We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical French Bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Au Sommelier du Chateau

Au Sommelier du Chateau
26 rue de Ferrare, 77300 Fontainebleau, France
0160711203
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 92 restaurants in Fontainebleau
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: French, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Typical French Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

First of all, book....we called to b told they were full, then asked if minded waiting until 21:30. So glad we waited, the place, small, was full of locals. The welcome was very friendly and the food, very good. We had escargot followed by Puma iberique, which, according to a diner on another table is the graze in France at the moment. Something to do with what these pigs are fed on, it was excellent.
Great choice of wine by the glass, so a bit like a tasting menu with one to match. The sommelier gave us great wine and not expensive.
We will be going back....oh the atmosphere was great, just what I expected from a little place, charming, friendly and unrushed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    21
    20
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The owner knows his stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

great selection, the owner was sommelier at the Meurice in Paris , before settling here with his wife.
Small intimate setting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I enjoyed the simple, yet delicious menu. My favorite part was the traditional home kitchen French atmosphere, and the wonderful and inventive wine. I prefer the lunch menu, to the dinner menu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

One of the best kept secrets in town. An amazing wine selection. This is a place to sit back, drink a couple of bottles of wine and let the server bring you dish after dish of delicious tapas. Get the pata negra, the little sausage in wine & potato dish and anything else really. Then, ask for the desserts ; the creme brulee is sublime!
If you want a more filling meal, there is some good steak on the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great service, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Really enjoyed our meal at this great little restaurant in Fontainebleau. The food was excellent and the staff extremely friendly, professional and well informed. Gave suggestions on what wines and foods went well together and all in all we had a really enjoyable evening and will definitely be going back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Sommelier du Chateau also viewed

Fontainebleau, Seine-et-Marne
Fontainebleau, Seine-et-Marne
 
Fontainebleau, Seine-et-Marne
Fontainebleau, Seine-et-Marne
 

Been to Au Sommelier du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Sommelier du Chateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.