We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day well spent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Vigne du Roy Champagne Day Tours

La Vigne du Roy Champagne Day Tours
Reims, France
0033631865923
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Tours & Activities in Reims
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: La Vigne du Roy Champagne Tours. We are a family run business based in the heart of Champagne, with five years of experience specialising in private tours of the Champagne region. We offer Half Day or Full Day Tours providing you with the opportunity to go on a journey of discovery and to experience Champagne and the passion of its producers in a relaxed and friendly environment with experienced guides.Our tours we present the entire process of creating the magic that is Champagne and the culture, legends and traditions behind it, with our primary focus on high quality small Champagne Houses, that are often inaccessible, but make exceptional Champagne. Here we provide tours of the wineries and tastings at each to compare the different styles of Champagnes that are created by these passionate, knowledgable and artistic producers.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful day well spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I managed to arrange a one day tour with Christopher. He fetched us at 9:30 from our hotel and proceeded to take us on a magical journey through the beautiful villages and vineyards surrounding Epernay and Reims. His knowledge of local history especially the wars, and the production of champagne, was excellent, interesting but not in your face. He also took us to two absolutely brilliant local champagne producers in beautiful locations where we enjoyed visits to caves, tasted the champagne itself and met the producers (by luck).
This tour is completely different to the commercial (and must do) tour of Moët & Chandon. We really enjoyed ourselves, felt we had got a broader idea of this beautiful area and how it works whilst tasting some really good boutique champagnes at the same time. We also asked him to let us see the Cathedral in Reims which should not be missed. Tip: ask questions - he has the knowledge but won't try and show how much he knows. Great experience and recommended to those who don't have a long stay planned in the region.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    7
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hugely enjoyable and informative tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a half day tour with Ekaterina in the beginning of July. FANTASTIC! It was very easy to book. We exchanged several emails. She was prompt and very helpful. She picked us from our hotel on time and drove us through the Champagne countryside between Reims and Epernay. We walked in the vineyards and stopped at several viewpoints with unique panoramic views over the Marne Valley. We would never find them without her. We visited a little pretty village Hautvillers where Dom Pérignon is buried and visited the authentic family-size Champagne producer Nicholas Maillart where we had a tour of his winery, cellars and tasted the different styles of Champagnes. Delightful and Delicious!

We usually don’t like organised touristy excursions and prefer to explore sights on our own but this tour was different. It felt more like a friend was sharing with us her knowledge, passion and love for the region. Ekaterina is a lovely, intelligent, easy-going young woman with great sense of humour who provided us with a lot of information on all aspects of Champagne making, traditions, culture and history of the region. We learnt a lot and laughed a lot. We didn't have to drive and navigate. Totally worth it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great trip! Thanks Christopher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We, 4 girls from Norway, booked a special 5 day tour which included transportation, lunches, dinners and various champagne tastings. Our host, Chris was friendly as well as very knowledgeable.
The tour was thoughtfully put together and explained the whole process. The tastings were an education and a delight. We sampled champagnes from large and small houses.
Thanks Chris for these wonderful days - great service and you picked some great producers to visit and we had the most wonderful food experiences.
Overall, this was an experience that we will all remember for life.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A taylor-made day in Reims”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

On your experience with La Vigne, you will learn not only about the wines of Champagne and their production, but will gain an understanding of the region's history and how it fits into the bigger picture of French culture and winemaking. Most visits were with smaller producers, allowing us to gain an first-hand appreciation for the art of champagne production on a more personal level than you will get at some of the larger houses. Every detail is taken care of from transport, to food, and tastings. A perfect day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a wonderful day visiting the Champagne region. Ekaterina could not have been more delightful and knowledgeable!

We started off the tour walking around a vineyard and learned about the different varietals of grapes. We visited the church where Dom Perignon was buried and then went and experienced 2 champagne tastings. Had an amazing lunch at Le Grand Cerf, which Ekaterina made all the more special by telling the chef that we were celebrating our anniversary.

We visited the cathedral at Reims and then had another fantastic tasting at Nicholas Maillart where we were fortunate to meet the owner. The trip could not have been more wonderful! Would do it again!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vigne du Roy Champagne Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to La Vigne du Roy Champagne Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vigne du Roy Champagne Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.