We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bacchus

Le Bacchus
4 rue Richelieu, 77300 Fontainebleau, France
01 60 71 10 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 106 Restaurants in Fontainebleau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

On Thursday 31st August while visiting Fontainebleau with my wife and children to see my wife's
sister, I took them and a friend for dinner at Le Richelieu - Bacchus.
We were very plesantley suprised thé service was outstanding and thé food and wine was excellent, we all enjoyed it very much.
Will try thé Hotel on our next visite.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    31
    2
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This place has wonderful, fresh food at a good price! The service was great, and they speak English (even have a separate English menu). They were very friendly and didn't mind at all speaking in English. Got their steak which was cooked wonderfully and full of flavor. Price is also good, especially for the quality. Ate outside and it was great! Compared to other restaurants I have eaten at in Fontainebleau, this was one of the best!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Ordinary location - great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

On holiday we would not normally eat in a "hotel" restaurant, but this one was recomended - and very rightly so. Up a quiet side street with a pleasant but unspectacular small terrace the food (my encrecot steak was the most tender that I have had in France) and the service was just great and the price very reasonable. WELL WORTH A VISIT.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable sunday lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

4 weeks ago we came across this restaurant in Fontainbleau, it was a sunny day and we sat outside for a really good lunch.. This weekend we paid a return visit, the weather was wet so we sat inside the cosy dining room. This isn't just about the food, the welcome and service are so good. We enjoyed an excellent 3 course lunch with lovely wine. The restaurant was full but nobody hurried us, we ended up staying for 2 hours. How nice to have high quality food and wine and friendly service in a busy tourist town. We will definitely visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“unprofessional service, mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

this hotel restaurant has a good location opposite the beautiful theatre and very near the palace and so can probably count on putting bums on seats without having to worry about getting repeat visits. And this shows in the food, service and wine list, all of which were shoddy. The patronne boasted that the patron was a butcher but the meat we had (onglet and entrecôte) was ordinary. On the curiously short wine list with no bargains we chose a Mâcon rouge (usually a poor choice but this from a normally reputable merchant, Regnard); the vintage indicated on our list was 2008 but when the wine arrived it was a 2012; the waitress denied that I had read otherwise and left it at that! So, I am a liar, or visually impaired!! The wine was rustic to say the least. And this, from a restaurant named after the god of wine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bacchus also viewed

Fontainebleau, Seine-et-Marne
Fontainebleau, Seine-et-Marne
 
Fontainebleau, Seine-et-Marne
Fontainebleau, Seine-et-Marne
 

Been to Le Bacchus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bacchus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.