We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a short flight and we did not feel like Greece or Turkey, I would not recommend it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Lucianu Beach Resort - Mark Warner

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bastia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Lucianu Beach Resort - Mark Warner
Costa Verde | (booking through London office), Bastia, Corsica, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 27 hotels in Bastia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It was a short flight and we did not feel like Greece or Turkey, I would not recommend it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We chose this resort for a change and it was a much shorter flight than Geece or Turkey.
Good points, we had an upgraded room at extra cost, smart and no complaints, restaurant staff excellent and always chatty, food great but 5 a la carte nights was probably too many, somehow I associate this type of holiday with more buffets. Cycling we went on our own out of choice and the lad from Salford was helpful and keen to discuss route options. Sailing great. I thought drinks and wine were reasonable, it is after all France.

Bad points, fitness classes the instructor had gone home with no trained replacement, a volunteer staff member took over and tried. he did as best he could and should be rewarded for effort and trying, but its appalling that MW did not fly in a replacement, we would not have booked if we had known. All but the restaurant staff acted as if it was the end of the season and did not try any more. The pool area was tired and neglected, I felt like getting a rubbish bag and cutting back the vegetation, sweeping the leaves and removing bits of broken plastic myself. (2hours would have smartened it up)

Location is good for sailing but there are noticeably higher winds and more cloud than 15 miles towards Bastia, the high mountains create a micro climate.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    99
    21
    26
    21
See reviews for
133
49
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We returned to San Lu for the second time between 31 Aug and 7 Sept. Bit disappointed to see that the rooms were as awful as last year. Bearable but not kept as clean as last time. Activities, staff, food and general camaraderie brilliant. Mark Warner really need to spend money on finishing refurbishment of all rooms, heating the pools, stopping charging for towels (this isn't the seventies!) and listening to its loyal returners. We had some issues before we left and Gordon (Customer Relations manager) replied to emails in a staggeringly bad PR way and told us not to tell anyone what the issues were - hilarious! Apart from the above, the staff once again were fantastic - what a lovely, enthusiastic group of young and clever people they are! Don't go if you want a plush room. Definitely go if you want a great value activity holiday. Just don't have cause to deal with Gordon who is clearly not cut out for customer services!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Squeezing margins by the hotel owners and Mark Warner means nothing is left to spend on the upgrading of this 1970s block. £250k would transform it but rooms, restaurant and pools haven't seen much attention in 40 years outside a paintbrush.

Staff, mini-clubs and water sports are excellent as usual but that doesn't cut it anymore.

This is my 5th and last Mark Warner holiday. I am happy to pay August prices of 5k for a week for a family of 4 but this resort falls way below the the grade.

It's a crumbling wreck that made me feel bitter and somewhat ripped off ....and ready to leave ASAP

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Firstly the hotel itself is not the most appealing to the eye, an old concrete block covered in a none descriptive pinky / red colour paint. The building itself is ugly and could certainly be made to look better with a funky paint job. We had 2 rooms, one refurbished and one which appeared to be part refurbished. The room itself was comfortable enough with a good power shower, however, as we were on the ground floor we didn't have a balcony which was disappointing. Hotel cleanliness could have been better, there was something spilt in the corridor near the fire exit which appeared on about day 4 and was still there when we left on day 7 ! But to be honest having been on a number of Mark Warner holidays the hotel was not a the top of our list. For us, it was about the activities on offer and there was certainly a great deal to choose from both on land and in the sea. We took advantage of the fitness programme which started at 8am and ran throughout the whole day, this offered running, walking, circuit training, aqua fit, stretching, abs, legs bums and tums etc. All delivered by Ash who was very passionate about fitness. We also went out on the a couple of bike rides, including one to the waterfall which was well worth the effort of peddling up hill. Anthony who managed the cycling was very encouraging and a great host. Then onto the water sports, there was a lot on offer with plenty of equipment which was in good working order and appeared to be mid-range. The beach front staff worked incredibly hard and were always on hand to help get the kit in and out of the water. I signed up to do level 2 windsurfing and found the instructor pretty useless so I failed miserably. We didn't get off to the best start when she told off one of the really hardworking guys for putting her down as general staff when she hired out the UJ, she wasn't general staff she was Head of Windsurfing or something like that so he should have put HOD not GS. Telling off the poor guy in front of me for something so petty made me feel very uncomfortable and didn't put her in the best light. Once we were out windsurfing I found her to be more interested in showing off her own skills than actually giving me any encouragement especially on day 2 when the winds were quite challenging , I was struggling and she was no where to be seen, by day 3 I'd given up on her and wasn't exactly sure what I'd paid for her to do ! Now onto the food, we did half board which was better for us as I imagine the buffet would get too repetitive. Breakfast offered a good selection of both hot and cold food, it wasn't anything outstanding but the choice was good. I enjoyed dinner, most evenings there was a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains, 3 deserts. The food was well presented and the portions were ideal for having 3 courses. The food itself was enjoyable and well cooked. The wine was limited and not all that, the supermarket down the road offered a good selection so I asked about the corkage fee, hmmm a ridiculous 15 euros so I imagine MW make a great mark up on the wine !! All in all, it was an enjoyable holiday, we met some lovely people and the kids (age 12 and 14) had a great time and both enjoyed taking part in the various kids club activities.

Room Tip: Go for a refurbished room with a fridge and ask for a mountain view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

As ever Mark Warner did a good job with making sure we were well looked after during our stay. Everyone seemed friendly and keen to help. The transfer at this time of year can be long as the road is the only one from Bastia south so all the ferries disgorge daily and the cars head south right outside the hotel. Not that you hear them but don't try the bus to Bastia as it took us 90 minutes to do 30kms! The hotel is in need of a coat of paint on the outside and whilst we got one of the older rooms, the new rooms looked quite good. Food was OK although not a fan of the a la carte as the choice was limited. Prefer themed buffets myself. The evening dining is on a booking basis so unless you like eating in the dark or you have your own candles, then try and book early. Our 18 year old had a great time and for that we thank you MW. We had to share a room with him but he was so exhausted each day by all the activities that he slept like a baby!! Hotel is not overly large so it has a nice feel about it and we got to meet lots of people.

Room Tip: Insist on a new room. The old ones are grubby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I were really looking forward to our holiday to Corsica, especially as our last Mark Warner holiday in Bodrum was so great. Unfortunately, we were extremely disappointed from the moment our coach arrived at the resort.

First impression was awful but consistent. The resort sign on top of the gate as we entered looked like cobwebs next to the name and the 3 stars. We did not know it was only a 3 star resort. Nowhere on the websites, etc did it state it was such a low star rating. We would never have booked the holiday had we known this.

As the coached further approached the prison like concrete block resort, we passed by tired looking tennis courts and untidy staff housing that had hanging clothes everywhere and stuff all over the front garden areas.

The actual hotel only got worse as the common areas were in desperate need of a major refurbishment. The carpets were all worn down and stained and the walls were in need if re-plastering and repainting. The only good thing about the hotel was that we paid a premium for a better (recently refurbished) room and from what we heard from other guests it was worth the extra price. Apparently, the non upgraded rooms were like the common parts - in dire need of refurbishment.

The food was one of the biggest disappointments. It was all British food served by the all British staff for the all British guests. The only local food were the French bread and croissants in the morning. The egg station in the morning was dirty and not hygienic looking. The muesli had corn flakes in it, presumably to save money. We found that some of the food at lunch were recycled meat, etc from the night before or the morning. Other than the weather, we could easily have thought we were still in the UK. Despite paying the extra for full board, we ended up eating out as much as we could where the food was lovely outside the resort.

The only things that I thought were positive experiences were that they had a lot of variety of activities in and out of the water. The staff were also really excellent and went out of their way to be helpful and nice.

The only reason I gave it two out of five rating is because the staff were great and we had a nice room (that we paid extra for). I am being very generous.

Sadly, we will never go on another Mark Warner holiday as the consistency is unreliable. While it was a relatively inexpensive holiday, we got what we paid for...a cheap holiday which we would rather have not gone to.

Room Tip: If you have to go there, pay the extra money for the upgraded room and ask to not be over the dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great holiday with older teenagers. Easy 30 minute transfer to resort from airport. Large site, never feels crowded despite full occupancy. Good food at restaurant terrace. Good beach bar where you can have toasted paninis for lunch. Lots of activities, great water sports- sailing and windsurfing. Sailing equipment new and high spec. Good number tennis courts. Good bike trips up mountains as twice daily tours or diy trips. Lots of activities - but importantly large numbers of loungers on grass for sunbathing,or under trees for shade.Both swimming pools good. Beach fine. Staff very helpful and friendly.
We hired car and can recommend trip to Corte and Restonica Gorge, where you can swim in mountain stream's pools. And Bonifaccio (long drive but worth it).
Newly refurbished rooms very good.
Lots to do for teenagers and walking distance from small town with bar/night club.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Lucianu Beach Resort - Mark Warner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Lucianu Beach Resort - Mark Warner

Address: Costa Verde | (booking through London office), Bastia, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Bastia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bastia
Also Known As:
San Lucianu Beach Resort - Mark Warner Hotel Bastia
Hotel San Lucianu Mark Warner
San Lucianu Mark Warner Corsica
Corsica Mark Warner
San Lucianu Beach Resort - Mark Warner Bastia, Corsica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Lucianu Beach Resort - Mark Warner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Lucianu Beach Resort - Mark Warner to your Saves list