We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful decor in wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Sauvage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Le Sauvage to your Saves list
Hotel Le Sauvage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, rue du Chapitre, 25000 Besancon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Besancon
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delightful decor in wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a treat Le Hôtel Sauvage is! With lovely decor and surrounds, tasteful and comfortable rooms with delicious showers and toiletries, this hotel oozes good taste with its neutral decor and wonderful French provincial feel. The location is convenient with all the main attractions of this beautiful old city within walking distance. Staff were friendly and welcoming though you will need some French in this part of the world. Breakfasts are extra but excellent. Will definitely return should the opportunity arise.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    48
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
77
2
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This beautiful former convent has been lovingly refurbished to a very high standard. In a beautiful part of this historic city, every aspect of our stay was thoroughly enjoyable - friendly and helpful reception staff, great breakfast - the jam was to die for and very elegant room with comfortable bed and great proportions. Parking in the grounds another benefit. Loved it all, even the noisy old wooden floors in the corridors, and especially the quintessential French style that permeates.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked a suite with a wisteria fringed balcony overlooking the lush hillside .Very stylish conversion of a convent, with lovely parquet floors , very comfortable bed and well equipped bathroom . Our only complaint was that the bath had a shower head but no shower rail or any point to attach the shower , let alone screens to keep the water in the bath .
The hotel has no restaurant but serves an excellent breakfast, including true fresh orange juice , with energetic staff ensuring that no-one was kept waiting. The location is great , with a stiff walk up to the Vauban citadel and an easy walk down to the cathedral , the Roman arch and the rest of the old town .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versonnex, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013. Lovely hotel. We had a room with an Italian (walk in) shower, but our other room did not. Try to get one with an Italian shower. Nice decadent touch. The service was very good. Our teenagers had homework to do while my husband and I went to the art museum and the staff let them use the conference room to spread out their books and study. Very, very kind. The location is great -- just 5 minutes from the horloge and a short walk into town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My children and I stayed at Le Sauvage for a night to break up our trip. What a treat! The hotel is in an excellent location up a few minutes from the town centre and a short walk to the Citadel. The room was spacious and very clean with a gorgeous marble bathroom. Our room had a balcony over-looking the garden to the rear of the hotel. Breakfast in the morning was continental with some delicious cheeses, breads, croissants, yogurts, etc. The parking and free behind the hotel. The staff was very kind and offered all sorts of ideas of things to do on our very short visit. Would go back and stay without question.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony....not great for winter, but I am sure lovely in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farges, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Recently opened after a refurbishment of a former monastery. Clean and spacious rooms (en suite), pleasant staff, free parking. Five minutes takes you to old town down the hill, a slightly longer walk up to the citadel.

Room Tip: Town side rooms give a spectacular panorama of old Besançon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here with my 82-year old father at the end of March, and we both thought the hotel marvellous. Very peaceful, with excellently refurbished rooms, fantastic bathrooms (the walk in shower or 'douche italienne' was very practical for my father). The buffet for breakfast included the most delicious rhubarb jam I've ever tasted. The view from my window (room 24) out over the old town and the river was glorious. So as you can see I'm running out of superlatives. The only reason this hotel doesn't qualify for 4 stars is because there is only one lift not two (the one lift runs to the second, but not the third floor), and because it doesn't have its own restaurant. But otherwise, it's a very luxurious and welcoming place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Sauvage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Sauvage

Address: 6, rue du Chapitre, 25000 Besancon, France
Location: France > Franche-Comte > Doubs > Besancon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Besancon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Sauvage 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located a few yards from Charles Quint, in the historic district of Besancon, in the foothills of the Citadelle.This former monastery of the "Clarisses" transformed into a charming hotel with 24 comfortable rooms,offers stunning views over the city and the valley of the Doubs.A terrace facing the sunset, aclosed parking and a meeting room are at your disposal.The large shady park is a haven in the heart of the town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Sauvage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Sauvage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.