were sorted out. Breakfast was very good- fresh croissants and fruit with a great cup of strong coffee.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Richelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Richelieu

Address: 4 rue Richelieu, 77300 Fontainebleau, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Fontainebleau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Fontainebleau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Richelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
hôtel Le Richelieu Fontainebleau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Richelieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.