We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating place, great hosts and wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Borghetti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corsica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Borghetti
Save
You added Maison Borghetti to your Saves list
Talasani Village | Talasani, 20230 Corsica, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 304 Corsica B&B and Inns
bournemouth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fascinating place, great hosts and wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week and it was a really memorable holiday.
Brian and Patrick make you feel welcome and they are both so knowledgeable about the history of the local area and what to do and where to go.
We walked miles through the hills of Corsica wading through herds of goats and pigs to get to deserted villages where time has literally stood still. Brian very kindly lent us his OS maps.
Patrick cooks wonderful food and there is always a jolly atmosphere around the table in the evenings. The breakfasts were great too, with lots of different types of bread, cheeses, ham, granola, yogurts and fresh fruit .
Our huge room was amazing, with an eclectic collection of old books, lots of fascinating artwork, antique furniture and a really comfy bed and powerful shower.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

If you want 5 star luxury, air-conditioning, sterile privacy... Maison Borghetti is NOT for you. If you want a Corsican experience that will leave you feeling privileged to have shared a comfortable, warm, friendly family atmosphere with touches of chic elegance and real style, then head for Talasani. Our 5 hour walk (recommended by Brian) to a deserted village in the hills and through a forest and along a river, was one of the highlights of our Corsican trip. The dinner which we shared with two other couples and our knowledgeable cosmopolitan hosts on our last night was a delight. Our bed was comfortable, our shower powerful, our room full of bizarre and fascinating art and the breakfasts excellent home prepared food served buffet-style and eaten sociably around a common table in the living/dining room.
Sadly, we had only 2 nights at Borghetti but we definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

we spent 3 great nights at Maison Borgetti. Patrick cooked for us a gourmet (and shared with my wife some of his recipes) dinner and Brian was very helpful in planning our day tours in the area. For those of you that plan to travel to the peninsula (highly recommended) , be aware that the traffic in and out of Bastia is very very slow (also a speeding camera before the tunnel) , so plan an extra hour to your driving time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Maison Borgetti and it was a tremendous 5 star experience. Patrick and Brian could not be bettered as hosts. They really make you feel part of the home and are most welcoming. The village is in the hills a 6 mile drive from the main highway. The surrounding area consists of rolling hills mostly covered in chestnut trees. There are a network of local paths that offers tremendous walking locally. Our hosts leant us maps for the duration of our stay. The 200+year old house is quite quirky and has been restored lovingly. Our room, Virgenie Julie looked out across the valley and had a comfortable bed, large bathroom with modern fittings and dressing area.

Breakfasts are buffet style with good quality breads and high quality cheeses and meats amongst the more usual offerings. Most of the jams/preserves are home made

Evening meals are as described before, a communal affair, with Brian and Patrick eating with the guests. The menu was put in our room and on the last evening had a Corsican theme. It was a plate of cheeses and charcuterie with salad, cannelloni with briocciu (the main local cheese) and fiadore (Corsican cheesecake) for 30 euros. Doesn’t sound too much for the money? Well, what we got was an aperitif-I had one of Patricks own creations-white wine flavoured with myrthe, a local berry. Then the starter was buffet style and there were 3 local meats including a wild boar sausage, 3 local cheeses (including 2 national medal winning ones), a salad, bread and home made vinaigrettes. The main course was the cannelloni with spinach and cheese served with a beef bourgignon (Patrick had slow cooked this from midnight) and it was meltingly tender and delicious. He had also made the fiadore-corsican cheesecake made with lemon and briocciu accompanie by a glass of eau de vie. All this was accompanied by a choice of wines. So in fact it was great value for money nad both meals we had werememorable. Patrick’s cooking is great-it is his attention to detail and time spent preparing the food with great care and love using fresh local ingredients that makes it so good and a joy to eat

The only slight downside of this place is that it can be a bit of a hike for food for picnics (no nearby shops) and for meals on the night that there is no cooking (there is food served in a village just over a km away though full when we tried due to a local event on the night we tried). Moriani Plage where there is more choice is about 7 miles away

Overall a fantastic experience-my only regret in being so positive is that the house will get more popular and be harder to book back in to!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machtum
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

we spent 3 rainy days in April with Patrick, Brian and Kika in a tastefully furnished, quiet, caring environment eating excellent food, a great experience we will never forget!
If you are looking for air conditioning, pool and the stress of touristic infrastructure you should stay at the coast. Here in the mountains you will find remote villages, waterfalls, animals, great walks in the forests and a relaxing atmosphere in the garden of Maison Borghetti.

Room Tip: all rooms are wonderfully furnished with a lot of attention to detail. Never seen nicer bathrooms. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I am a little late on reviewing this as we visited in August, but I couldn't not write about how fantastic this place was. My husband had booked us in as a surprise for our honeymoon and although we stayed only 4 nights it definitely left an impression on us. Brian and Patrick are two of the most welcoming and friendly people you could meet and their home is wonderful. We stayed in the Chambre Vincent Lafon room which was wonderfully decorated and full or charm and character. Yes it's eclectic but it really works and adds to the charm, and even though it's was 30+ degrees outside I couldn't not use the free standing claw foot bath tub.

As for the food, Patrick is a wonder chef! The breakfast consisted of fresh coffee, and freshly squeezed juice, fruit salad, cold meats and cheese and yogurt, berries and cereal. Everything you need to start a fun packed day. As for dinner, it was absolutely amazing, we paid €27 and this included aperetifs, starter, main, dessert coffee, a digestif and wine by the bucket (well almost). The company was fantastic, Brian and Patrick have travelled around the world and have plenty of amusing stories that can keep you entertained for hours. And if you do have the pleasure of visiting ask Patrick to make his famous Quiche, which is out of this world and if you're lucky enough and there is any spare, he'll package it up for you take on a picnic the next day.

We would definitely recommend a visit here, if you're looking for rustic and authentic charm, fantastic hosts and a little bit of magic in the Corsican hills, you won't find better than Maison Borghetti!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chambre Vincent Lafon which is ideal for that special occasion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Maison Borghetti
The Maison is found in Talasani a small village about 500 turns from the N198 the main coastal road on the eastern side of Corsica. The turn off is found just north of the coastal village of Santa Lucia di Moriani.
Patrick, Brian and Kika (the wonder dog) warmly greet you on arrival. It is a warmness that stays with you throughout your stay and remains with me today as I write this several months later.

This is great place to launch from as you can cover so much of the island from here though the western side would be too far, but north or south is easily done in a day. We managed to go to Calvi, Saint Florent, Bonifaccio and several times up to Macinaggio where you can launch on a walk that takes you to the northern tip of Corsica (something well worth doing)

The main thing though is the Maison; we had superb breakfasts taken at leisure with all the homemade compotes, yogurts and muesli mixes. Mixed with this are often lively discussions and helpful assistance about what to do for the day out.
Often the best part of the day is coming home to the maison hopping into a warm bath and getting ready for dinner esp. on the days where you can have dinner at the house.

Patrick is a superb chef and whips up delights for his Russian, Italian, French nights all with a touch of Belgian inspiration. The desserts are even better!
The thing that draws me to the place is the fact that I feel as though I have found some friends who welcomed me into their house and in return they would always be welcome at my door. That is not something I could say very often but that is they way they made me feel.

The eclectic collection of crockery, glasses, and furniture (you name it) I could not have in my own house, however, I totally loved it there. It is so much in keeping with the way the place is. It just somehow works and is a huge part of the charm.

The dinner conversation can change a bit depending on who the guests are but both the guys do as much as they can in so many languages to keep everyone involved, it is a credit to them. My wife would converse with Patrick for hours about a shared love of food and for cooking shows (mastechef) while Brian an I dissected the universe until some ridiculous time in the morning (sorry other guests if we kept you awake) when my wife told Kika to stop playing with me and put me down so we could go to bed as the others had to get up early for breakfast preparation only a few hours later.

To put this simply, this place is simply fantastic, it offers real value and I would recommend it to anyone who is prepared to enjoy the simple things offered here like good food and pleasant company. It really is no more complicated than that.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Borghetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Borghetti

Address: Talasani Village | Talasani, 20230 Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Corsica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Corsica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful oasis in an authentic Corsican village. In Talasani, a small picturesque mountain village in La Castagniccia, only eight kilometres from a sandy beach, we offer bed and breakfast with old-fashioned charm and modern comfort. In our eighteenth century house and garden we offer you the chance to relax completely. The spacious and stylish rooms are eclectically and uniquely furnished, and face south with a view over the valley. The bathrooms (en suite) have separate WCs. The house has been carefully restored, without losing any of its original charm. Our aim is to provide an environment which our guests will want to visit for its own sake - not just a place to eat and sleep between beach visits. What do we offer? * a relaxed atmosphere, and no hurry * friendly hosts who know the island well and can show you where to find the most beautiful beaches and the most fantastic walks * an extensive breakfast * an optional evening meal (including a vegetarian option) for a friendly price, table d’hôtes * a private car park almost opposite the house * free internet access * a limited number of mountain bikes are available free of charge (reservation recommended) * flexibility with arrival and departure times * open all year * a no-smoking house (limited exceptions possible) * a collection of books and maps of the island is available * animals are welcome (please contact us first) * we speak English, French, Dutch and German. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Borghetti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.