We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff made up for deficiencies” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Imperial to your Saves list
Hotel Imperial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Albert 1er BP 39, 20181 Ajaccio, Corsica, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Ajaccio
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Friendly staff made up for deficiencies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed a the Hote Imperial in Ajaccio for one night at the end of our 10 day hike in Corsica. Based on previous Tripadvisor reviews and the rate we reserved at, we were expecting something special and nice.

The lobby / recepetion area is nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful. On our way to the rooms, we passed through the upper room near the restaurants where there was a strong musty smell.

Our room was quite small but functionally layed out.
There was no safe.
The carpet was very stained in many places.
When you open the cupboard, the front edges on the shelfs are exposed particle board like you would see in a one star hotel.
The Wifi worked well
The lock on the room door was very flimsy.

The breakfast room was large and bright and looks brand new.
We were suprised to see yoghurt, cheeses and all you can have OJ and coffee, so the breakfast was pretty good value, although it was not a full "English Style Breakfast".

What we liked:
- Staff friendliness
- Reliable Wifi
- Bed was fairly comfortable
- Breakfast room and breakfast generosity

To Improve
- Replace room carpet
- Refurbish some room items that make the room look like a one star hotel room
- Improve the lock on the door
- Add a safe

If returning to Ajaccio, we will make a good attempt to find better quality rooms for the price.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on 2nd floor back overlooking roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    56
    20
    8
    1
See reviews for
15
45
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We liked the location - 15 mins walk from town, right by the sea with free public parking out the front (although parking lot was crowded). The room and bathroom were quite good. The only downside was a bad smell coming from the toilet, it seemed like they didn't clean under the rim properly. Clean apart from that. Service was friendly. We skipped breakfast as there was a great patisserie 5 mins walk along the seafront (away from the town). At 80 euros per night it was good value for Corsica.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Great location, 10 minutes walk from the center - 2 minutes walk from the beach

Comfortable room with old furniture but nice and clean bathroom

Parking options very close to the hotel

Do not miss Tony's pizza across the street

Unfortunately very little English at the reception

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed for one night in October 2008. Though the hotel is not located in the city centre, the walk downtown was enjoyable and picturesque. Room was adequate with a nice view. Warning: parking in Ajaccio can be nightmarish (even in the off-season).

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

Good location for a couple of nights in Ajaccio. Rooms good price in September, largish, desk staff quite helpful.

Right opposite the beach, 10-15 minutes walk in to the centre of town. Parking a little easier at this end of town as well!!

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

We picked the Imperial because we wanted to be right by a beach where we could swim, even though it isn't a resort-type hotel. It was indeed easy--across the road and through a parking lot. We enjoyed the 10-15 minute stroll into the main part of town since it's along the promenade. The one drawback was that the one night we had a car, we drove through town during rush hour, which took a while. The management was kind enough to let us park the car on the property, but I'm not sure if this is a regular thing.

We were glad we'd been advised to ask for a room with a view--we were on the top floor facing the water. There is indeed some noise from the road at night, but we could also hear the waves crashing. We weren't bothered by noise since we were able to keep the windows closed.

There may be more places to eat nearby in the summer months, but in September, we walked into the main part of town for most of our meals, as well as going to one of the pizza trucks that pop up along the promenade. There are cafes across the street and a little grocery store in the same block.

All of the staff we interacted with were very nice, the room was bright and surprisingly modern, and everything was very clean. If you prefer to retreat from the hustle and bustle, this is a good choice since you can be back among the h and b fairly quickly and easily.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Above average for 3*. The hotel is about 15-20 min walk from the commercial port and though we had a large heavy bag it was still easy to find – handy as there were no taxis being a Sunday. We were greeted with helpful, friendly staff and the room was ready. The reception is really nice and though the hotel is a bit gloomy, the room was clean, fresh and everything we expected. It was nothing special but all we needed – clean sheets and towels, comfortable bed and stocked bathroom. It’s located on a main road though we hardly heard the traffic. It took about 30 seconds to get to the beach and the #5 bus stops out the front that takes you to some really lovely beaches down the road. For restaurants there are touristy ones a 5 min walk back into town, or local and tourist ones a further 3-5 mins further on. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial

Address: Boulevard Albert 1er BP 39, 20181 Ajaccio, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ajaccio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Ajaccio
Hotel Imperial Ajaccio, Corsica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.