We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit with Rachel guarantees a lovely day learning about Champagne!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raw France Champagne Visits

Raw France Champagne Visits
26 Place D 'erlon, 51100 Reims, France (Formerly RAW France Champagne & Wine Tours)
+33 6 72 81 68 24
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Tours & Activities in Reims
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We provide an authentic experience visiting our small family champagne house and vineyards. We want to teach you about champagne whilst letting you discovery the wonderful Wafflart-Briet champagne. We carry out half day tours to our small champagne house in a tiny village not far from Reims. All of our tours are private and so you are able to ask as many questions as you want!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A visit with Rachel guarantees a lovely day learning about Champagne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband, granddaughter (12) and I did the extra special tour with Rachel at RAW champagne - it was such a special day. Although it was chilly, we really enjoyed our day. All of the reviews are very accurate and correct. You will not go wrong with this one. A very intimate, engaging, fun and relaxed day that we would recommend to anyone! Lunch was wonderful - especially those marvelous escargots! What a fantastic match - garlic, butter, snails and champagne!!! We even got to meet Thierry when he came in for lunch after tying the vines all morning. Thank you Rachel for a wonderful memory and we will toast you when we open our WB!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Altamonte Springs, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Book this tour! Rachel is terrific!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

There's a reason so many reviewers give Rachel 5 stars - her tour is worth it! Rachel is a knowledgeable hostess and the WB champagne delicious. Her tour of the champagne house and method was much more in depth and interesting than I anticipated - we learned so much and had a lot of fun. I booked the Extra Special package (lunch was delicious) and during the planning process, she helped me with the train schedule(s). Rachel made sure we reached Epernay on time (toured Moet) and she allowed us to stray from our original itinerary by driving us back to Reims to tour the cathedral. I highly recommend visiting this family champagne house to experience the details of the champagne process!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a wonderful time out with Rachel! We didn't know anything about champagne when the day started, but throughout the day we learned a ton about champagne, the production process, the history of the region, and the delicious drink itself. We'll be back to Wafflart-Briet, and we'll definitely be referring friends and family!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful day thanks to Rachel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We did a tour with Rachel in March and she was wonderful. She picked us up at the train station, took us around Sacy, the town where her boyfriend's champagne house is located. The town is so quaint and charming! We went to WB and she taught us about the whole champagne making process. We saw the vines, the warehouse, the labeling room and the cellar. Her in laws were there and so nice and welcoming...trying their best at speaking to us in English. We got to taste two different WB champagnes which were both delicious (one was our favorite after visiting WB, Moët, and Mercier). When i say taste i mean have as much as we wanted!! Lunch was a plate of cheeses, meats, breads, and mini quiches...and more champagne. Perfect!

After spending the morning with Rachel in Sacy, she took us to Epernay to visit two champagne houses. We took a walk down the main avenue to view all of the beautiful champagne houses then we started with our tour at Moet where Rachel had made us a 2pm reservation. We chose Moët chandon and Mercier but she would have arranged for any of our choosing. Moët was impressive! It is very clear that they are the wealthiest and largest house of the region. We read reviews about how the tour was not the greatest, but we loved it. There were about 15 people in our group and our guide was a really sweet well spoken woman. She answered any questions we had as we visited the caves. We learned again about the champagne process, which was fine...helped me to engrain it into my head. We choose the middle tasting which included two glasses of Moët. The imperial brut and imperial rose. Both were soooo good. Rachel was waiting for us outside when we were ready to go to the next house. She drove us up the street to Mercier which doesn't take reservations. The tour runs every 15 minutes. There were only 4 of us on this tour. It was a modern house...not very impressive in architecture or anything. We learned later that it is owned by Moët. I might have chosen a different house had I known that. The reviews for Mercier on trip advisor were good, but we just thought it was so-so. You take and elevator with silly things to see through the window as you descend. then a very short video that was useless... The tram through the caves felt like a Disney ride with an audio tour you held to your ear. Then we tasted two champagnes again...the brut and rose. Not the greatest but good enough. The employees seemed bored and not overly friendly.

The last part of our day was a drive into Reims where we said goodbye to Rachel and walked around the town until it was time to catch our train. We visited the cathedral (beautiful!) and had a quick bite to eat at a cafe. The day really was perfect. I highly recommend raw France to anyone wanting to see Reims/Epernay and a small family run champagne house.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must if you're visiting Reims”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked in advance with Rachel to spend our first full morning of our honeymoon learning about Champagne. We were very excited and had been looking forward to our introduction to the champagne method and were not disappointed.

We were warmly greeted by Rachel when she came to pick us up from our hotel, we were then taken to the beautiful village of Sacy; population 365, one of 320 villages around Reims producing the grapes for Champagne. We had fresh croissants and a few glasses of champagne once we arrived at the Champagne house, Wafflart-Briet.

It had been snowing when we arrived in Reims the day before and the hills around the village were still covered with snow, Rachel took us up into the vines to show us some of the "parcels" owned by Wafflart-Briet and explained some of the work that goes into cultivating the vines. We were taught about the cooperative way in which villages press and distribute their grapes/champagne and the processes that take it through the double fermantation that create the wonderful bubbly champagne.

After tours of the cellars and very informative talks by Rachel it was back to the serious business of lunch including snails (wonderful), a selection of cold meats, cheeses and pate en croute - all fantastically prepared by Rachel and Florence.

Rachel is friendly and ready to answer any questions we had for her, she's clearly passionate about the subject and the champagne house that she's affiliated with through her boyfriend.

We loved that we got to meet Thierry and Florence, and that as Rachel doesn't do groups the whole day felt so personal and was lovely to have as a comparison when we visited the Ruinart Champagne house a couple of days later (as part of a group).

I've already recommended to my family that they all visit in the future. My only regret is that we'd travelled by Eurostar and didn't have room to stock up on the fantastic Wafflart-Briet champagne we won't be able to buy at home.

As dog lovers we also had the bonus of meeting Lally (puppy Sharpei) and Rocko (14 year old golden retriever).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raw France Champagne Visits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raw France Champagne Visits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.