We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room but clean, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Golfe

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Golfe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Golfe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, Boulevard Roi Jerome, 20000 Ajaccio, Corsica, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 32 hotels in Ajaccio
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small room but clean, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is located right by the port in Ajaccio. It is close to a variety of restaurants, markets and shops. We enjoyed our two night stay in this hotel and found the staff to be kind and helpful and the room, although small and sparsely decorated, clean and practical. There is no private or free parking located near the hotel, so if you have a car, you will have to pay. The location is great and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    28
    14
    7
    13
See reviews for
5
26
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed for two nights and I reccomend it. The hotel is located just next to the port, surrounded by restaurants. The windows are double-glass, so silence is guaranteed! Walking distance from old-town, sunday-market and other attractions. The rooms are a bit small, but very clean. Cable-TV, mini-bar and free wifi are a great surplus. The showers are just too small. I bet some people would have problems with that. Staff is super friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Take the one facing the gulf and watch the boats and cruisers coming and going. On 5th and 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Condamine, Monaco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

clean and friendly, well located, restaurants and bars next door so it was perfect for a late ferry arrival and a stroll to nearby port and markets the next morning. old building but rooms and bathrooms refurbished, good bed. parking can be difficult.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel has a great location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and neat albeit a bit small and in all the hotel offered a decent value for the price. We had a room facing the port and the view was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

An excellent location right by the port, town centre and the great outdoor morning market. The hotel has no parking but we found spots on the road. Most of the parking is limited to 2 hours between 9.00 -12.00 and 14.00-19.00. The hotel itself was comfortable. We got a good deal and had room at the back of the hotel, so no sea views, but we had a very comfortable bed.

Ajaccio is a pretty town with good food and several beaches in around the city. It is the birthplace of Napoleon and you can see the house, which he lived in.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

As you can see, the reviews for this hotel are very different. I think that you will get what you pay for. We had a room on the floor next to the top floor. A nice balcony with a fantastic view. The room was small but OK.
The street outside is very busy, ask for a room on a higher floor. The two top floor rooms (seaview) have a small terrace. The reception is at a very small room and was extremely busy from time to time. But the staff was friendly.
The lift is very small and sometimes very busy. Long wait.
Breakfast is outside or inside.
I recommend this hotel, but be sure to book a room on a higher floor.

  • Liked — View and close to city center
  • Disliked — Very busy street, parking problems
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boucherville, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

June 19th,2007
We picked Hotel du Golfe after reading good reviews in different travel book listing the Golde a 3***. There were no more room with bayview. The cleck refused that I take a look at the room available. We took a chance at 112 euros, breakfast included.
Overall a 2.5 **
Although the room was very small, with no view and semi-dark (a small window facing other buildings 10 feets by), it was quiet, clean and offered a safe deposit box.
Breakfast was usual french, i.e croissant, tartine and cafe. All good, the croissant well above average.
The cleck told us it was ok to park in the street for free until 9am, then $ was required for the parking. We had no problem.

It is very well located close to restaurants facing the Golfe d'Ajaccio.
For an overnignt stay, it did the job but you don't go there to spend time in the room.

There are certainly better places in Ajaccio

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Golfe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golfe

Address: 5, Boulevard Roi Jerome, 20000 Ajaccio, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Ajaccio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 hotels in Ajaccio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Golfe 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel du Golfe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Golfe Hotel
Hotel Du Golfe Ajaccio, Corsica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Golfe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.