We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a detour !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Citadelle de Besancon

La Citadelle de Besancon
99, rue des Fusilles de la Resistance, Besancon, France
+33 3 81 87 83 33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Besancon
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks
Attraction details
lunde i telemark
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth a detour !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Resistance museum was very educational, but requires knowledge of French ( or to some extent German ) in order to appreciate it. The combination of history and natural science was nice. It takes a whole day to digest everything !

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    176
    32
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have been to Carcasonne so this la citadel was a poor second. I was pleased that the zoo was not as bad as others have made out. But is sub standard compared to Taronga Park Zoo in Sydney. Be warned travellers to Bescancon the road works are shocking! They ruin what could be a lovely city. I do not understand why they don't do one small job at a time and finish it before starting another job. There are currently 7 road deviations and major constructions around the city. I would advise not to travel there until road works are completed! Which does not look like any time soon

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Amazing museums especially details of german occupation

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice way to spend some time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The view is amazing and I echo the sentiment of others when I say that I enjoyed the animals in the Zoo but was saddened at it at the same time. The Noctarium is a complete waste of time unless you have never seen a mouse or rat before. Some of the exhibits are a bit half-assed but the Citadelle is still worth the walk (we took the bus up and down; Ligne 17) and the view.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great views of the city. Wonderful museums about the area and world war II and a zoo for kids. Vauban's fortifications are very impressive. Audio guides in several languages available. nice restaurant and cafe as well.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Citadelle de Besancon also viewed

 

Been to La Citadelle de Besancon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Citadelle de Besancon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.