We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find out of the blue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porte Mars

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porte Mars to your Saves list
Hotel Porte Mars
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Place de la Republique, 51100 Reims, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great find out of the blue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Travelling back through France from Switzerland, we decided to break our journey in Reims. Turning off the motorway in the pouring rain, we spotted the Hotel Porte Mars. There was a restaurant right across the road so we decided to stop. We haven't stayed in France for many years, having encountered rather rude and unfriendly attitudes previously. Our whole experience of Reims this time blew those old experiences out of the water. The young man at the counter spoke excellent English but was also happy to let us practice our rusty French on him. A double room and a twin room were available at very reasonable rates. The restaurant across the road was closed that day but we were directed to several others in the near vicinity. The hotel is a fairly old building; the rooms were somewhat odd shapes, with a toilet in a small room at one side of the main bedroom and the washbasin and shower at the other side but everything was spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable and the towels were fluffy - what more could we need? It was close to the railway station, tramlines and main road, but two layers of double glazing left the room silent. If staying for more than a night, there was information on what to see and do in Reims, including info about the Champagne House next door. We ate at l'Editio restaurant in town where the friendly concierge said he liked to eat - and thanked him later as we thoroughly enjoyed it - then went to a local brew-pub for some excellent beers, followed by a visit to the Cathedral to see a light show also recommended by the hotel. Breakfast next morning was varied and enjoyable. For an unplanned choice for a one night stop, we could have done a lot worse - I actually doubt we could have done any better.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    95
    28
    6
    8
See reviews for
36
82
11
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Travelling
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I'd emailed early on the morning of my arrival requesting an early check-in. A prompt reply assured me this would be no problem and I was warmly greeted by Alexandra when I showed up.

I'd opted for a deluxe room. For a 3 star hotel, it was good: reasonable size, spotlessly clean with good quality crisp white bed linen and a very French rouge marble fireplace.

The awe-inspiring Porte Mars is opposite the hotel on the way to the centre of town and the cathedral, which is about 10 minutes away and all on the flat.

Similarly, the station's just a few minutes along the street. Opposite it is the Place Drouet d'Erlon, a street of restaurants.

Breakfast was of good quality and, like everything about this hotel, good value for money.

Room Tip: As always, I asked for a quiet room far away from the lifts. Room 35, at the end of the passage on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Here is my opinion of the Hotel Porte Mars in Reims.
The location is only a few blocks from the TVG/SCNF station and the same side of the street, which is very convenient for arrival and departure.
The staff speak English, and are very helpful.
There are also light rail trams across the street from the hotel entrance which will take you to local destinations.
There is a bike rental business, in the ADA office, at the train station; the prices are a bit high but the staff is helpful. Their English is limited so plan to have your phrase book or translation app ready if you aren't conversant in French. The rental for 24 hours (from Noon to Noon) was approximately 20 euros for each bike, plus a 500 euro deposit. They close for lunch at Noon and reopen at 2pm, as everywhere in France, so plan accordingly.
We enjoyed sitting at the hotel bar enjoying Charles Casanove champagne and watching the World Cup matches on the big screen television. The Wi-Fi access was good in the hotel, too.
The Casanove tasting room is next door to the hotel. Mumm and Henriot are just a few blocks away, and the center of Reims is just a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: I'd recommend asking for a room not facing the main street on the next visit. The rooms have air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great place to chill. Champagne house next door, 3 euro tastings. Were able to check in early, the guy on the front desk was helpful and spoke english. Easy walk to town and parking nearby. Didn't eat at hotel, cheap crossaints abound meaning you didn't need to get breakfast there. Highly recommend. Good stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I think we got great value from our overnight at the Hotel Porte Mars. Our room, #35, faced the front, but was quiet, thanks to two double paned windows. We could look out to see the actual Roman Gate, and people moving about late in the day and early on their way to work. The bathroom was spotless, the separate toilet the same, furnishings were quite nice, the bed was comfy, and the ceiling mounted AC system masked the occasional sounds of other guests in the Hotel. Front desk was light on English, but long on enthusiasm; she directed us to a great restaurant a few blocks away, and have us coupons for a discount at the Mumm Caves. We skipped breakfast, which cost extra, and popped down the street for pastries and coffee. Good location or of the city center. And easy access by car, with free parking (overnight until 9 am) on the street just around the corner.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A short walk from the train station and opposite one of the ten 'sights to see in Reims ", the Hotel Porte de Mars is ideally placed for a Eurostar weekend in Reims. The staff are friendly, helpful and speak English. The rooms are small but clean and well organised. Breakfast is excellent. Highly recommended for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The location is terrific. If you drive you are right on the main street when you come in from the autoroute. And the public parking is in the street right next door. Also, the hotel too offers their garage for medium and small cars at an extra charge of course.
If you train it, the station couldn't be closer. Our room (#31) had a view of the cathedral though temporary slightly eclipsed by the huge white circus canopy. Porte de Mars are just across the road.
The hotel itself is small, could do with some renovating and modernisation. Tiny lift and some pink plastic(ky) chairs which didn't please me much. Bathrooms are tiny though very well equipped with even a sewing kit and shoe sponge (that rather impressed me!). Caution: if booking triple, I would suggest to not go by their recommendations. We travelled with our daughter and they put in an extra bed which finally resulted in only one of us being able to exhale at one time. And of course with the extra bed, and furniture rearrangements, there was not a lamp which we could plug in as all plug points were hidden behind the beds.
Staff is excellent. Email response and welcome is charming and extremely helpful.
The room and corridors could be cleaner. We had some wax like beads strewn over one side of the floor and the carpeting looks a little mouldy (but far from intolerable).

Room Tip: Road facing rooms have a view of the cathedral but not exceptional as it is quite some distance. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porte Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porte Mars

Address: 2 Place de la Republique, 51100 Reims, France
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Reims
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Reims
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porte Mars 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is ideally located.A five minute walk from the station, access to motorways, the central square and commercial.A quarter of an hour of the Cathedral,Ten minutes from the Congress,The Hotel Porte Mars offers 24 rooms, fully renovated and perfect tranquility.Each room offers all the comfort you need for your living room (WC, Bathroom, Minibar, WiFi access, Canal +, Telephone and Hair Dryer). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Porte Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porte Mars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.